Edelweiss in our garden

in HiveGardenlast year

P1550420.jpg

There has been a plant in our garden for several months that I am very happy about and I still can't believe that it is there.

It is a perennial Edelweiss.

P1550398.jpg

At first I tried to plant it from seed - but I was unsuccessful. Then I bought a seedling and planted it in the garden. They were just leaves without flowers, which at first withered and I thought that the plant would not survive, but what a pleasant surprise it was when little by little the plant began to develop and gradually grow.

This photo shows the new plant among the dead leaves.

garden_10-37.jpg

In about 20 days:

0-43.jpg

0-46.jpg

0-47.jpg

After another 10 days, additional flowers formed around the main flower.

edelvais_11-2.jpg

edelvais_11-5.jpg

edelvais_11-8.jpg

It is known that, the plant blooms in the summer months - that's when I saw it for the first time before years ago in Stara Planina, on peak The Dog, near hut Kozia stena. There, the altitude was 1660 meters, and the village where our garden is located is 9 meters above sea level.

These are pictures from a few days ago :

P1550395.jpg

P1550403.jpg

P1550409.jpg

P1550411.jpg

P1550413.jpg

Now the weather has cooled and I will follow its progress. Its species is cold hardy so I hope it does well in the winter months.

Thank you for stopping by!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @outlinez ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Amazing! How did you manage that? Or how did it? I thought they need some really high altitude. I hope it finds a way to last and be with you for years.

I decided to try, and since it didn't work out with seeds, I took a seedling and gave it the right conditions - strong light and draining soil 😇. And I hope we enjoy it for a long time 😍.

!BEER

to that!

Thank you @manoldonchev 🙂!

That is so great. I know of Edelweiss from a beautiful song in the Sound of Music.

🤗🎶🙂

Congratulations @vesytz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking