Garden Journal Weekly, 1st December 2021.

in HiveGarden2 years ago

It's been a busy couple of weeks and I haven't gotten on Hive as much as I'd liked, so it's been great to stroll through the #homesteading tag and see so many eye catching posts. I barely knew where to start!

I think first I'd like to highlight @traisto, so I don't forget to check back on her. Do have a read through her intro. While the account is new, it seems she's been among us via @fotostef for longer than we realised and I do indeed recognise some of that weaving from one of his posts. I'm looking forward to catching more from both of them.

image.png

This week there were two posts to remind us that off grid life and self sustainability are not straight forward paths. @queenmountain learnt the hard way not to jump into buying an off grid property too quickly. There are lots of things we might never have considered, but should, and lots of things that take time to become apparent. Then @buckaroobaby tells us of their none stop rollercoaster ride of survival which started with the move to a homestead.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHA5rytVJCMzbXLtywhnNiVuoxRJL1gV6Hcujg3taLGCLKMoHWHF6cvUnN9BJeQNyiPRb2DBwNDchyy3Fk3MKmhc429CFWVVYhWGaCingyUR54ayz3FC.jpeg

I can recommend taking a little tour through the prose and views in @crosheille's garden as winter sets in and her thoughts turn to preparing for next season incorporating what was learnt from the season just gone.

Hydroponics and aquaponics is something I'd love to get into at some point, so I admire and am grateful to @isdarmady for sharing some of his expertise with us. This week he showed us how he uses rock wool for cuttings and seeds in the hydroponics.

NTy4GV6ooFRmaCXZ8UYgPhoud1kjiNX8QokLEZtbBKLuLWQ9yt7K3o4KaZBTGcnmXzb2rvmMySEfYzDL6pDJF1wA6A62cZGvQj8SggcBG4aSPszZJ4pfYQQ3G8RdhRAnZx1RhJQyoAaaoQVbLrXcHZ6VPCwz5PYM8o9NTW5C.jpeg

There has been such a wealth of posts from all our lovely gardeners that I haven't even had chance to get through all the tags. However I'll finish up here with a quick mention of @ligayagardener's tip on making a calcium supplement from eggshells for your plants. I've always used eggshells in the garden and compost, but never knew about using it as a faster acting supplement.

All featured accounts will be 5% beneficiaries of this post.

HG SMALL.png

GARDENFOOTER.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Join The Hive Garden Community!

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the mention! ☺️

 2 years ago  

I couldn't not mention it. A thoroughly enjoyable read. 😊

Thanks for posting this- I've just joined Hive and look forward to digging into some of the articles here. I live on a small 'farm' in South Africa and grow my own vegetables and fruit as well as design and implement food gardens, indigenous gardens and natural pools so hope to share some content if I get time too. Looking forward to just reading for now though! :)

Hey, your resource credits were running low so I sent you a little Hive Power delegation so you can post and comment more times per day! :)

Thanks so much! Much appreciated!

Thank you for the mention. I am really enjoying being back on HIVE, so much engagement and community here. Wow, what an upgrade from the old steemit days. Following you now!

 2 years ago  

It's good to see you back. I recall catching some of your podcasts before, although reading is still more my go-to than videos or podcasts.

The communities are certainly coming together well. I'm glad you're seeing the difference.

 2 years ago  

This is such a beautiful presentation, very kind of you! Thank you so much, I deeply appreciate it!

 2 years ago  

You're welcome and thank you for saying so. I hope to catch you around here.

Took me a while to get to this one! Some great posts - I love the garden community on HIVE. Definitely looking forward to more of @traisto's too and oh dear, must go read @crosheille 's as well which i have also missed XX

 2 years ago  

I'm not surprised it took you a while, considering everything you have on, @riverflows!

Thank you for the mention! A couple new homesteading faces to me - how exciting

 2 years ago  

It was a great read and well worth mentioning. I loved the photo too. 😊

Really, really nice compilation @minismallholding - well done. I'm inspired to repot at least one plant this weekend and think about a garden related Hive post. 🌱

 2 years ago  

I may have inspired myself a little. I got sore transplanting done this week. 😆

Looking forward to reading about what you're up to in the new place, plant wise.

I will definitely check out some of the posts and authors you mentioned.
This stuff is right up my alley.

Enjoy the day/evening/night? 😁

 2 years ago  

This stuff is right up my alley.

I suspected it might be. 😉

It will be goodnight for me, so thank you for a smile before I go to sleep. 😁

 2 years ago  

Hydroponics and aquaponics is something I'd love to get into at some point

Sane here, I'd love to get into it as soon as possible (which makes me excited).

 2 years ago  

I hope you'll document it here if you do. 😊

 2 years ago  

I will surely document it here when I start.

I want this fresh food 👌☺☺☺ cool post.

Aww I love your garden ❤️ looking lovely👌🔥🔥🔥
Cheers growmie


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @minismallholding! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 11500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 12000 replies.
You received more than 11000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 12000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List