The Traditional Boats at Yangon River in Yangon, Myanmar

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY5 months ago
Authored by @iTravelRox

Hi, ASEAN Hive Community! I was very late to join the Boat Challenge when I got the chance to find photos on my hard drive.

Anyway, I am excited to share Myanmar articles in the community. In September 2018, I was in Myanmar for 28 days. As someone from the Philippines which my country is part of the ASEAN countries, we are free to visit Myanmar for 14 days. But if you want to stay for the whole 28 days, you need to avail the electric visa which you need to pay for US$50.

At the Yangon River Port

We were walking around Yangon and we heard something very noisy on the other side of the road. I thought it was a market and there was a festival going on but there was none. Anyway, we continued to walk because we were so curious about what was going on.

IMG_0009.JPG

This is NOT A TOURIST ATTRACTION as the photos show the ordinary life of Burmese people (or Myanmar people). It was very interesting to see this messy situation. It was very noisy but amusing with the motorized boats and the barker using a megaphone.

This is an everyday scene. You can see people selling something.

IMG_0010.JPG

I only took photos using my low-quality phone. As much as I wanted to use my Nikon D5100, I never wanted to attract people looking at me. I mean, mostly, I got mistaken for a Myanmar girl so it was good to blend with the locals.

IMG_0011.JPG

We just came here to do people-watching. This place was really busy, everything was so fast as people were in a hurry to get into the boat. I think this is their traditional river taxi ferry boat.

IMG_0012.JPG

I saw a lot of black smoke so it smelled so bad. Possible that they were using crude oil for the boats.

IMG_0013.JPG

It was a nice experience to see the everyday life of Myanmar people. I felt like a time machine brought me a hundred years ago.

IMG_0007.JPG

Although I wasn't using a nice camera but a low-quality phone, the ambiance of the photo looked so vintage.

IMG_0008.JPG

Yes, right. Vintage is the right word. The experience made me feel I was brought into the VINTAGE ERA.

Related Article: #RememberSeptember - a Trip to Myanmar was a favorite but ended up with a broken heart


Roxanne Tamayo - www.itravelrox.com

Welcome to iTravelRox! Roxanne Tamayo is a Cebuana who is a traveler. Now a mom of 2 kids and a wife. She is a travel blogger and a digital nomad. As a Virtual Assistant, she does a lot of things like content writing, WordPress web design, WP updates and maintenance, graphic design, and photo editing. She is into wedding photography, as well.

If you like iTravelRox's content, please don't forget to upvote and leave a comment. She will share a lot of stories about solo travels, motherhood, family travel, and working as a VA.

Sort:  
 5 months ago  

Very interesting. Myanmar is the only SE Asian country that I have never been to. I need to make my way over there sometime. Did you find that you have been enjoying all of your time there?

Yes, I really enjoy Myanmar and I want to go back there someday.

Una ko napansin yony kulay ng water, uwu. And that's a lot of boat ha. Kalat kalat sila.

oo that's why nasabi ko messy situation haha napaka busy talaga sa lugar na yan.

But for sure it's a good happenings to some lalo marami tao uwu

Yeah, it's a normal every day happening lang naman sa kanila. Hehe! Na shock din ako at first.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Parang baha lang sa kulay ng tubig hehe

haha kaya nga nasabi ko messy situation. XD

 5 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ