Hive blog 73: How about looking sea shells in the morning?

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY7 months ago (edited)
Its a brand new day and month in this Sunday morning. Lets come for a walk at the sea shore here at Lapulapu coast where locals are eager to come when there will be low tide.

IMG_20231001_082514.jpg

We had this plan at out the workplace on weekdays. Some suggested for 'panginhas',means picking shells early morning. My colleagues live near so they know how to get there. They are the real Islander. As of me, I live far from the shore so this experience excites me when they were suggesting it. Today is the day, we bring some cooked rice to pair the catch.

I always like to walk in the sand at sea which happens once in a blue moon, that is why talking about going to the sea early morning has a kick to my thoughts. I didn't hesitate though I don't know what to expect.

IMG_20231001_074015.jpg

When we arrive at the shore from not so distant highway, there were many people on the horizon, they look so tiny because of how far the low tide is. They are looking down with a bag in hand. It is visible that there are really something in the slightly shallow water. Shells that are edible. They walk slowly and pick, put it in the bag. They go wherever direction in this wide shore. Remembering how they know there is low tide, I am amazed how the calendar is accurate about the time. We are being aware for the time to come and stay in there.

IMG_20231001_082646.jpg

We are not only there for a shell picking, we have our breakfast. We have some grilled tamban fish, that Kuya Dodong bought from the market. Eating in the shore together is always satisfying. I don't know why. We have cooked ripe banana for a snacks while walking in the sand.

I enjoy every moment, while taking my best photos for the day. This is what local people do, not for all though. As for me, this is the way to learn the place I come to embrace. Being with people who loves a little bit of adventure as a break for work and busy lives. It maybe some kind leisure for me at this Sunday morning, but for some who lives near the sea where they make money out from picking shells, my salute to you. I could only eat shells we bought from the market or served by the restaurants. Today, I only watch people and my friends while walking and picking. I smiled to the five shells that I add to the plate as I recognize that it is.

IMG_20231001_074502.jpg
We have some smoke going for the tamban fish.

IMG_20231001_072720.jpg
My friends clean the fish for kinalaw. They have to debone it for the kids.

IMG_20231001_072918.jpg
The happiest on this adventure is none other than the kids. Looking at how they are so excited, my heart is full. The smiles and chuckles are contagious. Play and play to their hearts contents. Good thing it is cloudy, it isn't hot when the sun is up.

As the tide comes slowly and winds blowing in, it signals that we have to go already. People starting disappear while we stay for a little swim. We also have to eat our tinola yet and foods before coming home. Until, that water has covered all the sands. We pick our bags and lift it high because the water is already waist high, off to the end of the shore.

That is all friends.
See you on the next one, bye.

Images are mine taken with Vivo 1901, for my use only.

Sort:  
 7 months ago  

I remembered this during my childhood days, we sometimes went to the shore to catch fish together with my Family, we also make "Kinilaw" dish and ate our lunch at the coast. ☺️☺️

That cute little boy was having a lot of fun time playing at the white sand.

 7 months ago  

Thank you, its always fun to be a kid.

 7 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

I've always wanted to do this but just didn't know how to. What time is best to do this kind of activity?

 7 months ago (edited) 

Have to check first when will be the low tide on your calendar or on your local weather forecast.

Congratulations @amayphin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP