How Typhoon Odette Affected My Family and I

image.png

Typhoon Odette

Typhoon Odette was for sure something that we brushed off because we've never experienced devastating effects from typhoons in our area as we are shielded from the elements by Mount Diwata. While it did, we were still affected by it, but not to the extent as my fellow Filipinos from Cebu have.

Heavy rains weren't the issue, but rather the super-powerful winds that the typhoon brought. We already experienced average rainfall around midnight. We were happy because we finally had some stock water because our water system here is so trashy, and we rarely get water from our taps.

Around the morning, we were already experiencing strong winds, and around 9 am, the power finally went out, thank god our 7 am exam was already finished by that. The wind overpowered roofs, some were thrown onto the ground, but houses near our vicinity were still standing strong.

IMG20211221113024.jpg

Our wooden gate was also slammed hard that it almost got obliterated. Fortunately, my father and I quickly patched it up and reinforced our gates to keep them from flying and slamming at the backside of our car.

Having no electricity, we had no way to surf the internet, leading us to do something that most of us do when there's no power, actually talk to one another and socialize.

My sister's boyfriend came to visit her, but at that time, she was on duty as a medical technologist, and we talked for hours on end.

I've never really been the one to enjoy talking with people, but talking with him was fun. We talked about finances, business, crypto, jobs, life, college, and everything in between. It was such a great conversation because we both had the same goal of achieving financial freedom through entrepreneurial initiatives.

He even told me about when he and my sister talked about starting a business of their own; it was so inspiring.

Having no signal and no power was also super hassling for my family members as my grandfather's dialysis was already scheduled that day, but once they got there, they had no fuel in the generator, which meant they had to go back to our house, which was far away.

My grandfather was super tired from the trip, and he immediately went back to sleep as he was drained of his energy.

No signal also meant that we had no information as to when they could resume their dialysis operation, so my parents had to go there personally to ask if they were available.

image.png

Mt. Diwata

These minor inconveniences have made me realize in becoming more thankful and being more appreciative of nature and how we should take care of them. Without mount Diwata, we would have probably experienced far stronger winds capable of destroying our home.

Seeing my Hive friends and mentors truly made me sad. Especially those living in Cebu who were greatly affected by this disaster, especially with Christmas coming up is so heart-breaking, I'm just glad that they're all fine as well as their families.

My prayers go out to everybody affected by the typhoon. I will include you all in my prayers and hope that the government would help their citizens as fast as possible and create initiatives, especially with the water problem they're having.

Keep safe, everyone!

Let's all pray and do our best to help the victims of this disaster!

Sort:  

Congratulations @humbledwriter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.
You made more than 1000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you!

You're welcome @humbledwriter.

BTW, it would be much appreciated if you support our proposal on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner so we can continue our work!
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199
Thank you!

Merry Christmas to you and your family 🎅

 2 years ago  

My prayers goes to you and your family my friend ❤️ stay safe, hygiene also important as well. And stay positive my friend ❤️

Thank you, my friend! Yes, it really is. Have a great week ahead!

alot were really affected by the typhoon. lets rise together. 💪

Yes, it was very devastating. Yes, we can rise from this!!!

 2 years ago  

We can not fight against the nature, what we should realize that we have been so cruel to the nature. We cut the trees, drain the water resources and dig the land. Complaining to the nature will only cause feeling hostility. Accept what happened to us and begin to start new life that is more friendly to the environtment.

I agree, conversely, nature is also our best ally against natural disasters. We should start environment-friendly initiatives, and start with our own selves in our own homes.

I hope all of you are doing well now. Take care of yourselves and keep your loved ones close 🥃♥️

Hi, my friend! Yes, we are okay here, but other places have been hit hard by the typhoon. You too bro, take care always!

Wishing a speed recovery to everyone there ♥️

 2 years ago  

I hope you have easier access to water very soon, that is a must. I used to have problems with access to clean water in Suriname, and this made daily living very difficult. I smiled when I saw you mention people actually talking for once because of the power cuts.

When my family and I experience power cuts occasionally, sometimes I secretly wish it would last just a few hours longer than their battery life so we could have a good old-fashioned candlelit conversation.

I really hope so too. It's such a hassle. I know right? power outages are somewhat a blessing in disguise! Thank you so much for reading!!!!

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

THANK YOU!!!

i miss mt diwata. I grew up when mt diwata was home to one of the Philippine eagle until peeople hunt them for food not knowing it is endangered.. i can still see huge toog trees from our window in poblacion, miss those days

Wow, I never knew Mt.Diwata was home to the Philippine Eagle. It's so heartbreaking to see what they're doing now, they have a project in Mt. Diwata and they had to cut down tons of trees and bulldoze land, sigh. I wish I could have seen what you have seen back in the day.

Thank you so much, we are safe thank god. I hope you guys keep safe as well.