Garden Journal May Part 2: Free Mulch, Banksias and Gang Gangs

in HiveGarden2 years ago

I love Autumn. Though the garden starts looking quite dull, the Australian native flowers like banksia start to pop, and all the infrastructure work you've been putting off like mulching and paths are able to be done. Like this bed. Jamie had cleared a LOT of grasses as the rabbits were hiding between and underneath, starting to build warrens.

IMG20220505115616.jpg

But oh my crikey, look at all that grass. It took me two days to dig it out - a landscaper coudl ahve done it faster but it's physically hard work so I had to take lots of breaks and do other things.

The council had cut some pine trees and mulched them, and then dumped a huge pile of mulch behind the row of pines to the wast of us. It's a long walk to fill the barrow but it's FREEEEEE. And the natives don't mind it. HOpefully it'll keep the grass down for a while, a good few years at least. It's all much more open now so easy to check for rabbits and perhaps keep them a little more shy.

IMG20220507130525.jpg

This is what I mean about the banksia - gorgeous aren't they? They come in so many colours, shapes and sizes.

IMG20220507130540.jpg

There's also another garden we need to do, now the grasses are removed. WE're putting in a back deck outside the laundry and lounge doors, and there will be a garden in between. It'll look much nicer and more classy - we hope! I mean, that bit of concrete is bloody ugly.

IMG20220507130551.jpg

IMG20220507130558.jpg

When I finally came in to heat up some leftover dal soup and make toasted sandwiches and light the fire, the gang gangs arrived to have a drink from the bird bath. They are quite shy but we love them. They make a creaking door sounds, funny buggers. Aren't they just divine?

IMG_20220507_131321.jpg

IMG20220507131127.jpg

I tell you what, I'm so sore from weeding and mulching I think I'll spend the afternoon in the bath. First, I have some #gardenjournal posts to catch up on! Tagging gardeners @buckaroobaby who I think would appreciate the gang gangs, and @artemislives, who might appreciate the autumnal Aussie vibe.

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


Sort:  

Wow, your place looks so amazing I can't imagine if those lovely birds and rabbits were here I think most of us are getting crazy to catch them and there they are normally enjoying your garden? Wow! 😲.

I don't know much about gardening, but these feathered guys in the last pictures caught my attention. They look pretty harsh, and spectacular. For some reason, I have an association with crows. Is this species common in Australia?

 2 years ago  

It is. It's a variety of cockatoo, although not as common. We have been blessed with this gang of gang gangs and are always excited when they land! So special.

Your garden is lovely, even though you are putting her to sleep. I haven't heard of the banksia before but they provide alot of texture. What garden zone are you working in?

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

 2 years ago  

Hi. I like your garden plus with those exotic birds it looks great.

 2 years ago  

oh my your garden is just "australia" beautiful. delightful. we are hoping to plant lots of natives to. Anxious to increase the biodiversity in the area. There is a lady down the road that i swear has ever flower plant in her tiny garden. hopefully if we have lots as well they will compliment the wildlife in the area.

biodiversity is so important!

love any advice on interesting natives... we have none... and i grew up in NZ which is so different to here.

I still need to do the text version of my garden journal for those that don't want to sit through hours of video... lol
here is the bird that was eating bugs from my hand in the garden the other day
20220505_000056343_iOS.jpg

at the very end of the video you can see him eating out of my gloved hand lol

really nice to see your space out there.. super cool garden!! and birds! i can imagine you will be having a lot of fun in there over the coming seasons.... u keep me inspired.. one day ill get a garden going again!

Aussie native plants just don't respect the 4 European seasons!😅
!ctp

 2 years ago  

Makes for a far more interesting garden experience though!

It's funny to see folks getting frustrated because the plants aren't following the rules!

!ctp

 2 years ago  

Mate, someone planted freaking DAFFODILS in front of the pharmacist last week. Lol.

I sure wish someone would drop a load or 2 of wood mulch here!