Garden Progress - The Journey of the grass

in HiveGarden2 years ago

20220218_181852.jpg

The sorry state of the back section of the grass next to the garage.

The Jorney of the Grass

It's been a while since I last posted about my garden. Last time, ai had just begun cleaning up the garden. The trees were wild and unkempt, like a teenager's hairdo, and the lawn was patchy, like a long haired uncle with a prominent bald spot.

On this post, I share my woes and triumph of getting a little bit more green, and my plan on getting greener still.

I do have a garden plan, busy formulating and drawing it up, because I need several little areas in this garden to be dedicated to different jobs... but more about that in the next gardening post.

For now we can focus on chatting about the grass. I seem to have two species of grass in my yard. One is a broad leaf variety that sticks close to the walls and under the trees. It has grown tall and rampant. After getting a little bit of a hack, they sprouted seeds, how strange.

20220218_181900.jpg

Here on the left we can see the tall grass at the back around the holes of the trees while nearer is the other variety. This grass has thinner leaves and comes out spindly when left to grow long.

20220218_181907.jpg

I have not had the time to do this right, but my composting heap has now left the big bucket and gone down to soil. This has made it far more manageable.

A little circle of life here, the bugs come for the kitchen scraps that are tumbled in with grass and other tree clippings, then the lizards and geckos come for the bugs. This is very welcome since I love these little guys! More geckos, less mosquitos!

I also think there is a cat that comes from a neighbor that is trying to eat my lizards! He or she is not welcome... also we have a bird who gets moved outside and we have seen this cat trying to make moves on the cage.

20220218_182038.jpg

One thing I am super proud of is that we have this massive tree in the backyard. Big enough for @merenludick to go climbing into. From where we were living before, with a tiny paved backyard to this... this is why I, as a parent am working so hard. It makes me so happy to have created a safe spot for my kids to play.

A tree to climb and look at all that running space! So stoked!

But then, we go back to the concept of grass and a good lawn. You need a nice lawn if you are going to have fun in the garden....

20220218_182118.jpg

Finally, there is this eye-sore. This little patch is the corner between the patio and the cement-block section that has now become the braai area.

With a bit of love, attention and water my hope is to revive the grass in the dead areas and with a bit of mowing and pruning, to tame the wild areas.

We also have some considerable dips and dinghies in the garden. A bit of flow is fine, but these are a bit too hectic. I dont need it to look like a golf course, but it should flow without having a chance of making you stumble.

So I started watering a few times a week. Not every day of course, but I watered well to make sure that the roots get the grass to reach down deep.

And now, a few weeks later:

20220306_170514.jpg

20220306_170516.jpg

20220306_170518.jpg

20220306_171606.jpg

The grass did its job! Closing up gaps, greener and happier. It makes me happier as well. It is not perfect yet, but look at how the patches are closing up!

I will have to mention that I used the steel fork(pitchfork) to stab and loosen the ground a bit first before watering. This also seemed to help a lot.

The only place that did not get prettier and greener was...

20220306_170457.jpg

This little corner never really got greener. I ended up clearing it out. I found then that it was also raised above the patio height which kind of explains why nothing grows there as all the water runs out of that dirt and the grass dies.

So I dug that out and threw the excess dirt into the biggest hollow patch in the garden that I want to level out.

I have plans for that patch right at the end, to turn into a vegetable patch so I chopped out a section of grass and transplanted it.

This first attempt may take but ai have a lot of new lawn that I can transplant still.

20220306_171823.jpg

I have so much more I want to do and I generally do not have a lot of time, but even with limited time, look at the progress a person can make.

The next step is to build a veggie garden, a proper composting system and improve the braai area.

Till next time.
Happy gardening!
@zakludick

zak_banner_brittandjosie.png

img_0.3319650127542638.jpg

Sort:  

I can see your lawn completely green in a couple of months! I had a similar situation with "bald spots" and also, one of the problems was that part of the yard didn't have the sun at all... So, planting 2 different types of seeds helped a lot! I didn't expect that my shady part of the lawn will be nicer than the sunny...

Good luck!


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project and it will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

Thank you. I am hoping that I get the whole lawn looking good. I would love to see it become a great and maintained play area.

Work on those lawns Zak! 😃

By the time I get done with them, you will see.

But they are healing!

lol cool, I will be on the look out for your progress. Nice spacious yard you've got there though.

Amazing work, seems like a lot of work but I know the outcome would be great.

Thank you. Getting there day by day.

Hopefully soon 😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @zakludick! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 35000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Haha transplant garden doctor , the outdoor space is a great extension to the home. Great on to the herb garden now 😉

Herbs and veggies!