Garden Journal - with sea view and mountain view

in HiveGarden2 years ago

We can smell the spring coming! The land is full of delicious wild greens, our citrus fruits are super productive and we become witnesses of all the plants and seeds waking up slowly.

This #gardenjournal is more of a trees journal. This is our olive grove, the one with the sea view. Honestly I can only be happy in this place. This is the time for olive trees pruning, so they had to be the opening of this post.

IMG_2320.jpg

IMG_2298.jpg

Food is all over our land. Wild herbs and greens.
In the first photo there is "lagoudofai", I can't imagine pies without this delicious plant!
Almost everything is edible, I really don't know where to walk :)

Herbs and colors! Food and joy!

Lupinus mutabilis growing everywhere only in this specidic field :) They are still very small. The fruits are delicious and their flowers are so beautiful!


We didn't expect of such a cold winter this year, we burned so much wood. But even now, we need the woodstove in the evenings as it gets quite chilly. And it's still February, so there is a lot of wood carrying through the paths in our little olive tree jungle almost every time we come.



And now we are going to the other olive grove, the one with the mountain view.
The almond trees are changing from day to day blossoming, and this field is fully covered by oxalis this time of year.

IMG_2390.jpg

IMG_2380.jpg

Here we have some citrus trees, too. The tangerine tree was spectacular under the hot winter sun. It rained a lot this year, so all fruits are juicy and as sweet as I want them! This tree is growing under a huge walnut tree (it must be more than 10 meters tall) that is now sleeping letting all the sunlight through its brunches reach the tangerine tree underneath.

IMG_2335.jpg

IMG_2336.jpg

Not so many oranges, but they are big and so tasty!

IMG_2342.jpg

At the same time the tree is blooming as well. This is one of my childhood's smells. I grew up in a place full of orange trees.

IMG_2349.jpg

The lemon tree also did her best. Although she is old and injured, she is loaded with lemons.

IMG_2340.jpg

IMG_2356.jpg

IMG_2402.jpg

Witnessing the magic of awakening.
The apricot tree has started stretching.

IMG_2347.jpg

And a wild fig tree already has a couple of tiny figs.

IMG_2361.jpg

Carobs like small bananas. Actually they are very small, 2-3 cm each, small babies.

IMG_2395.jpg

This is my favorite olive tree, in my eyes it is a humble entity, always calm and kind.

IMG_2374.jpg

And @fotostef while inspecting the area and catching me wondering around with the camera and not working hard :)

IMG_2406.jpg

The HiveGarden community is for sure one of my favorite communities here and this is my entry for the the FIRST GARDEN JOURNAL CHALLENGE FOR 2022.

I wonder if the winter has come in the garden of @bluemoon and how the passion flower is doing :)
I also need some more summer garden vibes, so I would like to invite @buckaroobaby that I am sure she has interesting stuff to share and @mrprofessor for some extra brazilian vibes :)



If you would like to know more about me this is my introduction post!

Sort:  

Congratulations @traisto! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 5
Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners
 2 years ago  

Thank you so much :)

You're welcome @traisto, nice motivation 😊👍

Your photographs are too amazing 👏 😍. Love the sea views, mountain and lovely greenery. Also Love this beautiful tangerines 🍊. I hope these taste will be delicious 😋 ❤.

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much @anusrimollick! They taste great, haha! This year is their best, I mean I am super excited! Maybe because we had a lot of rain and they loved it :) Thank you for stopping by!

Best wishes for your journey in hive

 2 years ago  

Thank you, that's really sweet! All the best to you, too!

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Delegations welcome!
Find our community here

DiscordIICuration Trail

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much @plantpoweronhive! Your support is highly appreciated :)

I am amazed at the beauty of this place! Undoubtedly it is a very good land, productive, with a great variety of plants. Beautiful pictures!

 2 years ago  

It feels beautiful to be in these olive groves :)
I truly believe in the power of variety in the plant community and I am so glad that you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for your beautiful comment!

I love how much you love this place! Where are you? It's so interesting to see citrus trees growing with more temperate deciduous trees.

 2 years ago  

Oh yes, lots of love and hard work are here :)
Crete, Greece! Almost everything grows here, from temperate plants to more tropical ones especially in the southern part of the island and in lower altitude. We are in the northern part, about 300 meters high.
It is always fascinating to see how different plants live together in harmony!
Thank you so much for your comment and support!

 2 years ago  

I love watching the trees awaken! I hope your hard work of preparing the soil gives you something this season

 2 years ago  

I also hope so, thank you @nikv! The weather was unexpectedly rainy and this is always good and promising this time of year!
I was surprised by the wild fig tree awakening so early, I love watching them, too - pure magic :)

I find your trees fascinating, as I can grow none of them here!

 2 years ago  

Oh, you grow ginger and pineapple, so I think you can grow pretty much everything :)
Even if it has to be indoors, it's wonderful what you have created!
Thank you @goldenoakfarm!

Beautiful! That shot of your olive grove with the ocean behind! WOW. What a special view @traisto. Must make work so much easier. Our olive grove looks across at the mountains - with our waterfall that we know will flow again

 2 years ago  

Oh yes, it does make work easier! We have the greatest picnics there :)
You look at a waterfall? I really hope it will flow soon! It must be dreamy!!!

Spring, oh it is so beautiful all those buds and the fruit. What a wonderful post. You got some great macro shots too.

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much Sara! I think I am getting a bit obsessed with the macro shots, haha! I love them!
And these buds, the beginning of a new era! The day is longer, everything looks and smells more hopeful and uplifting!

 2 years ago  

Stop it. Just stop it. I am consumed with jealousy. You guys live in paradise. Next you will be telling me about fresh cheese and wine. The only solution is to mute you both from the Garden Hive for being far too awesome. But I don't think it's a done thing.

I think I'm going to come and live with you both.

 2 years ago  

Ahahahahaha!

Come @riverflows, just come!!! We are thinking of a new project, maybe finding a bus and convert it in home, should we start looking for two??? We need your experience on this, yours and Jamie's, and your good company above all!

 2 years ago  

Ah yes we could help with that for sure!! We have much experience in converting buses and trucks into homes!! Oh , we can dream. My husband can't do HIVE but he knows all about you and would give his right arm to be there. Now, remind me, so I can tell him, where exactly are you? You can DM me via Insta if you don't want it on chain x

 2 years ago  

Northeast Crete! Our fields are around the village called Lastros, but there is no way we could fit a bus in the roads leading to them! So we are looking for land as well! And here comes the idea of moving to the South where the beaches are gorgeous and will still be within an hour distance from the olive groves. Still a draft plan, but feels quite close!

 2 years ago  

Amazing photos! Love seeing all the trees that we don't grow here. Those tiny bananas look adorable! :)
Greece is one of my favorite countries and I hope I'll get to visit again soon. <3

 2 years ago  

Thank you so much @nikolina!
The tiny banana-looking carobs are my favorite, too!

I hope you will be able to travel anywhere you wish soon! I have missed travelling so much! And we are pretty close :)

Oh, my God, what a beauty! You're probably saying now... it's easy to get so excited, not knowing how much work it takes to make this garden, to maintain it. I know, approximately, and I don't think I could do it if I were you. And that's why I admire you so much.
I can't believe that a week ago it was snowing and now you're picking oranges and tangerines!
I want to highlight the photos you take. They are very good and perfect for posting. The olive orchard, the view of the sea, wow how I love it!
Thanks for the tag and questions, it was both a surprise and a joy. The answers are here: People say this isn't a garden, it's a little yard!

 2 years ago  

Just saw this message :)

Oh yes, it takes a lot of work, but actually we never have managed to completely finish any work at the fields, haha, at least not on time! In the first years we were constantly anxious about this, then we heard the most experienced ones that said to each other that this work never ends, and we realised that this is the way these things work (and many other in life as well!) and we relaxed a little bit! Still trying not to forget it! You should keep it mind, too, since you are also a gardener! It is a neverending project!
And what an amazing garden! I think you really showed us what experimentation is!

I want to highlight the photos you take.

Thank you so much! The"models"were gorgeous and the view always helps:)

it was both a surprise and a joy.

I am sooo glad! I think you will find this community very ineresting :)

I know that's how they say this work is never done and I'm glad you've taken a more relaxed approach. Hard work I think destroys both the physical and the mental. I too had many years of hard work, our house burned down about thirty years ago and we rebuilt it with the help of our friends and hard work. During that time I smoked and drank a lot of alcohol, I felt that this way I was relaxing, or more precisely, it was a reason to take a break from work. Hard work because I was not qualified.

I know there are peak periods when certain activities have to be done at a certain time but otherwise I think it is good not to make a big effort.

 2 years ago  

That was tough... Having your house burned down, especially when you have a family, I can't even imagine how hard this is. But I totally understand how and why you were smoking and drinking a lot. I guess we have to go through the "wrong" way (I don't believe in wrong!) some times.

What I didn't comment on the post about your garden is how beautiful your house looked! After this story, it looks even more bright!!!

I know there are peak periods when certain activities have to be done at a certain time

Exactly! This year I learned not to forget how hard I had been working at a certain time for a certain work that had to be done, and enjoy without any guilt at all the free time when I have it!

I don't know if we necessarily have to go through the wrong side but we certainly make a lot of mistakes. Me, when I look back, I see that.
Thank you for liking the house, you know how it is, we let the best show... nothing special.
I remembered that @fotostef only posted once a month, back when farm work was so overwhelming. I meant that after going through many such experiences you definitely learn how to tackle the more demanding times, maybe find some help at work.... although there in the village, having somewhat similar activities, all the villagers are busier at the same time (fruit picking, digging the garden, oil production...)

... and enjoy without any guilt at all the free time when I have it!

That's how it's done, I'm glad it's happening!

 2 years ago  

Certainly not necessarily (at least in theory), but I also see it happening when I look back :)

you know how it is, we let the best show...

Hahaha! Yes, I know!

So true! When we mostly need help, everyone does :)

That's how it's done, I'm glad it's happening!

Through mistakes again, I learned it the hard way, but I did learn it!!!

I think it couldn't be otherwise!