Garden Journal Newsletter 2nd April 2024

in HiveGarden28 days ago

I'm coming to the conclusion I should probably just ask @riverflows to change the title of this newsletter to Random Newsletter. Once again, it's been more than two weeks. The change of seasons always seems to bring sickness and many of the homes I'm visiting are experiencing that, leaving me a bit run down myself. With the start of April, a dear friend is also on my mind as the 4th marks the first anniversary of her husband's untimely death. Yet it stands out to me how much tending to a garden is therapy for many people during tough times in life.

received_1476899979461287.webp



And the post that made me think of gardening with its connection to therapy was @kerrislravenhill's as she returns to her garden while on medical leave. I can only concur how much gardening helps when it comes to depression. There is certainly something about connecting with the natural world directly that somehow puts things in a different light.
image.png



Talking of putting things in a different light, I was reminded by @riverflows of the contrasts between the different climates across the world. If you're someone who grows food in order to be prepared for harder times you may also be aware of the importance of knowing what foods and medicines can be found in the wild where you live. Of course the climate will also dictate how abundant food is in the wild as well as how long your garden growing period will be.
image.png



An author I enjoy whose garden is something of a blend between gardening and natural wilds is @calendulacraft. In her most recent update we get to see the beauty of the flowers and butterflies as she harvests a basketful of herbs.
image.png



Once again I had a tough time choosing the final post to highlight from what we have on offer this week on Hive. I was pulled between daisies, daffodils and this lovely eye candy from @mojiko-blog as we are updated on what has been blooming and fruiting this March in their garden.
image.png

Beneficiaries go to @mojiko-blog and @calendulacraft

HG SMALL.png

GARDENFOOTER.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Join The Hive Garden Community!

Sort:  

The gardening changed me completely, I had a few plants that did not require great care and often my mother did it for me, but when she died (a year and two months ago), I could not and can not turn a blind eye to something she loved so much so I decided to take care of her plants, some noticed her absence and died, those that have remained remind me of her and getting into gardening and planting my own, It is so beautiful to see how the plants we sow are growing or to learn from the mistakes made with some of them. Dedicating myself to gardening for me has also been a therapy and to remember my mother every time I do it, that's why I fully identify with your lines.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

 27 days ago  

That's a beautiful way to stay connected to your mother. I'm glad you have that. ❤️

Through the happy and tough times of life, gardening has been a pleasure to everyone who loves it. As for me, living in a subdivision never limited me to having a mini garden at home where I could harvest whenever there are fruits to reap. Congrats to everyone featured here. Well- deserved!

 21 days ago  

I love how gardeners will always find a way to be growing something, no matter what their situation.

Hi @minismallholding,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Oh dear, yes. And tough times there are. Garden helps a lot, and writing. That's probably why gardens are such a thriving topic. They give life at last. Greetings!

!invest_vote

 27 days ago  

That's a good point, they give life in multiple ways thinking about it like that.

 28 days ago  

A beautiful collection and a thoughtful musing as ever. Do feel free to call it what you like!

The very first time I saw this system of nursery, I was very surprised, and this happens to be the second time I will be seeing it. Definitely, this is very convenient to use compared to the old process. I love the plant you planted; although I haven't taken it before, I see people taking it. Nice process.

Beautiful gardens as usual but I’m surprised by the first one
That’s my first time seeing that system of planting

@anli denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@anli thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Congratulations @minismallholding! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 62000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 63000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Hello! I am writing to you to obtain the Hive Garden badge.

 11 hours ago (edited) 

Hi, yes I saw Riverflow's message. Unfortunately I don't currently have the keys for the badge account. You may have to wait until she returns home.

I have added you as a member in the community in the meantime