Moto Vlogging - What's Working & What's Not! Sound & Audio

in Dual Sport Adventure3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hopefully I'm stepping up my game here. Shout out to @bil.prag for suggesting I try Davinci Resolve. Thank you, it was exactly what I was looking for! Now I just have to learn to use it.

So this video is a little raw but it was my first time editing in a new editor. I Davinci Resolve and for the most part I'm pretty happy with the results.

Being new to vlogging I thought it might be fun to do a video about what is working for me and what isn't. I talk a little about the CamPark 74A action cam and why it didn't really work out for me. I mention Purple Panda microphones and also talk a little about the Drift Ghost XL with sample clips of how these products worked or didn't work for me.

I did the editing in Davinci Resolve 17. I watched a couple tutorials on that other video platform, then learning just the basics I put this together. I'm really trying hard to up my game and content quality. This has been a huge learning experience.

I even worked on a thumbnail with a silly face and short description 🤣 It's official, I'm a vlogging Dood!

Right now, here's where I stand.
-- Bike tuned up and ready to go! ✔
-- Cameras seem to be working out OK. ✔
-- Video Editing Software ✔

Time to hit the road soon. I should have some new travel footage to share in the next couple weeks. I'm honestly hoping towards the end of next week.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

First time seeing the dood's face and you got me thinking about getting a webcam myself.

Then again, is there a way to use my phone as a webcam?

It would depend on how you want your audio. Its totally possible to use your phone as a cam. There are several apps to use that work great. You can even use an app called scrcpy if you're on Android.
Some of the newer phones have screen sharing builtin and a third party app isn't even needed.
You can also record on your phone then import it to pc and edit it there.
There is also an Android app called Vlogit that works awesome to even edit and render your videos right on your phone.
If you look in my videos on 3Speak. Every video I did where I was in the truck or out walking around was done on my OnePlus6T using Vlogit app.

I shoot almost everything with my phone. The best camera is the one you have with you

Yeah, I've used my phone as a webcam before. They actually work really well in that capacity. Many of the action cams can also be used as web cams from what I understand. There are a lot of options for web cams.

The videos looks great!
I keep seeing davinci resolve pop up in my feed. Thinking I might have to give it another look myself.
But I need a machine to run it better. So baby steps for me, lol.

Great software so far. I'm really liking it. Video editing was one of the reasons I bought the new computer this year. The old laptop just couldn't handle it anymore.

I would think that audio on a motorcycle would be difficult to achieve. In my experience, the off brand cameras are pretty garbage for serious action footage. Unfortunately GoPro is the way, lol.

In my experience, the off brand cameras are pretty garbage for serious action footage. Unfortunately GoPro is the way, lol.

Yeah, it's looking that way. I'm happy with the Drift so far, but I'm thinking a GoPro might be a good idea for next summer.

for the sound, setup that you did is probably the best that you can (maybe better mic would do more)
for video stabilizing, last few years go pro is the way to go. they are doing crazy things with stabilization.
this is at this time probably only possible with go pro


especially with out some really heavy post process stabilization

I think next spring I'm going to look into a Go Pro. Thanks for the help and feedback. Much appreciated!

Yeah my buddy is a drone pilot and swears by the GoPro too. He tried the cheaper camera when he was learning so he wouldn’t worry so much about losing it or trashing it, but quickly said screw it and went with the GoPro because they would break easily and the quality sucked.

Write that shit off as a business expense! Lol

Really, I guess I could at this point. Thanks.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

All these just to get a decent video? It shows that creating video content is not a joke.

I'm glad that you've got stuff that work for you. A good sound and quality camera will always be a step up to vloggers.

I also got some low quality gigs for indoor video making. I would be starting my Vlogging journey this weekend.

Good luck on your vlogging journey. I've got a whole new respect for vloggers now that I see everything they have to do to get decent content. There is a lot of work involved. Editing takes so much time. It's also a lot funner than I thought it would be though.