You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More immigration asshole-ery in Thailand

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITYlast year

'less than steller' tourists

You got that right. While I haven't exactly been here for ages I do see the behavior of some of my farang brethren and I am embarrassed for them. It reflects negatively on all of us!

I have contemplated moving to a less high profile area but before I do that I would likely need to dramatically improve my Thai language skills. I'm very basic as it stands now.

Sort:  

Where I am there are 2 people (just talked to another Thai today) besides myself that speak English. My Thai is worse than basic! 😆

But I am about as remote/rural as you can get. I recommend that people look around, maybe stay a few weeks at a hotel, before deciding they might want to try this. It's not for everyone!

And yeah, there are times when I see an American doing things here that makes me want to adopt a Canadian accent or something so I won't be compared to them. But it is ALL Nationalities that can be that "less than steller" farang.