Greenhouse Update for February - by Sunscape

in HiveGarden3 months ago

hydroponic-gardening-1.jpg

The weather was perfect this week with plenty of sunshine to keep the greenhouse warm and cozy for the seedlings. The hydroponic lettuce is growing nicely as is the spinach.

gardening-greenhouse-tower-4.jpg

I planted the rest of the spinach and buttercrunch lettuce into tower gardens. I wanted to finish up the flat after doing the hydroponics.

gardening-greenhouse-towers-3.jpg

The leaves are already turning a brighter green since up-potting them into the tower.

gardening-greenhouse-towers-1.jpg

The lettuce has already adapted to being transplanted and starting to put out another set of leaves. I will start fertilizing them with a diluted liquid solution every two weeks during the growing process until harvest.

hivegarden-seedlings-1.jpg

The onions are much happier now that they are in the cooler environment.

hivegarden-seedlings-7.jpg

It won't be long until I put them out in the raised bed with a hoop frame to protect them.

hivegarden-seedlings-2.jpg

This week the Foxglove and the Petunias were ready to be potted up into individual cell packs. I like to do it before they get too big.

Foxglove


gardening-greenhouse-flowers-potting-1.jpg

gardening-greenhouse-flowers-1.jpg

Petunias


gardening-greenhouse-flowers-petunia-1.jpg

Once they are potted up the seedlings really begin to take off. I always add Osmacote time-release fertilizer which works great for all my flowers. Once they are planted directly into the garden they will get extra nutrients during the growing season as well.

Flowering Vines


gardening-greenhouse-vines-1.jpg

This week I planted seed varieties of vines to grow up my trellises throughout the gardens. Also, I have vertical growing space on my birdhouse posts as well. Another vine that my hummingbirds love is the Cardinal Vine. I save seeds year after year for them and they were started too.

Hot Peppers


gardening-greenhouse-peppers-1.jpg

I grow a lot of hot peppers to make jams, hot sauce, and for preserving. This last week was 10 weeks from my last average frost date and it was the perfect time to get them started.

Jalapeno


hivegarden-seeds-5.jpg

Besides the regular Jalapeno pepper, I also started the Orange and Lemon Spice variety. They did very well for me last year and I look forward to them again this year. The three combined make a colorful Jalapeno bread, which by the way, is the bomb.

butterfly zinnia.jpg

Today I will be seeding trays of Zinnia's for my butterfly garden. Thus, this ends my post for today and I will update the greenhouse's progress next week.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

Always enjoy reading how you start up your gardening season from within the greenhouse up North.

Plants growing before your eyes so exciting to visit daily to watch nature doing it's best.

@tipu curate 2

 3 months ago  

This is the earliest I have ever opened up the greenhouse, usually, it is the 2nd week in March. Our weather has been so warm with a lot of sun that it just made sense. The plants are really taking off and I will be doing a lot of seed sowing over the next two weeks. We had snow and deep cold for two days but I have a heater that keeps them cozy enough during the night. I hope you are getting ready for some cooler weather yourself. Save your passion fruit from the monkeys!

I planted two weeks later start of Spring, nothing grew weather too topsy-turvy or purchased seed is a big no no for me, everything I plant from the kitchen seeds and grows.

Passion fruit now 9 waiting once again, might be lucky to make three batches this year, good luck with early plant that weather doesn't swing back and spoil your fun!

 3 months ago  

I too save seeds every year, I only buy new varieties to try from my favorite seed company. The weather is up and down here too so we shall see what transpires this spring. Good luck with your garden.

We heading back into a week of hot weather, hopefully this breaks sooner than later, enjoy the garden it is rewarding at the end of day.

Wow! This is amazing to see such a beautiful pictures of tower gardening of spinach and onion 😀
@sagarkothari88 vote

 3 months ago  

Thank you, I really like using the tower gardens, it makes for good use of space.

Indeed.. this is really a good idea .. I'll also try 🙂

How wonderful! It will be a good harvest, with those associations of cultivation and flowers that give so much beauty repel insect !!! 😍

 3 months ago  

I agree, the greenhouse does a wonderful job and I get a nice early harvest of greens and certain veggies.

What a beautiful gardening journey you have @sunscape ! I can't wait to see the update very soon!🤗

 3 months ago  

Thank you for coming to watch my journey with the greenhouse and the gardens outside will be coming soon as well. Have a wonderful weekend.

Wow.Lovely garden. I love your pots.Wish I could have those kind of pots in my garden too

 3 months ago  

The tower gardens make great use of smaller space and allow for more planting. I hope you can find towers someday for yourself.

Today I started the storage onions, heliotrope, and some herbs. The season has begun!

 3 months ago  

Yay! Starting seeds always gets one excited for spring to arrive. Have fun!

Wow! You've been busy. All your plants are growing very well. Lots of harvest soon.
I would love to see your flowers budding making the butterflies very happy. What do you do with all your harvest? Are these for your own consumption or you sell them too?
You have a lot of seedlings so it means a lot of harvest too.

 3 months ago  

Your plant container is honestly adorable. Onions are easy to grow and don't require much fertilizer. ^_^

 3 months ago  

Thanks @kennyroy the tower gardens are perfect for greens, radishes, spinach, and herbs. I have two more that will be planted today, once I get out to the greenhouse. Have a wonderful weekend.

 3 months ago  

funny but I really can't grow spinach, it always dies. hahaha... I do not know what to do. ^_^

 3 months ago  

Spinach likes to be grown in cool temperatures and won't last long if the weather turns hot.