Hive Blog 4: Inviting Christmas Spirit in your house?

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago (edited)

Hi hivers 😊!

Let me give you a tour on what's new here at Greenbelt Mall. This time around when Christmas is coming, we have a Bazaar of Filipino handicrafts. It is located at the stage at Greenbelt 5, 2nd Floor.

IMG_20211117_165154.jpg

This is what I like about Ayalamalls where I work because they are helping to promote Filipino crafts and art. It is one week event starting on Monday up until Sunday so if you are near please visit and support our local merchants. As you can see here, we have lots of Christmas trees. Filipino homes are mostly decorated when the 'ber' months comes. As we can tell, Christmas starts from September until January here. We love lights and colors of green, red and golds or anything that you like. Since our Christmas tree is not a real tree we can use any colors that we like. I have seen red, pink and gold and white. Most of us stayed at home longer now, perhaps you can try to give a space for something that can left up some spirits, bringing Christmas spirit by putting up lights and some of these pieces.

Well of course, we can be creative in our own. When we are kids or at school, we are thought to do these things. We make 'parol' and Christmas trees out of the things we see on our sorroundings. We used bamboo for the frames of stars and have it covered with coconut meshes and leaves. We can use grasses, twigs and plastics and shimmering and colorful foils or papers.

IMG_20211117_164504.jpg
A parol is a Filipino ornamental lantern displayed during the Christmas season. Parols are traditionally constructed using bamboo and Japanese paper, and are illuminated with candles, oil lamps, or carbide lamps.- Wikipedia

We've been through tough times, and these crafts are may boost and help us see a brighter sides of things. Usually, decorating a home of Christmas decors is like a tradition of every homes. It is a family bonding that we are always looking forward to when we are kids. I think you know what I mean about the feeling of putting up Christmas balls and lights of the tree and finally the socks and to the top where the star is. Star is where you wishes and at the bottom is where the gift boxes which you can only open on the 12:00 am of 25th December.

I guess the kids are the most excited during Christmas. I mean yes, I was. Today, I couldn't remember why I had those feelings of great happiness and joy. The excitement of this time when I was young is way different today. As wish I can be as humbling as kids are. Anyways, through these decors I see on malls, and on Streets where I pass through. The lights on the buildings are reminding me to smile and be happy no matter how things are. Time to celebrate life and truly not forget what Christmas really is.

Feel free to read my previous post.
My Hive Intro
Hive Blog1:The right to vote requires dedication.
Hive Blog 2: Open for kiddos
Hive Blog 3: Today is 11.11, now, what?

See you on the next one. Peace✌️
Clips for keeps:


243zgAbf8RkTwQ7iuiyq8DkGdKc2Rpu2abNjpND835zdS361NMVcj6sJFofooj6vopVy2.png

About me.

She a Virgo who believes God is the author of everything and all is about grace, writing about her point of view on life. Trying her best to bloom where she is planted. Hoping the best for everyone.

Sort:  

Yes, that's what most people look forward to in malls and it's a good thing. Not just to see but also encouraging people to come in the malls and you can say it's part of marketing.

 2 years ago  

We Filipino like malls, right? Basta naay monar.hahah

 2 years ago  

It's that time of the year, and after living abroad in Buddhist Cambodia for many years, sometimes I get nostalgic for Christmas. Well, this year will land me in the USA for Christmas perhaps, it all depends on the visa situation in Cambodia.

Either way, even I can't stay for Christmas, the mood is in the air long before.

 2 years ago  

I have read about the visa thing. It's quiet an ordeal, I hope you will get that soon.

Christmas is one of the important holiday here for families get together. That's why people like me who works away and not able to go home feel homesick during this time.

I hope the best for you and your family.

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Congratulations @amayphin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 2 years ago  

Ganda - good thing that malls are now placing decors. Greenbelt 5 hmmmm... Makati ba to? Kakaunti parin ba ang mga tao ngayon sa mall even if the lockdown has been lifted?

 2 years ago  

Yes sa Makati ito. So far nag improve na Ang foot traffic. Bukas na rin karamihan ang restaurants.

Hello @amayphin! What a lovely, enlightening post. A bazaar of Filipino handicrafts is something fun and interesting to look forward to. I agree Christmas decorations is one part of the season I enjoy with my family!

A lot of work must have gone into all these arts and craft. Thanks for showcasing them and sharing a bit of your culture with us. 😊

 2 years ago  

Hi @kemmyb😊, I am glad that you enjoyed the tour. Family bonding decorating a Christmas tree is something to look forward in this season.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more