Searching for Pear trees

in HiveGardenlast month

Last year I discovered a wild Pear tree on my property, it has fruit growing on it though not many. The tree was not in the best shape, but was surprised to even have them here in the wild. When I see a Pear tree I am used to it being a Bradford or also known as a Callery Pear Tree, these do not produce fruit and smell awful. Though I would think in the wild the fruiting pear trees are more common, as the ornamental variety are mostly used in suburban areas.

Hoping these end up being the fruiting variety I mark them with a ribbon and will come back this summer to see if they produced fruit.

Above was the first Pear tree I found, its quite the ugly tree, but I cleaned it up a little and hope it does better. A vine was growing all over it so I removed that and trimmed off dead branches.

Since its flowering I have hope it will produce fruit again.

These flowers are how I spotted other Pear trees near by. The distinctive white flowers bloom while most others are still dormant.

So I went off searching for white flowering trees around me, and verified if they are Pear trees upon closer inspection.

We can see the blue ribbons I loosely tied around the tree, sorry about my finger...lol

Looks like the same flowers as the confirmed fruiting Pear tree.

Once it drops its flowers, it looks like any other tree on the border of the forest. So these blue blazes will help a lot to spot its fruit.

The leaves are coming up and soon will fill this tree again for the spring and summer.

As I walk away I notice how many other competing trees are growing around it. If it indeed ends up being a fruiting Pear tree I will clear other trees around it so it has more space to grow and hopefully produce even more fruit.

But for now I want to know if its an ornamental or a fruiting variety.

A third possible Pear tree has been spotted on my property, this one a little smaller.

Just in case I marked it with a blue ribbon so when it drops its flowers I can easily find it again.

This tree is younger than the others and still has its thorns.

Lots of flowers, so I have hope it will produce fruit.

Marking this one as well with a ribbon I will check on this and the others in the summer. Hopefully upon my return I will spot some Pears growing. If these end up being Bradfords/Callery I will probably pull them up and get a free tree in return.

https://dof.virginia.gov/forest-management-health/forest-health/financial-assistance-program/callery-pear-exchange-program/

Virginia the state I live in has a program to help get rid of the evasive non fruiting variety. So even if these are not what I want, I can still benefit by getting rid of it. And at the very least they will make for some firewood next winter.

But we shall see, it will be many months before they fruit, but just knowing where they are will greatly help me check them again among the expansive boarder of the forest here. From the ones I have seen they only grow on the edge of the woods, probably need lots of light for fruit. But maybe there are some scrubby ones deep in the forest I have yet to discover as well.

Sort:  

Wow, beautiful flowers... spring is here!

It is just about here for us, gonna get cold for another few weeks and then should be out of it.

Wow! That's beautiful...so many white flowers look like snow on the tree .. this is a beautiful discovery 😄👍

It does look like that, I really liked seeing them in full bloom.

Yhhh.. this tree is really beautiful :⁠-⁠)

Thanks for the figures.
My six-legged ladies would love it too

I bet they would, our quince bush seems to attract the most bees through. But I am sure the Pear tree gets some attention too.

Quince bush?
I always use quinces to make mead. Last year I made about 500 litres of mead from quince juice and 200kg of honey. The quinces provide enough acidity that water alone does not. This makes the mead more harmonious in flavour and more in the direction of honey wine

Hello dear friend @solominer good afternoon
It is incredible that you have found wild pear trees, I hope they bear fruit
It has a good plan, without a doubt, if there are pear trees, it is advisable to prune the rest of the trees so that the pear trees develop better.
May you have many successes with these trees.
Have a great weekend and happy Easter.

I love finding these trees just walking around. Really looking forward to checking on everything I tagged over the last year. Yep that is the plan, to thin out around them if the end up being the fruiting variety.

Thanks hope you have a good one as well.

They are so lovely! We are still a good long ways from flowering fruit trees. Hope they all turn out to be productive fruit trees.

They are pretty nice, looking forward to thinning out the trees around them if they end up being the fruiting variety. I am sure they will grow even better the next year.

Not much is flowering right now besides those Pear trees. But soon everything else around here should start waking up.

The flowers are unusually large!
LOVELY!
I'd be curious myself if they are the fruiting kind!

They are pretty big, I think the first one I found was just really sickly and small so the flowers look big. But the others are quite tall, and just filled with them.

Me too, looking forward to cooking with them.

That's such a great idea to colour code your finds for future reference. Even if they trees don't bear any fruit, they're still very pretty to look at

It seems to work well, just have to pick a color I can notice in the summer and fall. So not using green and orange is probably a good idea. Blue seemed to be a good way to notice them.

They are pretty, and sure also a good source of pollen for bees. So even non fruiting have their benefits.

The flowers are so lovely
They are very cute!

They sure are, I really like them.

Maybe in years past someone planted good pear trees, and the trees have gotten overgrown by other trees and vines so they did not produce fruit. I hope this is the case. You shall see if that is the case this summer.
That is a good program the state has to replace the trees.

It is possible, since I found them right on the wood line. So true we shall see, and yeah it is pretty cool. I wonder what tree they give in exchange.

Maybe they five a good pear tree, that would be nice if these are the bad ones. I wonder if Google will tell you.

Keeping my fingers crossed to produce fruits those Pear trees! Would be so amazing and time saver!!

Thank you, yeah these are much older and established than what you can find at a plant nursery. So if they do fruit I really want to take care of them.

Though I may want to grow cultivated ones just for their flavor.

It's my first time seeing pear tree of this kind though we have couple of these in my hometown side.. and it do produce fruit. I've not seen that kind of beautiful flowers in the pear tree.. I guess we have a different type or probably because I've not been there in spring season...

I hope it will be fruitful!!!

Oh cool, good to hear they grow wild in other places as well. Maybe there have been more around me I was just not aware of them.

Thanks

This flowers look so beautiful. I love them all

They sure are, I really like how they look when they start opening.

 last month  

I am happy for you that you have those pear trees, can't wait to see their fruits in the coming months.

Thank you, looking forward to it too.

 last month  

You're welcome (^_^)

I knew pears were delicious but didn't know they were so beautiful! Great photos, thanks for sharing!
Have you ever made cider?

I have not made any cider but would like to try one day.

Pears are my Favorite Fruit tree.

Its literally the best one. It has a Minty and Sweet Flavor!

GOD DAMN! How big is your property and there is so much treasures there. JEEEEZ

I love pears too.. Comice is my favorite kind.

My property is many acres.

You achieved the American dream. Hopefully folks like me of the zoomer gen could afford to buy a home with many acres one day.

I would prefer the rural area instead of the city. +Bonus since i my skills is digital. I can work anywhere. HOHOHOH

I think finding a fruit tree in your land when you least expect is nothing short of finding a treasure.
Those flowers look amazing. They are a gift of the spring season.
Though over the years with all the climate changes flowering and arrival of spring seems a lot more erratic nowadays.