Air Fryer Diaries: My Chiffon Cake Turned to Chiffon Bread (nay or yay?)

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY7 months ago



One of the functions or features of the air fryer that I am truly excited about was the baking function. I have never baked in my life because I never got the chance to. We don't have an oven at home. I do enjoy making desserts, though. I've tried making mango float, ice cream, buko pandan and other frozen delights.

Finally, I decided to give baking via air fryer a shot. I don't have high expectations of it, though... But we'll see. haha

I looked up some recipes online and I saw one that was quite simple to follow. I prepared all the ingredients needed... or at least I tried to. Let's start!

image.png


I could find most of the ingredients, but not all... so I decided to choose some alternatives and here's the list below:

  • All-purpose flour
  • eggs
  • melted butter (I used canola oil, instead)
  • whole milk (I used soy milk...)
  • sugar
  • baking powder
  • vanilla extract
  • lemon juice (We didn't have lemon at home, so I used Philippine lime.. lol)
  • salt



Because of the changes in ingredients, the result wouldn't be the same as the original recipe's result... but still, I tried. Let's go through the procedures...

image.png

First, I separated the egg yolk from the egg white... I used 4 eggs.


image.png

I then added half a cup of soy milk to the egg yolk.


image.png

We don't have any hand mixer, so I had to do the mixing manually. XD


image.png

Then there goes the canola oil. :) Butter would have been more delicious, but let's think about health... haha


image.png

This one is vanilla extract. It smells so good. :D


image.png

image.png

Then I added the flour, baking powder and salt. Mix mix mix...


image.png

image.png

This was where I made a mistake. After adding the lemon juice (calamansi juice in my case) and sugar. I didn't mix them properly and didn't achieve a frothy or creamy texture. It was still very watery.


image.png

image.png


As you can see... even after mixing the two mixtures together, it ended up watery. No matter how I whisk them, it doesn't look like the same texture as in the recipe I initially followed. haha But anyway, it's OK. I just went on.

image.png

image.png


Even though I set it 160C for 40 minutes, it didn't take 40 minutes to bake. When I checked it at around 20-25 minutes, it was already done, so I decided to turn it off and take it out.

As expected, it didn't turn out that well... at least appearance-wise.

image.png

image.png


The upper part was a bit crispy, but it was delicious. haha And as for the supposed to be fluffy and light chiffon cake, it turned out this way...

image.png


It became full and packed although the texture was still good. It wasn't fluffy, but it was quite bouncy. It was yummy, but it was more of a bread than a cake. So was it yay or nay?

Well, as a cake, it was kind of nay... but as bread, it was a yay!!!

I'm going to re-do this someday... but in my next air fryer diary entry, I'll share my banana cake recipe... it's so much better than this one! :D

Thanks for checking this out! See you around!

Sort:  
 7 months ago  

You have completed making your cake through several wonderful steps. Awesome don't give your pic that read the comments. Anyone can make this beautiful cake. But I love plain cake. I wish you the best. I'm thinking I'd be interested in creating some posts like that too. But I think looking at the pictures, the clean way you have done this recipe is really amazing. I wish the best for your family and child.

 7 months ago  

Thank you for dropping by with this comment. Appreciated. :D

 7 months ago  

You are most Wellcome sister

I agree that air fryer has many function. I love to use air fryer too 😊

 7 months ago  

It's indeed really fun and useful... :D

 7 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 7 months ago  

Thank you so much... :D

The air fryer its amazing and that looks delicious

 7 months ago  

It was actually quite good! :D

Chiffon really is a delicate cake to make😊 it was good to know you could bake a cake in air fryer😼

 7 months ago  

I think so, too.. I'll give it another shot next time... ^^

Please post it again😸