You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HiveGarden Update 9/9/2022; with lots of rain!

in HiveGarden2 years ago

I suspect snails. They love cabbage family and are doing their work at night: go out with a flashlight when it's completely dark to catch them at it

Sort:  

It's in my backyard, so when I go out at night with a flashlight I think my neighbours will call the cops 😂
But it could be snails. Although I would suspect to see slime in the leafs as well.
I have considered placing a security cam, but I don't think the snails will trigger the motion detection.

I read somewhere that broken egg shells around your plants is a good protection against snails. Maybe I'll try that.

 2 years ago  

Sometimes they eat from underneath. I've even seen slime trails on my cacti, so I'm not convinced by eggshells. The only way I get rid of them is via active hunting at night and in winter, looking for spots where they hibernate. Centipedes and other predators are also good to have in the garden.