You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sushi restaurant in Da Nang burns to the ground in the night

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 months ago

Hmm...does smell a little fishy, probably literally and figuratively. I don't know how the insurance works there or in Thailand, but I know people with Cambodian cars and motos face a lot of bureaucracy to enter either country. Thailand and Vietnam both require road insurance, registering the car at a customs police posts, and several other steps like checking for a license, ownership papers, etc.

Here in Cambodia you can just drive over with little concern from the government. I've always wanted a Thai or Vietnamese registered bike because the government just ignores these bikes in traffic stops where they check for ownership cards, road tax, and anything else they could earn an extra buck from. As a foreigner you can just say you're just over for few days vacation from the country the bike is plated in, and they usually give and let you go.

I'm always suprised at how buildings burn here so quickly, especially when so many apartment buildings are made from concrete, glass, and steel. I guess it's the paint and wooden furniture that burns. I wonder if this place had a big propane tank that exploded.....there was fire once here in our village at a vendor's house, and we all gathered round and watched the mini stove cartridges blow up one by one, and eventually the big propane tank burst, pretty epic, all happened during the middle of a rainstorm ironically.

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

Hmm...does smell a little fishy, probably literally and figuratively.

Good one!

Propane could be the cause I guess or at least that would be what it is blamed on. In my own condo there are loads of fire suppression sprinklers everywhere including inside of my own living room over my computers and other electronics. I'm a little concerned about what would happen to my gear if a fire started like 10 floors away from my unit.