Colurful BitterGourd for My Garden Journal.

in HiveGarden2 years ago

One new vegetable that I added in my diet lately is bitter gourd. Not a favourite item for many due tonits bitterness, but I develop a great taste of it, also it is good for tummy and also help in controlling sugar level. So I made a little space to grow some of my own in my terrace. However seems this time it lack something as most of the fruits were spoiled. Here is a little update on my bitter Beaty on my terrace.

20220731_153957.jpg

This year, I am limited with my terrace gardening. The mud on the roof making my old terrace to leak during rain, so I am content in producing any more item. However I made sure to grow little bit of bitter gourd in a small space. Even in rain scarcity it grows densely.

20220730_061745.jpg

One interesting thing about bitter gourd is its flower fragrance. The more it taste bitter the more fragrant are its flower. Naturally yellow in colour, the fragrance spread across the area and made my morning very beautiful with its unique scent. Every morning I woke is with its fragrances.

20220730_060948.jpg

This year the fruits is not as expected. While I was waiting for get the fruits to grow bit longer, I noticed I have two quality of it growing simultaneously. While one looks Orange, the other is in Green. Green supposed to be the raw one, which we consume, while Orange get naturally ripped and it's seeds can be used for next year.

20220730_061121.jpg20220730_061158.jpg

Not only this the ripend fruits were already spiltting up naturally. It looks like it open up its jaws to eat something. This is first time I saw a open mouth bitter gourd.

20220730_061246.jpg

The best attractive part is the Orange look in between the green leaves. This is the first the fruits were pre maturally ripening. As per my understanding it would have grown a little bit more, however it get ripe little faster than expected.

20220730_061232.jpg

Still the Green raw are few left on plant. What is more amazing is to find two different natural colour growing in same plant. The natural colors are hard to find. And now my little plant is full of Green and Orange and Yellow colours.

20220730_061006.jpg

Even though few of the fruits were spoiled due to premature ripening, I still have many flowers alive , with an expectation to get few more yield this year.

20220730_061420.jpg

But looking at most of fruits which get spoiled I belive it was due to water scarcity, as we less rain and I didn't gave much effor to water them. Not sure may be there could any other reason. But the wastage is in bunch and more of them were ripend.

20220730_061318.jpg

But still I didn't miss out on savoring some of the fresh plucked this morning. In total I had 12 little bitter gourd this morning to add to my meal.

20220731_154856.jpg

After enjoying little dishes of it I made it to #Hive with little yield so far for this year. This is my garden update for July.

20220730_061850.jpg

Peace !!

Namaste @steemflow

Sort:  

Holiss...
Here in Venezuela, we have that species that grows freely in the fields. Many times it grew in my house and I removed it thinking it was a weed.

You say that it can be eaten. How do you prepare it?
Do you use it before it opens and takes out its seeds?

We cut and then fry the green one using cooking oil and adding salt to it...the seeds within get too crispy as well...there are other dishes as well....but I think..Google would be the best answer for it.😉

 2 years ago  

I just ate this vegetable yesterday, I just cooked it with some water and fish sauce, so delicious.

Great....it always taste better I belive adding a new taste to the meal

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @steemflow ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @steemflow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022
 2 years ago  

Hi, It reminds me of my Indian garden, which I am missing for 2 years. Greetings🙏