People of the Mist: Anomaly

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago (edited)

A beyond the world

For our general knowledge, we used to study a lot about Red Cross, Red Crescent, Rescue Committee, United Nations, and all those International NGOs having no literal regard for what really they are.
Because those International things seemed like almost unworldly, another universe which is beyond my grasp

The general knowledge always resolved around the Headquarters or the president, or when the NGO had formed, sometimes a little background history.
I remember confusing the timing between Coffee Anan with Ban Ki Moon and was often scolded by the teacher; while wondering what on bleeding earth good this knowledge will do in my life!
(Well, even after working with them this whole time, I still think the same)
Never in my wildest imagination I had thought I would end up working with the International-NGOs!

Humanitarian crisis worker

As I said before, our job as "Humanitarian crisis workers" is not JUST a job. It requires many times "extra" of everything than a normal job.
Extra energy.
Additional efforts.
More attention.
And of course, having no regard for time!
And along with our usual skill, competency, and all. With that professional requirement, we also need an unforeseen amount of mindset adjustment.
That was my first time facing a refugee crisis while I just turned into a professional.
The sudden, massive, influx of forcefully displaced people entering our country, almost without an alarm or moment to be prepared.

Abrupt turn after Graduation

That was the time when I had only graduated and was in the middle of my internship.
Needless to say, it is a crucial time for every university graduate.
Suddenly feeling like becoming groundless, sinking in a vague, numbing, black hole, loitering in bewilderment of "what to do now!?"
And it weighs down more when you are aspired to do something different, you desire to use your unusual skills, competence, or knowledge somewhere relevant and not in a cliche, boring choice.

Also, as happens with Asian parents, they will try to grow you like a poultry-chicken all your life.
Then forthwith graduation, suddenly you become the breadwinner of the family, regardless of their Gender I tell you (especially if you are the eldest one, I absolutely feel you folks)!

Anyway, so I practically was hoovering into the corner of my room, pretending to be invisible while struggling to find a job. Salary doesn't matter, opportunities either or anything. I was in all desperation of leaving the unbearable atmosphere of home.
To make it worse, most of my batch mates had already started with something here and there.
But damnation to my everlasting preference, I can comprise with salary, designation, environmental... almost anything that is materialistically alluring from a job.
In return?
I desired one sole thing, that no matter what, the job cannot be boring.

Confronting a Refugee crisis

And the crisis during that time was much more massive than ever before which is not very nice news for anyone.
Yet, I consider myself immensely fortunate to be able to experience such an event that is almost considered a once in a lifetime.
Needless to say, I have always been an unusual person amidst my flock and I even do not mind being labeled as an anomaly!

And then one fateful day, I received a phone call!
Fahmida? I am '....', from MSF (Medicines Sans Frontieres) We would like to invite you for an interview for the position, '.....'? Are you available?

Well, they say according to quantum physics, your sole desires are connected with a natural force that attracts the compatibilities towards each other.
At least I believe it with my life. Most of what my only groundless fascination, which should never be in my grasp I attained it all!
At some point, my own desired accomplishment started to scare me!

Sort:  

Very intense writing. Great experience.Your future is bright.😇

Thank you very much 😊