You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Post From 'Merica 🦅 Kentuckiana 🌪️ Where The Bible Belt, Rust Belt, & Tornado Alley Collide

Oh man... Reading this feel a punch in the guts. So I can only imagine how you must feel like being back there again. :-( The only redeeming thing is the potential to dream: think about all that land, all that space, and even those people populating it, wanting to do some awesome and amazing things. Whether that may be a thriving tiny-small business Cambodian style, or building a naturally thriving food forest in midst all that agricultural desolation. But hey, I bet you are dreaming about all those things too... in lovely Cambodia, together with your family. :-) So in the end, reading these lines of yours, actually makes me feel a bit optimistic, wanting to visit both Indiana and Cambodia, in order to create some wonderful things.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Sorry I haven't much time to engage lately, been meaning to catch up on your posts for what seems like a month now. You can see why though, things are hectic, internet is scarce, etc. There are food forests, permaculture projects, etc., in this area, but most people choose Missouri or Kentucky/Tennessee to do things like this the quality of life is better in those places, land still cheap, and the topography more interesting.

The problem here is that 98% of the land is GMO corn coated in Monsanto products. You couldn't get enough distance away from these fields to avoid cross-contamination, another reason to choose a place with a bit of mountains to attempt organic forms of agriculture.

I think if I had to live in the USA forever, I'd go live in a Cambodia immigrant community somewhere and engage in various forms of unlicensed business that this community embraces. Indiana could use some minds like you, but I'd honestly choose Mexico every time if I were in your shoes.

I can totally see that! I myself are always drawn to the hills if I have a choice, as it has so many obvious advantages. In fact, there was an amazing couple blogging on Hive (actually it was the previous chain) from their permie farm in Missouri a few years ago. Reading their posts got me quite excited about exploring that region. But now, as it has been the case for a while, Mexico is turning out to be actually a very good place, so that is what I should appreciate. And for you I wish a speedy and mostly simple, unproblematic move to Cambodia.

 2 years ago  

Never ever trade Mexico for Missouri, you made the right choice. On second that, there is town called Mexico, Missouri, but it's not exactly a nice place to live.