You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Well they got us! Vietnam is locked down now... kinda

I’m in Los Angeles and we’ve been in lockdown for over 15 months. Many of my friends have moved. The psychological effect this has is not good. People are polarized in how to treat one another. The mask people vs the no-maskers and now the vaccinated vs the no-jab people. People really believe you are asking for a death sentence, are suicidal, or are recklessly homicidal if you are a “give me liberty or give me death” person. I see people in social media openly complain and dox neighborhood businesses and individuals that won’t fall in line. Meanwhile, homeless encampments are growing. I thought they would be the most challenged during a pandemic. I thought the streets would fill with dead bodies.

A world where families and friends gather in rebellion or with great worry, a world where everyone is silent and no one makes small talk while in line for groceries to bide time with a kind stranger, and a world where people don’t gather in community whether it be at church or a concert, is not a happy world.

Too many people are fearful. FEAR FULL. And reacting from that space.

I appreciate the brave that have fight in them and question the government, question everything. We’re lucky we live in a country where we can do that. I hope Vietnam has its people that have questions and are willing to go outside and prove that we can all live. It’s a mystery why a lockdown now when you see nothing has drastically changed before your eyes.

I know many people that had covid and lived. Most didn’t know they were covid positive until they got tested. Go figure.

J

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

There is a friend of mine that was in L.A. and was losing her damn mind. In her case she was / is an exceptionally qualified teacher so she was actually able to get into Vietnam based on her expertise.

I have known this person for a long time and started to notice her decent into "madness" so to speak. She is also prone to alcoholism and not being able to go to work or leave her house was turning her into a day drinker.

I see people in social media openly complain and dox neighborhood businesses and individuals that won’t fall in line

That's horrible. Hopefully things can change for you guys soon. My situation seems rather insignificant to the way things are going for you.

I'm glad your friend has you to notice her descent and be there for her. She is fortunate to get out of Los Angeles. It can be a terrible place to be under "house arrest" lockdown. I went to a phase of whiskey and coffee everyday to take the edge of feeling desolate and isolated. I'm fortunate to have neighbors and friends that check in on me a do weekly video calls .And I live in a nice area on a hill surrounded by trees that it doesn't feel like I'm in cement jungle Los Angeles. Many of my friends left. Businesses are boarded up. Many mom and pops, independent owned businesses went belly up. The corporate chain stores are thriving. Target. Walmart, etc.

I hope things improve for the world over and I hope Vietnam NEVER gets as bad as Los Angeles. We had curfews last year and looting and fires. Stay safe out there and let's hope the world is free again soon!

J

 3 years ago  

Thanks @jnetsworld for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 150

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.