Share Your Seasonal Photo and Win Hive

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Welcome to the bi weekly comment challenge for the Hive Garden community. The idea is to get to know each other, engage with each other's comments and generally be part of an awesome garden community!!

Adobe_Express_20220912_1816350_1.png

For most of us, unless you are leaving on the equator, the seasons are changing - autumn is harvest time and oranges and yellows, but in the south it's blossoms and daffodils.

This week's comment challenge is to share your favourite garden photo this week with a minimum of 50 words explaining what you like about it. It could be a small leaf, a larger vista, a harvest moment - whatever says SEASON CHANGE to you.

The winning comment will win 5 Hive this week. I'm both marking essays online for a standardized assessment task state wide and heading off on holidays but I'll try my best to join in! I truly love our community and think we do Hive proud.

Please come back and engage with others if you are early in getting your comment in. Have fun and happy gardening!

@plantstoplanks @sofs-su @nikv @owasco @buckaroobaby @farm-mom @thebigsweed @polesinns @andrastia @holisticmom @queenoftheworld @porters @amygoodrich @fanyokami @phoenixwren @anafae @tanjakolader @yolithy24 @andrastia @minismallholding @goldenoakfarm @nateonsteemit @sanjeevm @kennyroy @simplymike @dodovietnam @babeltrips @trangbaby @kaelci @shanibeer @proto26 @ifarmgirl @foxfireorchards @artemislives @edprivat @meesterboom @momogrow @attn @luckylaica @blingit @traisto @skylinebuds @fotostef @tydynrain @hindavi @vibeof100monkeys @samstonehill @anttn @friendlymoose

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


Sort:  
Loading...

Something different here. We are in South Africa and it is now the start of the Spring season here.
In fact I did a full post about the "Seasonal Change" earlier today before I saw this challenge.
I love the awakening of the land when spring arrives accompanied by the choruses of birdsong. The grape vineyards will now start to grow and from a distance it will look like a green carpet in nature.

Should you be interested, here is the link to my seasonal change post.
https://peakd.com/hive-106316/@papilloncharity/the-early-colors-of-spring

 2 years ago  

Oh my gosh, that's an incredible photo - what would I give for a backdrop like that in my garden!

Thank you and yes, it makes it a pleasure to get up in the mornings. To listen to the birdsong thanking the Creator for the new day and to breathe the fresh mountain air.

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

Nothing better than mountain air.
Blessings

Thank you and totally agreed Lady Joan.

Blessings and !LUV

Love the mountains. I bet they are beautiful in all seasons 🙂

Oh yes, you know what you are talking about as it is lovely to watch the mountains changing in character to blend with every season. Simmering heat waves in the blaze of the hot African summer sun and icy tentacles in winter.

!BEER


Hey @steven-patrick, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 2 years ago  

What an amazing view, SA is such a beautiful country.
I checked out your post, nice work my friend, hope this finds you well and settled in your new home.
Blessings to you and yours.

Blessings to you Lady Robin and I thank you for always supporting us.
SA is indeed beautiful and yes, we are slowly settling in. In the unpacking stage I found some things that I thought were lost !LOLZ

!LUV to you and the big guy!

If you lose a date because of bad breath
It wasn’t mint to be.

Credit: reddit
@farm-mom, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(4/8)

Beautiful vineyard and oh my, what a scenery!

Thank you and it is very easy on the eye and on the mind.

!PIZZA

Wow, that's stunning, how lucky are you to awake to this each day xxxx

Thank you and we are indeed blessed with the abundant nature around here!

!BEER

I echo everyone else, absolutely stunning scenery! Happy almost spring to you!

Thank you kindly and we are indeed blessed with the lovely big garden all around here 😊

!PIZZA

This could be used as a movie scene.

Thank you for the compliment !LOL

What do you call it when a chickpea kills someone?
Hummus-cide

Credit: reddit
@fruityfruitz, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity

@cryptoshots.nft 🔫 3D Shooter LIVE on Hive. Play and earn DOOM!!
(1/8)

😃You’re welcome.
!LOLZ

 2 years ago  

A very beautiful landscape nice photo.😊

Thank you and yes, we are blessed with the views here.

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

that is a stunner!!!! i would love love love to have land so beautiful like that. But we are getting on with what we have available. So beautiful. Have followed you incase i see other such delights in my feed.

sarah

Thank you and I like your spirit about getting on with what you have, as it is always a winning mindset.
Glad that you liked the post and I will try not to disappoint you with my future offerings.

Have some !PIZZA

 2 years ago  

Yep.... you can wish and be uphappy, or you can get on with the abundance we have and take an opportunity at a later time to fix it if you can.

We eat food from the garden every day. You have yourself a fantastic day!

Exactly right and we prefer to do the latter.

Lucky you as we have moved into a much smaller house with only a tiny garden. That's why I try to get out in the open countryside whenever I can.
Hopefully we will find the ideal home one of these days. Preferably on a farm with mountain views.

Hope that your week is also going well.

!LUV

That's such a eye-candy view

"Eye-candy" I have not seen this description for a long time and it is so fitting to describe the view.

Thank you and glad that you feasted your eyes on the beauty ❤️

Have some !PIZZA

In my country there are only two seasons, we are currently in winter, my garden is kept watered all the time, it is a blessing for my plants that are filled with joy and it is as if they were looking at the sky and thanking God for this great blessing.

IMG_20220907_163512_713.jpg

 2 years ago  

Only two seasons? Wow, where are you from, I am from the USA and in the northeast, we have 4 seasons, each with its own character.
Nice picture.

Greetings @madredegranja, a pleasure, I am from the center of Venezuela, Maracay Aragua state. Horita we are in full winter, suddenly the sun comes out and hides and it rains, but it rains with sun, who understands nature, but when summer enters the heat is horrible.

 2 years ago  

Oh, the rain is so precious! We never have enough, though there's been floods in the north. Three years of El Nina is amazing for the plants though...

In my country there are only 2 seasons, winter and summer, both have their advantages and disadvantages, but I prefer winter or rainy, I love it, it relaxes me especially the sound of water. And of course it saves me from having to water the plants, but a lot of grass comes out, you have to clean the garden hahahaha, nothing in life is complete. Thank you for your comment it was a pleasure. Regards

 2 years ago  

Nice photos and beautiful trees. Itis nice when you get showers from above to beautify your garden.

Wait?!!! Holidays??! I only know this NOW? Here I'm "vacationing" all over the place because most people think that a holiday only happens for a country's remember-something-day. YAY for Aussies who actually speak English. Of course the fact that we haven't had a holiday (OR vacation) for years is beside the point....now onto my photo comment. Hopefully you can have a holiday over it 😎

The chilly Spring mist lifts as the radiant suns beams into the waking world. Gone are the winter blues. Gone is the black frost that wrecks havoc in the garden and among lambing mothers. Gone are frosty mornings fumbling around in the dark for warm slippers and coffee mugs; long before the sun begins to stir. Like a heavenly conductor the first kiss of sunlight causes a ripple across the countryside. A twitter here. A bleat there. A branch creaks. And then the orchestra swells. Birdsong greets the waking dawn. Frolicking lambs fill the horizon. The sweet fragrance of opening blossoms permeates the air. It is a wonderful way to wake up. Only a slight chill. Not the frost of winter. Not the merciless heat of winter. Ah. Spring. New life. Hope. Joy. A spring in the step as you more eagerly anticipate the day's summer preparations. And nestled in the flowering fruit trees birds that are busy with their own preening and preparing to raise this season's young. First fruits. The promise of new life and overcoming. What joy and hope greets the dawn!

IMG_2635 (1).JPG

 2 years ago  

Oh, that photo - birds and blossoms! I am right there with you. The birds are going crazy right now! this is soooo poetic - clearly spring is tugging at your heart!

My favourite is the crapapple blossom - it's a spectacularly vivid pink!

image.png

I just harvested 7 lbs of crabapples. You can use them in baking much like apples. Who knew 🤷‍♂️ Anyway it was the only fruit tree I have that is producing. The rest are too young.

 2 years ago  

Oh yes and you can make membrillo from them too... Or wine. With enough sugar one can do anything with them. I planted it as it reminded us of England.

Wine?! Well, yes, as you say with sugar. Anything. So what does a crabapple taste like? The flowers are stunning! But I've never tasted the fruit

 2 years ago  

Very tart! Lip puckeringly so. But very high in pectin. Like an apple that hasn't learnt to be polite.

Lovely capture. 😃

 2 years ago  

Beautiful picture. Happy spring, new life is everywhere. I love the spring here in the USA, it drags me out of those winter blues.
Have a wonderful day, cheers!

And to you too as you head into winter may the blues stay away

 2 years ago  

haha I say that every year, no blues, enjoy the cold and snow, be positive! Well, it lasts for a while, but by February I am done so we get out of the north and fly south. Thank goodness.

A beautiful shot, @buckaroobaby! I love knowing some of you lovely folks in the opposite hemisphere because as @farm-mom said, it is nice to see in a few months once everything gets a little more bleak here in the heart of winter. Though right now I am adoring our cooler weather as we head into autumn!

Thank you @plantstoplanks. Right now we have really confused weather. Feels more like we are entering winter than leaving it

Oh my dear friend, you have a way of writing that transports me to the scene, and your photography skills seal the deal. I loved every part of that and was tickled to feel a bit of spring brisk freshness as we fade into the end of the growing season here in my realm. You are awesome😊

Am I blushing? It think it's just the reflection off those blossoms

What a beautiful challenge, Hive Garden!

Oh, the seasonal change right now is quite dramatic... after a longest-ever drought and unprecedented temperatures, the rains are so very welcome - even if I was up in the dark just now to turn off the internet in case of a power surge blowout from incredible lightning!

I'm hoping indeed that the multifarious zucche/ pumpkins that I'm cultivating, will not have been battered too badly. They already had their huge leaves shot through by some summer grandine/ hailstones.

Either way, it has been a joy to finally have more time in the garden - the window of opportunity opening daily, as the zanzare/ mosquitoes wake up later and later, and there's THE MOST DELIZIOSO almost-chill in the air! I relish having to put on something bigger than a bikini-and-short-shorts to work in!

Yesterday I laboured happily in big clearing work, and have been down sometimes in the dark evenings too, before bed, to just enjoy a grounding moment and the lovely atmosphere, before resting...

The clearing work is SO REWARDING!! Suddenly the shape of the whole garden is naturally revealing itself: it has felt very claustrophobic these sunny months, with so much vegetation crowding into the layers - but each tree and grapevine that is pruned gives this whole new dimension - I adore the autumn clearing-up!

All beautiful things to you all... I'm struggling with tech still a little, and it is not so easy to navigate Hive on a small screen (urgh, typing is bollocks!!) - but I hope to be more actively participating here as the garden unfolds: it is goooooorgeous reading all the comments for this post challenge!

Guaoooo what a great pumpkin in your crop Temperature changes to climate change a

Aw, thanks for your nice response here, friend ☀️☀️☀️🌞

 2 years ago  

Wow what a garden - lovely. Nice looking pumpkin. Funny that you could garden in your bikini.

Thanks for this lovely comment and encouragement! Yes - it is just soooo hot sometimes, and I get soaked anyway, watering the complex layers 😋🤩

 2 years ago  

You are welcome - I love your space and the amazing view.

 2 years ago  

Oh wow just stunning... You bring these moments in your secret garden to life!!! What a special place you have. And I love the garden clean up too! All ready for winter to cover it in restfulness. Here's to autumnal pumpkin soup!

Thanks so much for your encouragement, @riverflows! It has been a power-full year in the garden, only now falling into peace and health!

 2 years ago  

And a hot one too?

Terribly prohibitive-to-going-outside hot, yes indeed.... The average summer I can only go out in early morning and late eve, but this year unbearable heat and insects have been 24/7 😶 Really painful even to water, fully clothed!

 2 years ago  

Oh gosh, sounds like you will welcome the change of seasons !!

I was just sitting on my lower street step, enjoying my feet being washed and cooled by the deluge

... it is SOOOO GOOD to have water blessing the earth again!

Glad you are getting some cooler weather and respite from the mosquitoes, as well! Those darn bugs are vicious, haha! Looks like a beautiful view. Hope your pumpkins thrive, as well.

Yey!

I picked some more today, and might try to make a kind of pesto/ pāté with one, using olive oil, lemon juice, basil and suchlike.... 😍🤩🌈🙏

How cute are they?! Sounds delicious!

Seasonal change?? LOL - I came back from summer in Europe with every intent to swing my machete at the meter-high weeds that have overtaken the back garden. But I came back to THIS:

CNXflood.jpg

There are 65 villages around greater Chiang Mai under 60cm or more of flood... URGH! Gardening? I'm needing to wear rubber boots just to venture off the back porch and it is squelchy wet and a serious hazard for snakes, scorpions etc.

Today it has stopped raining for the first time in 10 days, the sun is out and it's 34C. With a little bit of luck, by Saturday morning the worst of the water around the garden will have subsided enough for a session with the brushcutter and the machete.

Really enjoying what's happening as the seasons unfold differently for us all.

Wow, now that's a flood! I am so happy to hear the rain stopped and hope things dry quickly for ya so you can get to chopping! (And that you don't get bit or stung by any flood displaced snake or scorpion! Talk about a gardening hazard!)

And a huge URGH from me as a NEW flash flood warning was issued for the whole of North Thailand from 17-21 September. I'm gonna be out with my brush-cutter 9am Saturday and hopefully beat the expected deluges... LOL. With my long rubber anti-snake boots on.

Oh no! Not more! I am so glad you have those water proof snake combat boots lol, it sounds like you are going to need them! Good luck lol!

Rubber boots? Not a boat? That is a lot of water. It's a lovely photo but I'm sure has left some concerned villagers. Our floods looked like that. Hard to image so much rain

And more flash flood warnings issued for the next 4 days. Yikes. Many farmers have small dingys but the reality is it's too dangerous to user them when the floods are happening, and the rest of the year it's dry enough not to need one.

 2 years ago  

Hey! Was just thinking about you!

I'd reckon that's a seasonal change... Flood season! Eek. I hope not too much damage...

Coming out of arguably the biggest personal "seasonal change" since I had a baby... 😆

Just beginning to find a routine and clearing the urgent catastrophes from the office... LOL...

Wuau, tremendous risk and so close, just leaving your house from the back, that's the consequences that floods leave, I imagine you have already gone through that and you are used to it, why I notice when I read your comment that you are prepared, since you use your rubber boots, you must live worried when it rains. Sorry for the question that picture is the back of your house?

 2 years ago  

That is just awful, so many villages flooded. I can't imagine scorpions and snakes in those waters around you. BE CAREFUL!
Best of luck.

 2 years ago  

Wow - that is a lot of water. I can imagine that seasonal changes are expected but hopefully some people did not lose crops/livestock as a result.

Yikes! Hope the next round of rain isn't quite as bad. Good luck dodging the critters and getting some clearing out done between storms!

Sorry to hear about the floods

Here is a photo from last weekends trip to Stony Brook State Park, maybe an hour or so from the Canadian border in central\Western New York, bigger post on that forthcoming... But this one I thought captured the theme, as there are just a few turned leaves on the ground And plenty still on the trees. Summer technically ends in another week or so, but we've had that "fall evening" feel for a couple weeks now in the Midwest.... It's coming 😢 ❄️

PXL_20220911_231114375.jpg

 2 years ago  

Oh boy, so you are noticing those chilly nights also, that's when I know fall is here. I know it's only a matter of time when all my flowers will catch the chill and curl up and die. I always feel a little sad when I wake up to see all those big, gorgeous bouquets dying.
Until next year. I am looking forward to the trees showing off their good stuff very soon, we have a few starting to change already.
Great pix by the way.

 2 years ago  

Ooh, I can just feel the cool air rising from the water and see the golden leaves loosening from the trees to float in the water below! Funny how the season change lasts for quite some time before SEEMING to arrive quickly! Thanks for sharing! And don't forget to come back and engage with others who have joined in this conversation too xx

I just passed through NY on the way home to Vermont. Fall is definitely coming soon. Some of our maples are starting to turn already 🍁

There's something about a natural body of water that brings calmness and tranquility. 🎶

That really captures the Fall feel. What a beautiful place! Although I guess it's freezing that water looks inviting.....

The water was too cold for me!

I absolutely adore fall hikes, and this makes me excited for some exploring in the season to come! We're a bit behind you down here in Atlanta, but that crisp weather will hopefully come soon!

The river is so perfectly beautiful...
thank you for sharing this image 🤩

 2 years ago  

Lovely photo. That is the one thing I miss about the seasons change in North America - it changing leaves can be so dramatically beautiful with a wider array of colors than what I have seen in this part of Europe.

Here in North Idaho fall is rapidly approaching. The leaves are starting to turn, pumpkins are developing their bright orange (and red and white!) hues, and all the local critters are gorging themselves to try to bulk up for the long winter ahead. But, the most obvious sign that caught my attention and made me realize the season we are in is the chilis are turning red! That happens when summer is most definitely at its end.

Also, I love seeing everyone's fall and spring garden pics! This is awesome!😊

IMG_7304.jpg

Love those chilis! We have some peppers that are turning nice bright colors too (in Vermont)

Oh wow! I think we have similar hardiness zones, but on top of those peppers I bet you get all those lovely deciduous tree leaves of color gloriousness to be surrounded by, I'd love to see that!

The maples are starting to change a bit 🙂 we have a very mixed forest. Maples, oaks, aspen, beech, white pines, hemlock, walnut. More white pine than you would expect at least around my place. It varies alot with elevation, precipitation, and well everything else haha

This is my best fall photo ever I think 😍

That photo truly captures the essence of Fall. It also triggers wonderful memories of when I lived in the US. Beautiful photo @steven-patrick. Whimsical

The fall colored Adirondack chairs and the reflections do give it a whimsical feel. I agree 👍

Every time I think of the word fall, I am going to think of your beyond incredible photo! I adore everything about it, holy wow! Absolutely the best!

We are conifer land here, but we do have tamaracks (larch) that turn yellow in the fall and birch trees, and I have one lone chestnut in the yard, so we do get a bit of color😊

I don't think we will get colors that good this fall because it has been too dry 🙁

 2 years ago  

Wow - gorgeous. Looks unreal.

Absolutely stunning!! You should print and frame that!

I have done that with a few photos. I may have to add this one. 👍

Wow! So beautiful. 😃

Wow... What a magnificent shot. This is the best I've seen yet, too :)

Ok since this is getting so much play I should confess my wife took this shot 😊

It's so perfectly taken :) Kudos to her for such a beautiful capture.

Kudos to your wife

Absolutely beautiful the symmetry as a result of the reflection on the lake?

Yes its a reflection off Lake Dunmore in Addison County, Vermont.

Beautiful

It's a stunning picture, so well captured and love the mirror image captured

Thanks the mirror image turned out so good its hard to tell the actual image from the mirror. It all runs together. Where do the trees stop and the lake start?

 2 years ago  

Nice chilis my friend, yep, fall is fast approaching!
Enjoy the color changes.

Thanks😊 I hope you enjoy all the fall color too!

Look at those beautiful peppers! We had let our tomatoes just grow wild and I noticed some red in the garden yesterday--same thing happened with the cherry tomatoes left on the vine. The cooler weather made a big handful of them ripen in a blink!

Ooh, I am right in the tomatoes are ripe situation with you, everyday there is more and more to harvest and process. I sure hope you are enjoying all those lovely tomatoes, we sure are lol!

Ripe tomatoes are always a blessing!

 2 years ago  

I love seeing everyone's pics too! Don't forget to come back and comment on a few!!

I can't wait til chilli season! As I have a greenhouse they ripen til really, really late in the season! As I have a new fermented hot sauce recipe I can't wait to make more!

Ooh, fermented hot sauce sounds amazing! I can't wait to see a post about that😉!

 2 years ago  

I wrote one a while back but I'll share again in jalapeno season!

YAY! Can't wait!

 2 years ago  

Nice - I learnt something new. I did not know becoming red means the season is ending.

A month ago I planted sunflowers again in a small garden that I have exclusively for her, as we are in winter they have grown a lot yet not bloom because they are growing and this makes me very happy and soon I will have beautiful sunflowers are my favorite flowers they transmit a lot of energy.

IMG_20220914_093144~2.jpg

 2 years ago  

LOVE SUNFLOWERS!

IMG_3502.JPG

I love sunflowers this is a photo of a previous planting

IMG_20220608_113056.jpg

I had sooo many sunflowers this year in Vermont. Ours are all gone. Can't wait to start up seedlings again in the spring. You look like you will have a beautiful group of sunflowers 🌻

This is the third time I have sown sunflowers this winter they have grown faster when they bloom I show them I am in love with sunflowers 😍.

 2 years ago  

Yay! My sunflower seedlings are super small but I'll be planting them soon!

This is the third time I am planting sunflowers as it is raining they are growing faster I love the flowers my favorite is sunflowers and roses.

 2 years ago  

Lovely - you have something sunny to look forward to. I love sunflowers and had only 2 in my small garden but enjoyed them thoroughly.

This time I planted 10 sunflower plants, they still do not have flowers and they are beautiful.

Have patience girl, they will bloom out soon

Cheers, can't see the day it happens thanks for commenting blessings 💞.

 2 years ago  

Now here in Norway harvesting time. All farmers started harvesting their crops. This is the photo of the onion farm which belongs to one farmer friend of ours. It was last weekend Had taken this photo.

I have never seen onions harvested before, it looks beautiful.

 2 years ago (edited) 

It is just drying now still for harvest we do more work to harvest they will be woven together, thank you for visiting my post. greetings😊

 2 years ago  

Beautiful photos and oodles of onions!! Lovely photo.

 2 years ago  

thank you🙏 That means you like onions. greetings have a nice weekend😊

Lots of onions. At a first glance I wondered what flowers they were. Lol!

wauw Amazing! what a harvest! I still have to learn to grow them in the garden

Nice updates here!
It's funny to see the different seasons starting around the world 👍

Here in The Netherlands (Western Europe) the summer has come to an end. The endless period without any rain has come to an end. It has been raining a lot in the past few two weeks. But not yet enough to compensate for the dry period we had.
Anyways; the garden is really getting freshened up. As you might have seen in my garden update we've put some new plants in our backyard recently. One of them is this blueberry bush. It is certainly enjoying the rain. We've planted it in a sunny place and added some sour soil. Hopefully it will continue growing an give us some nice berries next year!

hg.jpg

 2 years ago  

Blueberries are so delicious and nutritious, we have a field we go to and pick like crazy in July we got 35 pounds this year. Good luck with yours.

 2 years ago  

Absolutely lovely. There's nothing more beautiful than raindrops. 🌱

Thanks! They make a nice subject for a photo indeed.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Yes it is indeed raining a lot in NL - your berry plant and my balcony garden are loving it.

Yeah! What are you growing on your balcony?

 2 years ago (edited) 

A myriad of vegetable in my table garden - I got it from Makkelijke Moestuin. I can grow 16 different veggies at a time. I also have grow bags too. I had an abundance of tomatoes and strawberry (36 plants hanging off the balcony), cucumbers, lettuces, radishes, carrots, garlic, potatoes, mini pumpkins, cabbages. I am still enjoying red bell peppers and reed beets and romain lettuces. I waiting to harvest kale.

Wow, that really is a lot. You must have quite a balcony then.

 2 years ago  

I have an unusually large balcony but I only use about 6.5m of it. The Table garden (1.5X1.5m) is amazing but I have grow bags and pots too. We still need a place to relax and bbq.😀

Rain water on a plant makes a great picture.

It surely does!

Well I may have missed doing a full garden journal post this month, but I can find time for a comment! It was a toss-up between these and the pears, but my gorgeous gourds had to take top honors as autumn is in the air. At least briefly in the mornings this week before the temps soar back high in the afternoons, haha. The Seminole Pumpkins were the real winners this season. I still have two more growing on the vine, and the largest in this photo topped out at 8lbs! Though I'm partial to my one little green Jarrahdale baby and the single Candy Roaster. It's about time to start cooking some of them, but they look so pretty on my table it's hard to hack into them! The last month has been so busy I have once again failed to plant much for this season, but at least I won't need to buy squash from the farmers market for a very long time!

IMG_20220915_102506216.jpg

That is a gorgeous selection of fallness! I especially love the Jarrahdale! Okay, I love them all! Are you going to be posting all those glorious dishes you make, I hope? lol! Thanks for sharing the garden awesomeness!

I might be biased, but the Jarrahdale is a perfect little pumpkin, haha. Though I'm sure they will all be delicious. it's been so long since I've posted any recipes, so hopefully I can find the time to share some of my fall dishes this season!

Oh I so hope you do! I love recipes, especially fall recipes utilizing produce that we've all grown😊

 2 years ago  

Yay for pumpkins! @stephen-patrick The Squash Queen might give you a run for your money!!

And curly ones this year?

I have some butternut squash which are kinda curvy but nothing like the pretty green one 😍 (thats @steven-patrick to you @riverflows 😉 I think my mom thought it would be easier to spell lol)

It's nice to know we can always grow squash, even when all else fails. ;)

Though the Rampicantes did not do as well on the ground this year as they did trellised last year. I had one plant but the squash kept rotting in the grass before it matured enough to pick. Lesson learned--it may not get as curly when hanging, but they seem to grow better that way in our hot and humid climate!

Spoke too soon...found this beast lurking in the weeds. 😂

IMG_20220917_121054209_2.jpg

That looks like a halo. 😃

Mmmmmmmmmmk - natural perfection! Butternut squash envy!

The freezer is definitely going to get packed with puree this season! Always a favorite around here. :)

Sounds delicious! I'll do that too!

 2 years ago  

Lovely pumpkins - you are readu for all that autumn has to offer.

I am definitely ready for this season! Thank you!

I also started doing season change photos this week. But here in Vermont we are changing to fall.

Don't worry though, I have lots more pumpkin photos 😊

 2 years ago  

Nice pumpkin! We can't seem to grow them here on our farm, I have tried a few times, no luck.

We have pretty poor soil. This one was grown in a raised bed and got lots of tlc.

 2 years ago  

Nothing better than TLC🤗

 2 years ago  

Hahah I bet you have tons of pumpkin photos to share! There's a few more comments now so do feel free to engage with others when you get out of the pumpkin patch :P

I have lots of photos for fall not just pumpkins😁 These are butternut squash and heirloom zuchinni Fall harvest

I love the shade of orange on that pumpkin! What variety is that? I have a bunch of Amish pie and Small Sugar pumpkins out in the garden and yours reminds me of them😊

This is a pie pumpkin. We saved seeds from last year. Most of our garden is from saved seeds.

Ah! You are speaking my language! I love saving seeds! Just picked a bunch of Large Barred Boar tomatoes this morning and they are getting the seed saving treatment lol!

Hope you enjoy all the pies from those pumpkins!

Hiw gorgeously vibrant this beauty us! I'm excited to see mine change colour - a couple are tingeing a more subtle orange.... I'll organise in future years/ gardens to grow a wider selection if colours! 😍😍🥰

These pumpkins came from the same seeds as the bright orange one. Some of the plants put on dark green pumpkins that turn bright orange. Some of the plants are putting on these striped pumpkins that start light green with stripes and get yellow. Not sure if they will make it all the way to orange or not 🤷

Striped pumpkins

Oh wow, I love your photo!

What a pretty pumpkin

Thanks! Puts you in the mood for fall and Halloween 🎃

Hope you like, how the tendril make creeper to crawl.

https://peakd.com/hive-140635/@steemflow/creepers-strength-tendrils-and-vines

I am sending in my entry soon

 2 years ago (edited) 

Hi, you are a very clear girl. how do you get ideas about new challenges? greetings❤️😊

 2 years ago  

The garden fairies make me do it! 🧚‍♂️

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 39000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 40000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
papilloncharity tipped plantstoplanks (x1)
@papilloncharity(3/10) tipped @nainaztengra (x1)
papilloncharity tipped hindavi (x1)
papilloncharity tipped riverflows (x1)
papilloncharity tipped ifarmgirl (x1)
papilloncharity tipped blingit (x1)

Join us in Discord!

4B638E6A-DABF-47C6-AB4B-1E319A58B082.jpeg

Last week, I passed by this pear farm in Kobe, Japan and saw people harvesting the pears and having picnics under the trees. The trees are grown in such a way that the fruits hang low and can easily be picked. Honestly some years ago, I didn’t know that Asian pears were as round as apples. They are sweet, filling,juicy and are the best I’ve had.
The harvesting season ends in mid September, just on the brink of the end of summer and the start of autumn.
Though I didn’t go harvesting, I got a warm feeling seeing families and friends enjoying themselves, eating the delicious fruits and making use of the lovely weather.

 2 years ago  

Oh wow... Are they nashi? They are my FAVOURITE!

😃Yes they are!!! They’re one of my favorites too!!!! They’re heavenly. So sweet and juicy. Oh my! Happy you know them. I know everything has its season but I hate to see them go. Lol!!
Buying them at the supermarket is okay but getting them fresh from the farm gives a taste to another level.

Nashi are so good. Love them

🥰Oh they are sooo good. Filling though. Can’t have too many.

These pictures I clicked during my travel to Swiss last week across the Country. Autumn is setting in and soon they will be gone, but as of now they still charm the Country with it's beauty.
image.png

20220905_125749.jpg

Hoverflies dancing in the sunlight around Brassica flowers. Three signs of a warm Spring.

The end of the summer here in Greece,
The sunflowers are over for us, they are not beautiful anymore. But I leave them hanging, because the birds will appreciate it a lot. Sometimes it is very busy in the garden with birds they love all the sunflowers that became seeds now.
We are waiting for some beautiful fall days, but today it was cloudy and rainy

 2 years ago  

As @friendlymoose said - in the Netherlands- the heavens wept 🌧️ but it was showers of blessings. I do not need to water my plants and some plants like the bell peppers were loving it.

I love all the seasons and welcome the change. Although I must admit that I will miss the lusciousness greenery of the plants on my balcony and all the colours of vegetables, fruits and flowers. However, fall is here and although my small garden will not bless me with changing colors ⛅🍁 🎃🍂 - I can experience that in nearby parks.

Unfortunately, fall also means a fall in temperature - so it has gotten colder. The change was dramatic -I had to think 🤔 wisely and swiftly moved the bell pepper plants to my living room. They are sitting by a large window and are feeling nice and cosy inside the house which is 20-21 degrees celsius; it is about the minimum temperature they like. I can see that they are grateful and some of the peppers expressed their gratitude by starting to show red. 🌶️ I think you can spot them!!