An Update From Chiang Mai, Thailand

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY4 months ago (edited)

I have been back in Chiang Mai for almost 2 weeks already, time flies 🙂 I have been meaning to post more but well, it's been hard to focus on that. But here's an update for those who are interested.

I have been in Thailand for 1 1/2 months now and I'll be here in Chiang Mai for 11 more days, then I'm off to Singapore! I decided to stay in a hostel for the remaining time here in Chiang Mai (3 1/2 weeks). Before I had only stayed in private rooms but I stayed about 6 weeks in the hostel I'm now in 7 years ago. I felt it would be nice to save some money on accommodation and I guess I also came back here for nostalgia. It's the best hostel I know but even so, it took some adjustment having to share the space with other people. But it generally works rather well, I can work also from here. And I usually sleep rather well when I'm in a dorm. It felt special to return here. I thought a lot about how I and my life have changed in these 7 years.

It's not a very social hostel, and that's fine (definitely not a party hostel). There's only a female dorm and a lot of the guests come from Asia. So they tend to group together a bit, haha. But some of the women also stay rather long, like me, and of course, we talk a bit. I haven't had an issue with anyone.

IMG_5420.JPG
The hostel has a cafe, they call it a garden but I wouldn't really think of it as a garden haha. (The street is just outside).

The hostel is in the Old Town of Chiang Mai, with just a few minutes to a daily evening food market. I'm really enjoying the food here. I eat really well. Usually, I go to more 'expensive' restaurants for lunch where they also have Western food. I'm sorry but I just can't eat rice 3 times per day. I remember my food cravings got so bad the last time I was in Thailand, I don't want to end up there again! But I love the street food here also, don't get me wrong.

IMG_5439.JPG

I love just walking around in the Old Town. Yes, there's traffic but you can find quiet streets.

2.jpg

1.jpg

I have my routines that are working well for me. I eat 3 times a day, work at least until lunchtime, do yoga, have a massage, meet with my friend here a couple of times a week, and I walk a lot, some days I have more of a plan to 'do' something. But it's important to me not to feel any pressure to be out exploring a lot. My focus is work and to take good care of myself.

IMG_5615.JPG

IMG_5617.JPG

For those of you who are not familiar with 7-Eleven in Thailand, that's the place where you find close to everything you need 🙂

IMG_5596.JPG

I have been visiting some of the many, many temples here in Chaing Mai, there are more than 50 just in the Old Town. But I'll save that for another post.

IMG_5424.JPG

I feel good in general about being here. I'm meeting new people, I usually don't feel so tired, and I'm so happy to be in a warm place. Winter in Sweden has been brutal so far. My mom said it was minus 27 degrees Celsius one morning. That's unusually cold, I don't think I have ever experienced that in that part of Sweden. Here it's around 30 degrees Celsius during the day. And always sunny. I have nothing to complain about 🙂

IMG_5441.JPG

Namnlös design copy 3.png

Thanks for reading 🌸

Wishing you a lovely day 💚

Sort:  
 4 months ago  

Looks like you are really enjoying your stay there. Through the photos you shared, I feel like I am in Chiang Mai as well. Oh, we have some 7/11 here in the Philippines as well, it's a convenience store where you could buy almost everything, like you mentioned. Enjoy your stay, and keep safe. ♥️

 4 months ago  

Thank you so much 🙏🏽

Philippines, nice 🙂

We have 7/11 in Sweden too but the store is just quite different there. Not really a convenience store, here you can find so much more at 7/11.

 4 months ago  

You're welcome! Come visit the Philippines too 🙂

 4 months ago  

Let's see what happens 🙂

I actually reside in a hostel and it would have been very nice for my hostel to have a garden. Anyway, I hope you enjoy your stay in Chiangmai
Happy new week!

 4 months ago  

I understand, a garden or even some plants make a big difference.

Thank you 🌸

Stunning pictures ✨ glad to know you're enjoying yourself and avoiding the pressure

 4 months ago  

Thank you 🙂

Yes, it's always better not to compare yourself to others.

It looks like it was a good decision to make this long trip!
Take care :)

 4 months ago  

Thank you 🙂 Yes definitely a good decision!

 4 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 4 months ago  

Thank you 🙂