Moving to a new apartment... in the same building!

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY9 months ago

For the past 2+ years I have been living in a rather small condo. I moved here before the covid lockdowns in order to be in a building that my friends lived in because we had heard news that we weren't going to be allowed to so much as leave our buildings. It was a good thing that I acted when I did because the rumors turned out to be true and it was a bit of a nightmare not being able to so much as walk outside the front door. Thankfully, I knew several of the people in this building and we would meet regularly on the rooftop pool area for drinks and socializing, the fact that the building had its own gym gave us something else to pass the time as well.

I knew I was moving into a rather small apartment and I just took it on the chin until recently where I finally had the opportunity to move into one of the end units in my building.

I am not going to move out of this condo because I have a dog and not very many places will allow that. They make no differentiation between a dog that basically just sleeps all day like Nadi, and a wild shiftless Rottweiler.

The new place is still actually quite small by my standards but it is actually significantly larger than the one I just moved from.


image.png

My apologies for the mess but even though I was only moving one floor inside the same building it took a long time to get it done and I didn't feel like organizing anything. I will get that sorted out over the next couple of days.

image.png

The same is true with the very dark bedroom that I made dark by closing all the curtains. Some people really value natural light and this place has it in spades but seeing as how I would prefer my place not to be a million degrees, I keep the curtains closed during the day and I am quite certain I will do the same at night.


image.png

Unfortunately this brings me even closer to the construction noise but the windows in this new unit are even higher quality than the ones in my old unit so I will be ok with dealing with that. I can barely hear it even though it is essentially right outside my balcony.


image.png

The bathroom is small but functional and honestly, I could do without the bathtub and would prefer if they just had a nice shower that drained on to the floor. I am substantially larger than the average Vietnamese person so even if I wanted to take a bath..and I don't, I wouldn't be able to fit in there anyway.

So things are looking up for me and Nadi I guess. We just got approved on another visa until February of next year and the move is done.

It will take us some time to get organized though and I am sure Nadi is ok with that


image.png

Her things were the first things I organized in the entire place anyway. For me, I can wait a few days and don't really mind it being a bit disorganized for a while.

Sort:  
 9 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @asean.hive.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congrats on the new place. I was going to say I thought you just moved to that building from a different one a little bit ago. It looks like a really nice space and should serve you really well. I understand what you mean about the tub. We have them in both of our bathrooms and I would love to convert one to a shower. Have to leave at least one, so we don't kill our resale value :)

 9 months ago  

Yeah, i'm not really as happy in the new place as I thought I would be. The extra space is nice I guess but honestly, it's almost exactly the same as the other one. Tubs don't make a lot of sense over here and I don't know why anyone bothers including them. Tubs that you don't own are kind of gross anyway, i'm not lying down in there even if I could fit!

I totally agree with your last sentence! At some point baths just aren't as cool as they once were. Probably by the time you hit your teens...

It turned out to be a master move pre covid and why move out he block as you know there are no hassles with Nadi. You know the apartments so it makes logical sense what you have done even though it is only 1 floor down.

 9 months ago  

yeah, "good" apartments in this city are actually quite difficult to come by. Mine isn't anything particularly special yet it is considered to be one of the nicer units on the beach roads.

It sounds like you've been through quite an adventure with your move and adapting to condo living, especially during the lockdowns. It's great to hear that you were able to secure a larger unit within the same building to accommodate you and your dog. Enjoy your new space, and take your time getting organized. It's all about making your home comfortable for both you and Nadi.

 9 months ago  

I don't know what I am doing wrong but I'm not really experiencing as much joy in the new unit as I hoped I would. I should move the furniture around of something. I dunno