You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No durian in the building!

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

I'm one those weirdos that likes the smell but not the taste, and it has never seemed like an extreme smell to me. However, everyone is different, and this is one of those funky body chemistry things. In our former restaurant, I used to finish nearly every one of my Indian dishes with fresh coriander until a significant minority of customers said they didn't like the taste of it.

Some research on the internet led to me learning that coriander tastes like dish soap to 10 to 15% of people, so it was sadly bye-bye coriander after that factoid. Sucks cause that is still my favorite herb to this this day. Durian rules are pretty lax here, never seen a prohibition sign of any kind, even seen people eat durian in taxis and buses 👃.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Some research on the internet led to me learning that coriander tastes like dish soap to 10 to 15% of people

This is exactly what it tastes like to me. I avoid it whenever possible. Sometimes I'll end up with a soup that has just a little bit of it and to me it ruins the taste of all that is around it.