Wrapping up Christmas 2022: Celebrating together after 13 years

hive separator sellennee.png

It's the most wonderful time of year! It's the season of giving! Well, for Filos, it's family time!

hive separator sellennee.png

1.png



Last minute Christmas Preparation: Wrapping Gifts

Who knows that a wrap of decorated paper can make someone's heart jump?

Carefully removing a Christmas gift wrap was the most thrilling act I could feel when I was a kid.

  • "Is it a toy?"
  • "Is it a stuffed pillow?"
  • "Awee, I'd really like to receive a shining necklace."


Isn't it amazing to look back at our thoughts when we were kids? Widely smiling while thinking about how we'll show these gifts off at school? Fast forward to my teenage years, and the only thing I thought of was, "Oh, money would really be appreciated."

2.png

3.png


You only need three things every Christmas season. (1) Hand, (2) Gifts, and (3) Money.

I've never wrapped a gift, which made sense because I'm just starting adulthood! Giving gifts almost equates to giving love for Filipino culture. (Tho, I think this should be eased coz not everyone can afford to, especially with the rising inflation.)

4.png

7.png


I bought six toys for my godchildren, all ranging from 1-10-year old. Then I wrapped one of my SNSD Hyoyeon's albums as a gift for a K-POP fan friend of mine. I also readied money for my godchild, who's now in her teenage years.
She needs it more! (I'm speaking from my experiences, lol)

8.png
After almost 3 hours of gift-wrapping, I finished these!

9.png

Underneath the Christmas tree is also the gift that my mom and I bought for my dad, who hasn't been with us for every Christmas celebration for 13 years. This is a Bench watch, much cheaper and closely related to what he has been eyeing. (Someday, I can afford that gold watch. Fighting!)



Together after 13 years

Time flies so fast; the cute little children when my father flew abroad for work have now become teens and adults. The last time we celebrated Christmas with a complete family was waaaay before - the year 2009.

10.png

Christmas is extremely special for a family-centered culture like the Philippines. This cold season is spent with warm conversations with loved ones - friends & family. It would even be sweeter when we get to bring the whole family together for a perfect family dinner, which this year, we get to eat and celebrate as a whole family!

From video calls every Christmas to warm face-to-face conversations, there's no gift more precious than this.

11.png

Christmas has become a yearly obligation for every Filipino family, whether rich or poor and Christian or Catholic.

In Filipino culture, Christmas decorations are actually meant to be displayed starting in October - the "ber" months!

Waking up on Christmas day to see your family, eating a delicious meal, exchanging gifts, and wrapping up presents are the five things that bring joy for the whole year.

hive separator sellennee.png

But though it's too much to ask for, Christmas has come and gone again - and many times in between too. I'll never forget the nostalgia of coming home from school holiday break; this was our first time ever celebrating Christmas as a complete family after 13 years.

I'm so excited to celebrate our New Year too!

hive separator sellennee.png

sellennee end.png

Sort:  
 last year  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Congratulations @sellennee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to your friends
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Sponsor Feedback and Feedback Request
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @sellennee,
Our current proposal (#199) will expire end of December. May we ask you to review and support the our proposal renewal (#248) so our team can continue its work next year?
You can support it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248

Thank you!

Thank youuu! Happy Holidays!

Absolutely! Can't wait for 2023 to be the year of redemption for those who didn't do well in 2022!