Winter Lights At Canary Wharf

in London4 months ago



clrp11uzb003cd8sz8me8h9wb_IMG_0778.webp
clrp11vut003ed8sz8cuhe6eo_IMG_0788.webp
clrp120yp003id8szh660bdjs_IMG_0793.webp
clrp121p9003kd8szdbqkdf27_IMG_0811.webp
clrp126qp003od8sz2ioj0dc2_IMG_0829.webp
clrp12771003qd8sz3j5d0m18_IMG_0831.webp
clrp12bkv003td8szdu7n5ihp_IMG_0836.webp
clrp12dee003wd8szg3hm0l6x_IMG_0837.webp
clrp12hh40042d8szg2ij1igv_IMG_0842.webp
clrp12hcf0041d8sz21wyb3a8_IMG_0853.webp

Winter Lights At Canary Wharf


IMG_0798.jpeg

I was in Canary Wharf for some business when I encountered the Winter Lights event. I had no idea this happened since I left work in this area over a decade ago. Winter Lights is a free, annual festival held in Canary Wharf, London, during January. This year. It usually starts at 5pm and closes at 10pm, but they had to close it at 8pm due to Hurricane Isha.

Talking of hurricanes, it was wild to be in Canary Wharf during a storm. The sound is just different with all the towers channeling the wind, bouncing and echoing sounds all over the place. The clouds and moon also took on a dark essence, especially reflected as they were in the large glassy sids of the buildings.

The festival features a variety of light installations created by international artists, showcasing the intersection of nature and technology. Some of the installations I saw were;

  • The Clew: A large red circle made of 100 lights, framing the Cubitt Steps Bridge.
  • Luminaries: A cascade of falling water droplets that create words derived from live news sources.
  • Lightbenches: Classic illuminated benches.
  • Traffic Light Tree: A tree covered in traffic lights that change colour.
  • Prisms of Light in the Big Easy (my favourite one)

By 7pm it the storm getting pretty violent and I actually became a little worried so I decided to head home. Imagine glass raining down on people below if something where to happen. My imagination got the better of me haha.

Peace & Love,

Adé


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

If I’m in this kind of place for business, I’d first get carried away by the beauty of the place😂😂
It is so beautiful

there are a lot of shiny new glass buildings there too

Cool street walk :) ... I like this snow and street feeling :)
Uh if you can ... then this food cars... try get more close it can be cool to photography them what this warm light and snow :)

I will start walking outside again when the weather improves 😂

I try make same .. have to get this street photo fun up and run more .... I just find some cool lens to what I want try :)) something what 12 mm :))

Nice. That's like 18-20mm equivalent on the NEX right? Good focal length for street.

Congratulations @adetorrent! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 2600 posts.
Your next target is to reach 2700 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Those shiny glass of buildings

These buildings are stunning. They look beautiful