Thoughts on my time coming to an end in Asia

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY10 months ago

I have been here for years longer than I originally intended, I'm starting to feel as though I have already stayed here too long.

I'm one of those people that has opportunities via education and connections to have a rather good salary back in my home country of the United States but the idea of living in a corporate life, even though I haven't even done it yet, just kind of depresses me to think about it.

I'm the first person to warn people that are living the "dream" over here in Asia that it isn't sustainable and that especially if you are in your 20's and have the ability to earn back in your home country, that will almost certainly not be offered to you here.

I have met a few people in Thailand that have corporate jobs and they make very good money but even they will admit that it was a long road to get to that point and that they had to take a big pay cut in order to get that job. They also have to wear professional clothes in a very hot country (that was the number 1 complaint about office jobs.)

In order to get those jobs they already had years of experience with a particular company and were moved over to Thailand to head up a new office. For the people that I have met they have all worked in some sort of finance or web-oriented job and there simply wasn't any people that the company was able to find locally in order to do the job themselves. They will also admit that it is very unlikely that foreigners will be employed in Thailand for professional jobs because a company here can hire 5-10 local people for the same salary that they will need to pay a single foreigner. It's not fair that it is that way (for the locals) but that is just the way it is. The average income of your average professional is substantially lower than we would expect to make in the west even at entry level.

I remember once talking to a Thai teacher who works in the same school as I do and while I did not initiate the conversation, I was a bit alarmed to find out that she, after more than 20 years of primary school education, was making just a little bit more than I was. I have no background in education and have only been doing this sort of work full-time for 1.5 years and then part-time for around 2.5 after that.

This kind of made me feel sad for her because this is really her upper limit and something similar was offered to me as soon as I walked into the school and was hired. That must really grind her gears. I know it would for me.

However, even at this level of inflated earnings, the amount of money that you can bankroll is going to be very limited with most jobs available in Thailand. I make under $1000 a month and only manage to put around $200 a month into savings. Seeing as how my trip back to the USA is going to be over $1000 just for the flight, that's nearly half a year of savings wiped out simply for an air ticket.

So pretty soon I am going to have to face the music and take my own advice and get out of here. In many ways I feel as though I have already wasted a lot of precious time but I am still glad that I did it.

There are a lot of my American counterparts and even people I went to school with that have NO IDEA that the rest of the world is filled with a lot less BS than the United States is... it is also substantially cheaper.

I have already been offered a job that I totally do not deserve back in the states at a financial institution and the salary is ok I guess. I just wish I wasn't completely bummed about having to move back to my own country. I guess if nothing else I am glad I got to see the other side of the planet and have something to save up for in the future. I'll likely soon be taking my own advice and going back stateside and watching my pennies so I can hopefully save up enough to come back here one day and then never need to go back.


image.png
src

I'm sure that American consumerism is going to try really hard to sink its nasty claws into me and turn me into a mindless spending robot, but I'll put a few pics of Thailand on my wall to remind me of the good things that exist in other places around the world.

I'm really happy that I decided to make this move in my life and if I could go back in time and change anything about it, I probably wouldn't change anything. However, I need to start getting serious about my future and not make the same mistakes that so many foreigners before me have made in this and many other countries as teachers.

Sort:  
 10 months ago  

Go back, make that money, then come back to retire early and take over the Hash. That's what I wish I had done

 10 months ago  

Yeah, that's the plan... well maybe not the Hash part but I know that this is the only way forward.

I even don't understand why teaching English in Thailand is popular among Americans. You can go to work in Australia, for example, at a farm for several months, and raise money for one more year of traveling, then you can enjoy life and learn some programming language in the evening or create art, or anything. Or you can start online business or anything. Teaching sucks much time and mental energy, and teachers' salaries in Thailand aren't too big. Teaching English isn't career (for most Americans) and it isn't freedom, it combines the worst of the both.

I am not an American and have never been a teacher so this is just reasoning without real experience. Maybe, I am wrong in this.

 10 months ago  

and it isn't freedom, it combines the worst of the both.

I basically agree with this and that is why I am cutting it short. For me, teaching English in Thailand is just a way to keep getting visas while doing something that give you just enough money to continue living here.

You are going to have to bite the bullet sooner or later even though you are literally living the dream. The ability to earn more than the locals is rather sad even though it has helped you along the way. I am sure you will return one day and have the funds never to have to worry again.

 10 months ago  

It might take a long time to make that happen but I think I am sensible enough to realize that this life I have now isn't tenable. I can always save money and come back to visit every couple of years to refresh my memories of the place.

I think you have made the only choice really as you need to what is right by you for the future.

I think, Thailand consists of many different kinds of beautiful places and it is truly worth it for our travel adventure.I wish I could visit that place also.

 10 months ago  

It is a pretty magical place. It is getting more and more expensive though. It was a lot cheaper when I first got here. Things just keep going up and up in price.

Yes that is true. It has a lot of changes from time to time.

 10 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ