Sort:  
 2 years ago  

@minismallholding that sounds like you need macro nutrients... a good dose of the red powerfeed fertilizer (the one for fruit) or something like that would be a good start... Chili plants are very "needy" of good food to produce lots of fruit. :-)

 2 years ago  

What, spend money!? 😨

Looks like compost and manure are the recommended free to come by stuff. I'll give them a go first and add some epsom salts. 😉

 2 years ago  

lol... yes these will work too... just perhaps not as fast :-) :-) I would add worm tea as well if you have a worm farm...

 2 years ago (edited) 

I don't have a worm farm, but sometimes I can pick worm tea up from others. I'll grab some next time I get the chance. I'm hoping if I soak the manure and compost for a bit and water with it too, it will take the nutrients down a bit quicker. 🤞

 2 years ago  

that sounds great.... poop is a great garden friend... unhappily my folks left the country this year and i am now down a few horses to steal their poop... lol... I might have to phone a friend for some... lol... that will be fun... Hey Kate... you have horses... can i come and shovel poop??? lol

mix the poop with some soil or something so it won;t burn them... :-) (To be fair not sure that it would or wouldn't but just be careful :-) )

do show us how you go. I'm doing a video of my place today as we are mid QLD torrential rain... lol no gardening for me

 2 years ago  

We're close to some suburban/country properties and I used to collect horse poo from some who advertised it on Gumtree. There are others that come up occasionally as well, but I think it started traking off, because the adverts came down before we could get to them. I'll have to keep an eye out again. We got some sheep poo one time from a guy we gave eggs to who has family up north. That was amazing stuff! I've never had such good broccoli! They were all well matured too, so low risk of burn.

Currently I'm limited to chicken and rabbit poos. Rabbit is good, because no need to mature. Chicken I let dry first, then either soak in water to dilute and water with it or, like you say, mix it with soil before planting.