No durian in the building!

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

If you live in the west you probably have no idea about this fruit. I know that I had never heard of it until I moved to South East Asia and it is considered a delicacy by many, disgusting by others. There are many different types of it just like there are many different kinds of bananas, which was also something I was unaware of when I lived back in North America.

Durian is a special fruit though in the way that love it or hate it, there is no denying that it is extremely pungent. Some would say that it smells really bad.


image.png
src

I'm more of a take it or leave it type of guy. If this is offered to me I will eat it but I am not going to go out of my way to acquire it. I have always wondered why almost all hotels have a sign somewhere in the establishment that bans their guests from bringing it into the hotel and in the past week I found out exactly why that is.


image.png
src

Almost every hotel I have been to in South East Asia has the usual No Smoking signs, which I think is understood basically globally at this point but here they also are adamant about no one bringing durian in. We have no such sign at our place but out of curiosity and took a look in our rental agreement and sure enough, it is in there buried in that middle part that I didn't read before signing it.

Someone in our building brought some durian into the building 6 days ago. I do not know who did it or how much of it that they had but now the entire building, which is 10 stories tall, absolutely reeks. It is a terrible smell and I don't know what makes durian so special, but the cleaners have been mopping and spraying air freshener for days now and the smell remains. I have been told by the landlord that it just is going to take a while for the smell to go away over time. I have noticed that it is fading a bit with each day that passes.

They also passed out free gel air fresheners for our condos. These things cost a couple dollars each and there are at least 30 condos here, so I would imagine that the owner is not very pleased about the person who violated the no durian rule. There is now a sign in the lobby that is prominently featured that says "No Durian Allowed!"

I knew this stuff smelled bad but I always though the ban on it from the premises was kind of an over reaction on the part of the property owners. I can no attest with 1st hand knowledge that there is a very real reason for them to have this hardline stance towards the green and yellow fruit!

There's just something about it that lingers and will not go away.


image.png

I think the $1000 fine is a bit excessive but I now know there is a very real reason behind why a hotel would be so aggressive about preventing people from bringing it in. There are only a couple of things that I have ever experienced in my life that have a worse smell than this.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Haha, I now understand too. I've seen these signs often but, like you, I had no idea the stench lasted for so long.

 2 years ago  

this is a new experience for me as well. For the most part people will abide by the rule and eat the stinky fruit outside on the benches they have out there.

Lol. I have seen it hanging up in stores in South London, but never actually smelled it. Durian has a reputation and I take your word for it that it is really bad. Still I would like to try some out of curiosity.

 2 years ago  

You should try it and be open minded. It is tough to believe that something that smells that strong would actually taste good but millions upon millions of people think that it does.

This is one of my favorite fruits, Durian. During the durian season, I usually stay at a friend's durian garden. 😃

I only eat durian candy.

 2 years ago  

That i have had and I agree that it is pretty good. It is very unique in its taste.

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 2 years ago  

I'm one those weirdos that likes the smell but not the taste, and it has never seemed like an extreme smell to me. However, everyone is different, and this is one of those funky body chemistry things. In our former restaurant, I used to finish nearly every one of my Indian dishes with fresh coriander until a significant minority of customers said they didn't like the taste of it.

Some research on the internet led to me learning that coriander tastes like dish soap to 10 to 15% of people, so it was sadly bye-bye coriander after that factoid. Sucks cause that is still my favorite herb to this this day. Durian rules are pretty lax here, never seen a prohibition sign of any kind, even seen people eat durian in taxis and buses 👃.

 2 years ago  

Some research on the internet led to me learning that coriander tastes like dish soap to 10 to 15% of people

This is exactly what it tastes like to me. I avoid it whenever possible. Sometimes I'll end up with a soup that has just a little bit of it and to me it ruins the taste of all that is around it.

Dear @gabe.radke, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago when the HBD stabilizer proposal rose above it.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

All votes are helpful and yours will be much appreciated.
Thank you!