You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More immigration asshole-ery in Thailand

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITYlast year (edited)

The more popular places probably do present a higher degree of issues. Plus they have to deal with more 'less than steller' tourists and such.

The embassy in LA won't even talk to Americans! Seriously, if you try to call, you get a recording telling you to use the website and the e-Visa system.

The only means of contact is through email, and even that is very limited. I have never got a direct answer to a question. It gets very aggravating.

Thanks for the upvotes! It is appreciated.

Sort:  
 last year  

'less than steller' tourists

You got that right. While I haven't exactly been here for ages I do see the behavior of some of my farang brethren and I am embarrassed for them. It reflects negatively on all of us!

I have contemplated moving to a less high profile area but before I do that I would likely need to dramatically improve my Thai language skills. I'm very basic as it stands now.

Where I am there are 2 people (just talked to another Thai today) besides myself that speak English. My Thai is worse than basic! 😆

But I am about as remote/rural as you can get. I recommend that people look around, maybe stay a few weeks at a hotel, before deciding they might want to try this. It's not for everyone!

And yeah, there are times when I see an American doing things here that makes me want to adopt a Canadian accent or something so I won't be compared to them. But it is ALL Nationalities that can be that "less than steller" farang.