🧹 Broom Harvesting With Monkey-B & Bong Teeun 👨‍🌾 Cardamom Mountains, Cambodia ⛰️

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITYlast year (edited)

cdfdg.png

My brother-in-law Bong Teeun took Monkey-B on a mission to harvest grass stalks typically used to make natural brooms, and I documented a bit of it for Hive.

A Bloody Start To The Day 🦷

teeth.png

     Before any of this broom harvesting tomfoolery began, Monkey-B successfully performed some amateur dentistry on herself and extracted a loose tooth. After several rinses of the mouth, the bleeding stopped and this girl with slightly less teeth went chasing after her uncle to help harvest broom grass.

A View From Above 🔭

sfddff.png

     The grass that Cambodians use to make brooms grows wild all over Cardamom Mountain valleys, so you not even need cross the highway and climb 15 seconds before collection can begin. Almost everyone in the village harvests at least a small amount of this grass, then sun dries it until it is completely brown and the seeds have fallen off the stalks. Before I entered the grassland to search for the, I took a shot of our property from above.

cdfg.png

     After entering the grassland I realized it would take some time to find these two grass collectors. The grass is much taller than a human and also very dense, so I had to stand quietly and listen for several minutes for any sounds, and I just barely heard some talking which helped me head in the right direction.

A Happy Harvester 👩‍🌾

cfvf.png

     When I found my daughter and brother-in-law, Monkey-B was grinning ear to ear and performing the role of grass carrier. Upon my arrival, she asked me take over her role, but I insisted I was there strictly for Hive content.

cdvf.png

     My brother-in-law understands that we earn our living from Hive, so he is always cooperative knowing that he indirectly earns a living from the blockchain while here with us. The reason he was collecting grass is because he was bored after staying with us for a few weeks to help construct the fence. My other brother-in-law was supposed to come a few days after, but got sick with malaria or dengue fever and never came. The job really needs two people to work full-time on it for at least seven days, and I just can't commit that amount of time because I need to keep earning money to fund construction and feed the family.

Monkey-B Is Just Precious 🥰

c.png

     Anytime I have no Hive content, I simply turn the camera on Monkey-B and instant content is born. She's always got a smile, and this alone can turn a regular boring day into top-notch Hive content, well at least in my opinion.

gter.png

     Once I decided I had enough photos for a Hive post, I headed back down the cliff, and Monkey-B tagged along. I took a shot of the grassland before leaving, an area that has been clearcut by illegal logging. Banana trees and grass are beautiful, but not as beautiful or valuable as the pristine forest just beyond.

Careful Descent 🧗‍♀️

nh.png

     Photos never do good justice to provide a good perspective of steepness and distance, but the descent back to the highway is a tricky one in bald flip-flops. I went down first and helped Monkey-B navigate her own safe descent, of course careful not to damage the precious broom grass. After the grass is dried it can be sold to local broom makers for $1.50 USD per kilo.


     Even if I spent 8 hours collecting this grass each day, it wouldn't earn half as much as I do on Hive, so I used this lesson to remind the girls of the life I am trying to give them. Although we are poor and even I have no university education, I reminded both my daughters that the villagers basically force their kids to collect this grass each day this time of the year. The parents here are preoccupied with their own lives, gambling, drinking, and other vices that prevent them from being involved and supportive.

     A lot of the local kids can collect about $2.00 USD worth of grass before getting tired and needing a break, so I reminded my girls of why I am teaching them so many other skills like Hive-blogging and crypto investments. If the people here don't change their way of life, there will be no forest to earn a sustainable living from eco-tourism for their children, and there will only be grass collection to sustain a livelihood.

jp.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN HIVE AND START EARNING CRYPTO LIKE US

Dad
@JustinParke
Mom
@SreyPov
🙏 GIVE THANKS 🙏
Srey-Yuu
@Srey-Yuu
Monkey B
@Sakana
Sort:  

Along with the Hive-blogging, you're teaching them how to write good English too. They could become journalists when they grow up. In fact they (or you) could probably sell an article about life in your part of Cambodia to the mainstream English press.

 last year  

At the moment I am taking steps to get them more interested in history, research, watching documentaries, and things like that because it will serve to supplement their writing abilities in many ways, one of them you've mentioned. I have thought about pursuing some writing opportunities in press, but have never done anything beyond local hometown newspapers. I think it would be very fun to have a weekly or monthly little blurb in a newspaper or magazine.

Look how big Monkey-B is, I had a long time without seeing your publications, and I enter to see how much he has grown, greetings to your family. !LUV

 last year  

Long time no see indeed, good to see you again here on Hive. I am very busy now with the ASEAN Hive Community, so I don't get much time to explore Hive like before. Monkey-B is indeed growing up too fast, but I am glad she still enjoys hanging out with me.

What a lession in life
Glad you found Hive

Your daughter's face always makes me smile, no matter how many teeth she has.

Abraço!

 last year  

It has been a blessing no doubt. Monkey-B's lust for life is infectious, and she's always game for new experiences and new places, not your typical Cambodian.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

 last year  

🙏🙏🙏

Pure Smile from little girl is loveable indeed. Wish you all the best!:)

 last year  

Thank you, she is my main adventure buddy, and also my daughter too 😉.

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

 last year  

Give thanks, you guys are awesome and I can't thank you enough for both the community and blog support.

You're very welcome and our pleasure :)

Congratulations @justinparke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 150000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 160000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @justinparke.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Dear @justinparke,
May I ask you to review and support the new HiveSQL Proposal so we can keep it free to use for the community?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner

Thank you!