You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Share Your Seasonal Photo and Win Hive

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Well I may have missed doing a full garden journal post this month, but I can find time for a comment! It was a toss-up between these and the pears, but my gorgeous gourds had to take top honors as autumn is in the air. At least briefly in the mornings this week before the temps soar back high in the afternoons, haha. The Seminole Pumpkins were the real winners this season. I still have two more growing on the vine, and the largest in this photo topped out at 8lbs! Though I'm partial to my one little green Jarrahdale baby and the single Candy Roaster. It's about time to start cooking some of them, but they look so pretty on my table it's hard to hack into them! The last month has been so busy I have once again failed to plant much for this season, but at least I won't need to buy squash from the farmers market for a very long time!

IMG_20220915_102506216.jpg

Sort:  

That is a gorgeous selection of fallness! I especially love the Jarrahdale! Okay, I love them all! Are you going to be posting all those glorious dishes you make, I hope? lol! Thanks for sharing the garden awesomeness!

I might be biased, but the Jarrahdale is a perfect little pumpkin, haha. Though I'm sure they will all be delicious. it's been so long since I've posted any recipes, so hopefully I can find the time to share some of my fall dishes this season!

Oh I so hope you do! I love recipes, especially fall recipes utilizing produce that we've all grown😊

 2 years ago  

Yay for pumpkins! @stephen-patrick The Squash Queen might give you a run for your money!!

And curly ones this year?

I have some butternut squash which are kinda curvy but nothing like the pretty green one 😍 (thats @steven-patrick to you @riverflows 😉 I think my mom thought it would be easier to spell lol)

It's nice to know we can always grow squash, even when all else fails. ;)

Though the Rampicantes did not do as well on the ground this year as they did trellised last year. I had one plant but the squash kept rotting in the grass before it matured enough to pick. Lesson learned--it may not get as curly when hanging, but they seem to grow better that way in our hot and humid climate!

Spoke too soon...found this beast lurking in the weeds. 😂

IMG_20220917_121054209_2.jpg

That looks like a halo. 😃

Mmmmmmmmmmk - natural perfection! Butternut squash envy!

The freezer is definitely going to get packed with puree this season! Always a favorite around here. :)

Sounds delicious! I'll do that too!

 2 years ago  

Lovely pumpkins - you are readu for all that autumn has to offer.

I am definitely ready for this season! Thank you!