HiveGarden Update 9/9/2022; with lots of rain!

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

In my last Hivegarden update I showed you that I had created a spot in our backyard where we could plant some vegetables.
With 1.50 by 3.50 it isn't that large, but it's nice for a start. As you can see it also doesn't get sun all day as well. I did trim some of the trees after taking this photo.
But we'll see how it will work out.

image.png

Then I planted the broccoli that I still kept in a bin in the soil and the lettuce as well and gave them some water.

image.png

Two weeks ago we went to a a special fruit tree nursery because we were looking for some more fruits to accompany our plum tree and raspberry bush.
We found a nice Espalier apple tree from the apple brand Topaz. We also wanted another one; an Elstar because they seem to pollinate well together. They do produce apples by self pollination, but when these two 'brands' are close to each other they should give more apples.
But the Elstar wasn't ready to be dug out, so we have to wait until October/November for that one.

During our visit we spotted this lovely almond tree. I really love almonds and the tree also has lovely blossom. So we couldn't resist to take that one with us as well. We planted that one on the edge of our kitchen garden.

image.png

After a few weeks the broccoli has been growing quite well. It has been raining a lot, so that might have helped a bit. It still doesn't look like broccoli, but I guess we'll see that soon.
I did spot little holes in some of the leaves. I don't know if that is normal or what has caused that. Maybe one of the experts in this community can tell me?
It would be very useful if garden-noobs like me could ask the pro's some questions every now and then. Isn't there a Discord channel for this community or something?
If there is, please tell me!

image.png

I almost forgot; we also bought a blueberry bush because my wife likes them so much. We had one before, but it never gave us any blueberries. When we talked to the lady at the tree nursery she told us these bushes need acidic soil. So we bought a bag of that as well. Let's see if this one will give us blueberries next year. I've measured it so I can track it's progress 😂

image.png

And finally; last time I showed you our raspberry bush had taken quite a beating caused by the warm and dry weather when we were on holiday. Last week it has been raining quite a lot and guess what I spotted.... a tiny little raspberry plant 😃

image.png

I hope you enjoyed my little garden update.


image.png


FriendlyMoose

Photographing is my passion. Although I like photography in general, nature photography is one of my favourite subjects. I often go out with my camera for a hike to capture the beauty of nature.
I'm sharing my photos on Hive, Noise.Cash & APPICS.
I would love to read what you think of my photos in the comments.

Discord: friendlymoose#5717


Do you like photography?

Every week I create a post with an overview of all the #photocontests on Hive.
I also host my own #POBPhotocontest
Click the hashtags to check it out!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 122 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 122 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10


Hey @friendlymoose, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

Always nice to create a garden with fruits and veggies. Good luck @friendlymoose 🤞🏻😎
Looks like the leaves were eaten by caterpillars. But can’t tell for sure. Keep an eye on it. Have a look at all the leaves. Maybe you see what caused it.

Thanks!
I haven't seen any caterpillars. And I would expect caterpillars to start on the edges on the leafs.
But I'll keep an eye on them.

You are welcome, not always…
Good to keep an eye on it.
Enjoy your evening 👋🏻😊

Looks like a lovely well kept garden you have there - nice one !
!LUV

Thanks!

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @friendlymoose, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.

now it is waiting till the fruits arrive and if you can eat them before the birds do :)

Haha. I think I will buy some nets in spring to protect theme.

The plants looks healthy. You did a great job.

Your mini garden looks great! I had no idea there were self-pollinating fruit trees! I though that was reserved for tomatoes and peppers. I was also glad to see you had a blueberry. I have one myself which started flowering during winter in SA. Hope yours does as well as what mine did!

Thanks!
I didn't know about the self pollination myself as well. I found out while researching what we wanted to buy.

I'd love a dwarf variety of some kind of fruit in my container garden. However, people look at me as if I've mad when I ask about them.

Everyone has his own hobbies. I also think it's fun to grow your own food.

You seem to have quite the variety going! I look forward to seeing how it all grows! I'm also a garden noob, but if I had to guess, I would say something munched on those leaves.

Yeah, I will try different stuff. Just bought some more seeds. I will show it in the next update 😄

 2 years ago  

I suspect snails. They love cabbage family and are doing their work at night: go out with a flashlight when it's completely dark to catch them at it

It's in my backyard, so when I go out at night with a flashlight I think my neighbours will call the cops 😂
But it could be snails. Although I would suspect to see slime in the leafs as well.
I have considered placing a security cam, but I don't think the snails will trigger the motion detection.

I read somewhere that broken egg shells around your plants is a good protection against snails. Maybe I'll try that.

 2 years ago  

Sometimes they eat from underneath. I've even seen slime trails on my cacti, so I'm not convinced by eggshells. The only way I get rid of them is via active hunting at night and in winter, looking for spots where they hibernate. Centipedes and other predators are also good to have in the garden.

Your Almond tree looks amazing, I would love to have a nut tree, I'm a bit of a macadamia fan myself, but almonds are so versatile.

Your brocolli just looks like baby brocolli but something is definitely munching those leaves. Snails or caterpillars maybe? I'm no garden expert though so don't take my word for it.

You baby raspberry is super cute, I think it's lovely when plants can self propagate like that. Best of luck with your garden bed.

We liked the almond right away. I wonder how it looks when it's in bloom. And who knows it will give us some nuts next year.

It's regular broccoli, but just recently planted. I've surrounded it with eggshells and residue of grinded coffee now. Let's hope that will help.

The raspberry propogates itself so easy. Every year new sprouts popup. Many relatives have their own raspberry bush from a seedling we donated.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @friendlymoose, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I must admit I've never seen an Almond tree in flower before but I would think they have pretty little flowers.

The eggshells will definitely help if it was snails that got your brocolli.

I haven't eaten raspberries for a while, but maybe I need to find a potted berry plant, I know you can grow blueberries in a pot, not sure about raspberries though. Enjoy yours, I am sure that you will get a really nice harvest from them.