You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: July Garden Journal Challenge! -CLOSED THANKYOU

in HiveGarden2 years ago

The bears are out and so are these critters which are playing havoc with our bird feeders and some of our flower beds.
DSCF0021.JPG

We just purchased a trail cam to see what the heck was up. Now that we know I'll have to live trap them and relocate.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

What are they?? Racoons?? Pesky darn critters!!!

Pesky for sure, but I would imagine that most gardeners deal with critters of their own.

Many of the people that I follow from South Africa talk about it being impossible to keep the monkeys out of their gardens.
I would rather deal with the raccoons.

 2 years ago  

And here, rabbits and blackbirds. And in India, tigers -aaaaahhhhhh. I was just reading @kansuze's post about burying forks in the garden, tine side up, to deter them - have you heard of this trick?

I just recently read an article on the internet which had a dozen or so gardening tips and this one was mentioned.
I thought it was a pretty good idea. I have not tried this . What I thought may work a little better would be using those wooden skewers for grilling. They would disturb the plants a little less when putting them in the ground and they are very sharp.

I wonder if the fork idea would keep the tigers out of the garden?

 2 years ago (edited) 

I think it would, you'd just need really big forks :P and maybe run an electric wire between them....

good idea with the skewers! I've gone for rounds of chicken wire. Doesn't loook tooooo bad actually.

My day, every day:

'WHAT THE F0RKING FORKETY FORK ARE YOU DIGGING A HOLE THERE FOR YOU LITTLE....'

untitled.gif