Church of the Immaculate Conception Pulau Tikus

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

First of all, I would like to point out, Pulau Tikus is name of an area. Pulau in Malay is island, whereas Tikus is mouse. To properly translate it, it should be rat island. Note that despite this place located in Penang Island, the area is not "the island". It's just a small commercial area at the slightly north east of the island. The church is one of the significant icon of that area, and we had a chance to attend mass and take some photos to share with you.

The church was founded in 1811 and is the second oldest church in the diocese after Church of Assumption in the Penang Island. I have visited that part of the town couple of years back, just before the pandemic took place. I'm glad I had took the Ferri one last time before they remove the service. If you're interested on the other older church, here's a quick link to the post from 3 years ago.

We were there slightly late, just 5 minutes shy from the starting. By the time we stepped into the building, opening hymns was already in progress, we had to stay at the back of the church and wait for it to finish before we proceed to sit at the 1st floor of the church. Frankly, this is the first time I have a chance to sit at the special placement of the church. Never in my life going to the 1st floor of a church, and it's such a unique experience. The view is absolutely amazing for a first timer!

For the first time I have a chance to see the stained glass at such near distance. I wish I can touch it, to find out if each different colored glass are melted into one piece? Or they're attached together with special resins. No I'm not an art guy, I'm just curious how they made a piece of glass with so many different colours.

The church has been updated with air conditioning. We didn't get to enjoy the coolness as they didn't switch on. There's windows and wasn't feeling too warm at all with fan blowing enough fresh air. Each row of the long chairs has a picture of a saint in the middle. Believe it was used to separate the congregation for "social distancing" yo. No I didn't ask the parishioners the actual usage of those laminated saint photos, I'm just guessing it with my common sense.

There's 4 of these concrete slabs on the pillars at the main entrance. I was going to take photo of all of them, but then there's too many people hangout at the front after mass ended. I guess that will do, not many of us will know their names anyways.

After the mass, we're ready to meet up with my friend Luke for dinner. Restaurant is right next to the church, so we're not too worry if we can make it on time. However, after a long wait, there's still a lot of crowd at the church, so this is the best I can capture and decided will be back for a clearer photo after the dinner.

After the dinner, we're on our way walking back to the hotel and here's the clearer picture of the church. I guess Penang municipal does a good job in preserving these historical buildings.

Standing further and adjusted for a wide screen. Noticed the lens of my phone camera is a little blurry and I think I can't do much about it. Probably scratch marks on the lens causes it, but that doesn't affect how cool looking this church is.


The next day, home minister decided she wanna come here to attend morning mass one more time, since the one we had the day before was late. I was with the kids at the hotel to arrange breakfast for them, and later I walked myself there to meet her up for breakfast. The above picture taken at the backyard of the church, and Gurney Plaza can be seen from here.

Another extra shot from the back of the church to complete this visitation.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @storiesoferne ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I know pulau tikus and i used to go there for my "he mi" 虾面 when I was in Penang between 88 to 94. I missed the food a lot and also the people and friends there as well as places of interest.
however no longer those year when I was there, no traffic jam, no problem in looking for parking space.
all the best to you. cheers

 2 years ago  

謝謝馮博士。世界在不停變遷,90年代末我也曾經在那裡溜達過一段時間,只是現實不讓我們再回到過去。幸好,蝦麵還是一樣美味,炒粿條依然飄香。只是用不同的價錢回味過去的口味。

I guess that you are a Catholic. The church looks very beautiful.

 2 years ago  

Wife is, and I'm like that she is 🙂 gonna plan for a Sarawak trip

Do let me know if you are coming to Kuching.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

 2 years ago  

Beautiful place, the loft up top reminds me of where I used to try and hide during the one-hour sermon. Tic-tac-toe used to get me through, and or accidentally falling asleep. There is something so soothing about the choir, as soon as they start singing, it's light out for me 😴.

I just remembered, this would've been a good post for the temple tours challenge, but it just ended this afternoon. Anyhow, I know you'd probably say "let the other ASEAN Hivers shine in these challenges." What a tragic end for the saint, tortured and beheaded.

 2 years ago  

Eh! You did give me the picture of saints were be headed there 😂 I actually quite enjoy hearing the choir and these Fr give talks that is so down to earth.

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ