The Only Family Member Who Could Appreciate My Writing is DYING.

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago (edited)

image.png

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I have enjoyed writing for quite a long time now, it's something that I do in my spare time, but I wouldn't call myself the best writer there is.

When I was just in elementary school, I never really thought I would dip my toes into writing, but then, my teacher encouraged me to participate in the Division Schools Press Conference as a Filipino Sports Writer, and so I did. I competed and got to the Regional level, but sadly, I was eliminated.

After years, I still competed as a writer, but I gave it a break once I got to high school. I realized that Filipino sports writing was just something I was once forced to do and not something I wanted to do. But I did learn a lot of great writing tips from it.

Contrary to my first experience as a writer, my favorite language to write in was English. It's a language that I find comfortable to write in, and I feel like I could truly express what I'm feeling.

Poems were my go-to format; I find them so complex but short. Something that I genuinely like.

Of course, my parents never really knew about my writing capabilities up until my younger brother's graduation.

116898113_3477527052265880_4459006511395147682_n.jpg

See, my grandfather is a knowledgeable person. He worked as an English teacher in the past and has been writing for our valedictory speeches ever since my sister and mine. But now, he was getting really old, and he struggled to hold a pen steadily, let alone write an entire speech.

And so, my mother asked if I could write one for my brother and just let my grandfather check it for errors. We had an upcoming exam, and my mother was rushing me to write this speech because their teacher was asking for a draft right then and there, so I wrote one.

A few hours later, my grandfather came back with nothing. He did not find a single error, and he even commended the flow of my writing to be smooth and easy to understand. He greatly praised the piece that I wrote.

He was the only one who could recognize my talent and even told me that I was good, something that even I couldn't say to myself.

And now, his health is slowly deteriorating. He has recently been advised for dialysis as his kidneys are only 5% functioning. Once I heard about this news, my heart broke. It's only recently that someone from our family has appreciated my writing, and now he's dying.

I would love to write him a poem or a letter of some sort to give to him before he passes away due to old age, but I can't bring myself to do it; it's too painful.

74907704_2914649585220299_5993422455484448768_n.jpg

My grandfather and I have never been close because I tend to stay quiet during family gatherings but writing and our passion for it has brought us closer than we have ever had.

I wish he could stay long enough until I reach my dream of becoming a blogger and becoming a famous writer here in the Philippines.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I feel sorry for your grandfather's health, hope he will get better soon.

Your writing is great. I have been an english teacher for more than 10 years. I see your talent in writing is amazing. I can write better after I joined hive. Before that, there is no place to write that give the best appreciation. Hive motivates me to write better. Keep on writing on Hive!

That's amazing, hope you will continue to write as well! Thank you so much for appreciating and reading my post, it means a lot!

It breaks my heart upon reading your blog but at the same time I'm inspired by the love that you give to your grandfather.
Keep writing, keep fighting....
Thanks for sharing..

Thank you so much! Thank you for reading!!!

You're welcome. ☺️

You're welcome @humbledwriter. ☺️

 2 years ago  

I feel you writing on this post and I'm sorry to hear about your grandfather's conditions. Yeah you're right,we hope them to live longer too. You have been a great writer ever since and I'm enjoying reading it. Keep it up the good work amd the good will come to you very soon ☺️

Thank you, I wish they could live forever. Thank you so much for appreciating! It's very motivating to see people like the articles that I publish. I will, thank you! Wish you all the best as well.

 2 years ago  

You're most welcome my friend. Knowing you is fate and I appreciate your hard work. Keep it up the good work my friend. You can do it. I believe in you so do your grands ☺️❤️👍🏻

Thank you so much!! I will!

 2 years ago  

You're most welcome my friend ❤️

I am so sorry to hear about his deteriorating health. I pray that he gets to witness more of your beautiful writings. I know that he is always proud of you. Keep writing and blogging!!

Thank you for your prayers! I hope he would be proud of me. Thank you! Keep writing and blogging as well @lifewithera!

 2 years ago  

Your grandfather sounds like a very wise man. Do both of your parents also speak English well? Well, I can say as an ESL teacher myself, that your writing is very engaging, and I would say your flow is just like a native speaker/writer.

Yes, he truly is. No, they speak mostly bisaya, which is our local language here in Mindanao. Thank you so much!! It means a lot, especially coming from you!!!

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Sorry to hear about your grandfather's condition. I hope he will get well soon...
I can see you have a great talent in writing. You write very well, neat, and flowy. Love to read it. I'm sure your grandfather is proud of you. And I hope your wishes will come true.

Thank you, I really hope so too. Thank you so much for loving my blog post! I do hope so that he is proud of what I've been writing in these past months. I hope you accomplish everything you want in your life as well!

You were a sports writer pala! Never had the brain capacity to understand sports jargons na ginagamit sa Press Con 😩

It's saddening to hear that the health of your grandfather is deteriorating lalo na't he's the only person who knows your capability :<<< Aja! Keep writing!

Yes! hahaha. To be honest, I never really understood them as well, maybe that's why I was eliminated every time in the regional levels hahaha.

Yes, it's very heartbreaking, but I for sure will continue writing to make him proud.

Thank you for stopping by @sellennee!!!

 2 years ago  

Hi hi.. Carlos.. How old is he at the moment? Just keep doing what you love and do your best at it. My sister earns quite well on writing. She has her own website link here
She graduated as a chemical engineer but loves to write more than becoming an engineer. You can start with your own website, choose a niche, monetize it using google adsense. Do for the next couple of years. =) She started doing this maybe around 5 years ago. Now earning well every month. Start somewhere.

It's quite sad to hear about your grandfather.

Hi! My grandfather is currently 81 years old. Wow really? that sounds amazing! I'm also studying an engineering course, but my true passion is writing. I would definitely love to learn from your sister's journey, thank you so much!!

 2 years ago  

Wow.. ur grandfather still looks good at 81. Looks like he's in his fifties. Does he still easily remember things? My grandparents have all left.. already.. 😀 have a great day, Carlos.

Yes, he still looks good for an 81-year-old man. And yes, he can still clearly remember things.

I'm so sorry to hear that your grandfather has already passed away, I'm sure he's looking at you now being proud of what you've accomplished.

Have a great day as well!!

Ho Ho Ho! @humbledwriter, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked us to give you a new badge!

The HiveBuzz team wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends

Thanks so much!!

 2 years ago  

Sorry to hear about your grandfather. I wish too that you will still have more with him.