Mundane Life | Simple Joy - Home Celebration for My Son's 10th Birthday

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY4 months ago

Now that both of my kids are back in school, things are getting back to normal before another break in February. I might not be able to post here on HIVE as often because my days are getting busier. I'll do my best to be here when I have time. It's easier now that I've stopped using most social media, so I'm less distracted. Let's see how it goes.

My son will turn 10 on Tuesday, January 16, but we already celebrated his birthday over the weekend on Sunday.

Just a few days before his birthday, I asked him what he'd like for his special day. His response warmed my heart - he wished for sushi, cheesecake, a homemade meal, and some candies. My kids are truly blessings, and despite being young, they are remarkably considerate. He understood that we couldn't have extravagant celebrations, and even though he could have asked for expensive gifts, he chose simple things that we could afford and manage.

We made sure to make his wishes come true and took him out for a simple sushi lunch on Sunday. We got several trays of sushi, and he happily enjoyed most of them. His joyful smile was the best part of my day.

Later on, after lunch, we went grocery shopping and picked up a medium-sized cheesecake for my son. I'm not much of a baker, so a store-bought cake had to do, and he seemed pretty happy with it 😅

1.jpg

My husband, @rencalson, volunteered to make a special dinner for the family, and I gladly let him take over the kitchen. He doesn't cook often, so I was pleasantly surprised when he offered. It felt like a special treat since I'm usually the one cooking every day. While he was busy in the kitchen, I spent the rest of the afternoon watching a documentary on Netflix, and the kids enjoyed their online games with their friends.

2.jpg

For dinner, he whipped up mashed potatoes and a unique fish dish. I'm not sure what it's called, but it didn't matter because it tasted really good. I made sure to compliment the chef, hoping it would encourage him to cook more often in the future 😆.

3.jpg

My daughter flashed a sweet and gentle smile as I took her picture.

4.jpg

Before dinner, I presented my son with his cake, adorned with a lit birthday candle waiting for him to make a wish. We joyfully sang the birthday song before he blew out the candle. I could tell he was extremely happy ❤️

5.jpg

That's how we celebrated my son's 10th birthday. It might not have been extravagant, but I'm thankful that I could make his simple birthday wishes come true. I'm also grateful that he completed another trip around the sun 😃. Happy 10th birthday, Neville, I love you so much 😘🍰🎂🍣❤️


That's it for now. If you read this far, thank you. I appreciate it so much! Kindly give me a follow if you like my content. I mostly write about making art, life musing, and our mundane yet charming family life here in Klang Valley, Malaysia.

Note: All images used belong to me unless stated otherwise.

Thank you for visiting and reading my post. I hope you like it!


I currently accept pencil portrait commissions. I'll draw a pencil sketch of your close-up portrait and deliver it to you digitally (high-resolution JPG and PNG files).

Check out my Fiverr gig for more details.

header.jpg

Sort:  
 4 months ago  

Happiest birthday to your son! 🎊🎉
Your kids look really adorable. And maybe since you say good words about your husband's cooking, he will be inspired to cook often compared to before. 😁

 4 months ago  

Thank you. Yes, I hope this will inspire my husband to be in charge of preparing more meals 😅

 4 months ago  

Goodluck! 😆 My partner isn't used to cooking, so I guess I should teach him too.

Awww happy birthday to your son.
For you to be able to make his wishes come true, you are an amazing mother.

 4 months ago  

Thank you so much! As a mother, I try my best for the kids 😅

 4 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ