Recalling the Roller Coaster Experience in April 2024

Recalling the Roller Coaster Experience In April 2024

I have been quite busy the April. Particularly in the last two weeks of the month. With the school year coming to an end, we had a lot of things to accomplish. A lot of things happened especially in the last two weeks of April.

Dangerously High Heat Index

The Philippines has been having dangerously high heat index in the different parts of the country since the start of April. In our city particularly, we have been enduring the scorching weather with the heat index ranging from 40 degrees Celsius up to 46 degrees Celsius.

In the first two weeks, face-to-face classes were suspended and we had to revert to online classes. This is for the health concerns of both the learners and the faculty and staff. Last year, several cases of heat stroke were reported. To think, the temperature this year is higher than that of last year.

In the last two weeks though, the local government agreed to allow face-to-face classes with shortened time. The learners can stay in school only up to 11:30 in the morning.

At least we were able to catch up with our lessons.

Suddenly I'm the co-adviser for the school's paper.

April 2o, Saturday morning. We were preparing for the celebration of the family day later that afternoon. Our academic coordinator told me to go to the division office and attend the ongoing seminar. The seminar was for the school paper staff. The moderator/adviser was already there along with the five student editorial staff of our school paper. However, the resource person asked for the school's ICT personnel. That's me.

When I got there I mouthed to students...

"What am I doing here?"

As the resource person was giving his comment on our paper to the adviser, I was surprised that the latter pointed me as the layout artist and the co-adviser of the school paper!

It took me a while, but after I recovered from my surprise I played along and listened to the comments.

Fortunately, I can still recall some important points in journalism when I was a news writer way back in high school... and I mean WAY BACK as in decades ago!!!

Then again since it's for the school, I am willing to help.

Family Day

I was supposed to write about this. I have started to write a draft, but I wasn't able to upload it. Maybe I will upload it this week anyway. I will share about this even briefly though.

The program was shortened from a whole-day celebration to a late afternoon to evening celebration. We started at 4:30 with a mass, then a band played some music. Then there were three rounds of Bingo games, then the students along with their parents made their singing and dancing presentations.

There were prizes given away also in a raffle.

Death of a Student

April 23, Tuesday.

This was a sad day for our school, especially for the 8th graders. We lost a student on that day.

You can read about it here: https://ecency.com/hive-188409/@jloberiza/whole-school-is-saddened-by?referral=jloberiza

Online Observation

The Principal scheduled class observations for all of us last week. We only have face-to-face classes in the morning, my schedule was set in the afternoon via Google Classroom.

I admit, the class did not go perfectly as planned, but I can say that it went well.

Wife's Birthday

We are having some difficulties with our finances lately. Then again a simple celebration is enough. We prepared some food and a few booze to celebrate my wife's birthday.

Preparation for the School Year's End

The final examination is scheduled for next week. Since most of my classes are skills-based, we don't have written exams except for one. I took the practical exam for my robotics classes, and I have already finished the test questions for the Entrepreneurship class. I have to thank Chat GPT for generating my test questions.

Unstable Internet Connection

We've been having some intermittent Internet connection for the whole month. I have already set up a local proxy server to compensate, but the connection is really unstable. I'm not sure if it's the provider or our local area network. I have to stay on campus while no one else is there to check that. *sigh*

Missed a lot of writing and photography challenges.

With my busy schedule, I missed a lot of writing and photography challenges. I was hoping I could make at least one for Inleo's writing prompt, but I never had the time.

I also missed a lot of photography contests for weeks now.

Finished my Digital Illustration

I did finish the digital illustration of my original character. It's the third version anyway. I also started the next phase of my project for this character. I hope I can make the first release by May 15.

In Closing

I missed a lot in April, but I aim to make one post a day this May. Maybe not-so-long articles.

Until then... Thanks for the time you shared for reading this.


Post No. 2024-34
Date Posted: May 1, 2024.
All images are mine unless otherwise indicated.
* The cover was created using Canva
Check me out on other platforms. linktr.ee/jlinitiatives

Sort:  
 19 days ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ