Sushi restaurant in Da Nang burns to the ground in the night

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 months ago

I have previously been quite critical of this place in an article where I stated that I don't think the owners actually give a damn about this place anymore. Well if they did, they certainly don't now because there is nothing left of it.

They had been experiencing rather extreme drops in business with the arrival of several sushi restaurants in the area that do much better food, so it wouldn't surprise me if this was an intentional burning for insurance purposes, if that sort of thing even exists in this country.


image.png
Image captured from a friend's balcony at their condo

I am a bit suspicious when anything is able to burn this badly in Da Nang because everything is built out of cement, which you might be aware is a little difficult to start on fire. The timing of the fire, being in the middle of the night and all, is also quite suspicious.


image.png
still taken from a video taken by a friend

There was a video of the entire thing and while you can't see it I liked there was a guy there with the garden hose and a small plastic bucket. Yeah, that's not how extinguishing out of control blazes works unfortunately. At least they were trying to do something so good on them for trying to help.

Something else that is a bit concerning is that here in Da Nang we are constantly annoyed by fire department drills where they will get entire condo buildings, including my own along with my laundry that is out to dry. These drills are unannounced and will just happen all over the city on certain days and I can only guess that this is to make sure the hydrants work as well as the equipment on the trucks.

According to a friend who owns the business directly next door to Fune (the now burned down sushi place) it took the fire department more than 40 minutes to even arrive on the scene. I guess this would be ok if the fire department was on the other side of town and there was gridlocked traffic but it is only a few km away from here and it was in the middle of the night when the blaze started.

Could it be that this burn was planned and the fire department intentionally stayed away?


image.png
again, photo taken by a friend

So now this is all that remains of Fune, the restaurant that has been slowly failing more and more as the years went by. I guess I'm happy that nobody died or was even hurt, but it is extremely suspicious that this happened at all. I don't know how fire investigations work in this country but there doesn't appear to be very much left to even sift through.

The downside is that the neighboring businesses were actually doing quite well but now they have to close for a while to repair the damage to their own establishments.

Sort:  

Must have been all the congealed fat that you don't find in a sushi restaurant that caught fire. This does mot make any sense unless it was planned which then makes more sense.

I hear lots of intentional burnings in my place too. Most businesses are near bankruptcy and burn down the establishment to get use of their insurances

 2 months ago  

yeah, it's an old insurance trick. The problem in this situation is that the business owner didn't actually own the building so they wouldn't have been covered by the insurance anyway. I wonder if they quietly moved all of their expensive things out before the blaze started.

The fire may have been a tragic accident and attributing malicious intent to the owners without evidence is unfair.

 2 months ago  

I guess there is some merit to what you are saying but the thing is that I have seen other fires that were quickly responded to and put out long before there was any damage. This fire went on a for a very long time before the fire department got there and all I am saying is that it is very suspicious since fire response is normally extremely fast here.

 2 months ago  

That will be a great challenges facing with that store owner, particularly for financial problem. This can be prevented if the fire trucks arrive immediately.

 2 months ago  

well, like I said, I think this was a setup because the fire trucks took a very long time to get there.

 2 months ago  

🤣🤣 We will wait for their results of investigations if they working it. 🤣🤣

 2 months ago  

I don't think they really do that in Vietnam... haha

 2 months ago  

I know this place, it sucked... since no one was hurt I am glad it is gone. I just hope they don't build some gigantic high rise in the place where the building once was.

 2 months ago  

apparently they have re-opened elsewhere already. I don't know what to think now!

 2 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 2 months ago  

Hmm...does smell a little fishy, probably literally and figuratively. I don't know how the insurance works there or in Thailand, but I know people with Cambodian cars and motos face a lot of bureaucracy to enter either country. Thailand and Vietnam both require road insurance, registering the car at a customs police posts, and several other steps like checking for a license, ownership papers, etc.

Here in Cambodia you can just drive over with little concern from the government. I've always wanted a Thai or Vietnamese registered bike because the government just ignores these bikes in traffic stops where they check for ownership cards, road tax, and anything else they could earn an extra buck from. As a foreigner you can just say you're just over for few days vacation from the country the bike is plated in, and they usually give and let you go.

I'm always suprised at how buildings burn here so quickly, especially when so many apartment buildings are made from concrete, glass, and steel. I guess it's the paint and wooden furniture that burns. I wonder if this place had a big propane tank that exploded.....there was fire once here in our village at a vendor's house, and we all gathered round and watched the mini stove cartridges blow up one by one, and eventually the big propane tank burst, pretty epic, all happened during the middle of a rainstorm ironically.

 2 months ago  

Hmm...does smell a little fishy, probably literally and figuratively.

Good one!

Propane could be the cause I guess or at least that would be what it is blamed on. In my own condo there are loads of fire suppression sprinklers everywhere including inside of my own living room over my computers and other electronics. I'm a little concerned about what would happen to my gear if a fire started like 10 floors away from my unit.

 2 months ago  Reveal Comment
 2 months ago  

we appear to have enough fire fighting equipment here and since it was at relatively late at night there would be no excuse from traffic or anything like that. I really think that this was an intentional burn and the fire department knew it was going to happen and intentionally turned up very late in order to let it burn down.