You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: And they wondered: What's wrong with these people?

in The Herbal Hive • 2 years ago

So I had accidentally deleted my original comment🤦‍♀. I'm still getting familiar with PEAKD, whoops! lol.

So I will just try again :)

I am beginning my journey of healing with plants and herbs and so far I am loving it. It's unfortunate that the practice of using herbs and plants to heal has been so far removed from many societies, but what does make me smile is just how many people I have come across over the past few months who are so helpful and willing to spread their knowledge and get this information out into the public so it isn't lost forever.

I first became aware of the power of natural medicines when I battled brain cancer at the age of 25. I had had my first tumor at the age of 22 and it was removed successfully. 3 years later, on a routine MRI visit, they had found that it had come back and grew. I needed another surgery along with 6 weeks of radiation and a chemo pill every day during the summer of 2015. Come September I began a chemo pill regiment, 5 days taking it, 28 days off, with a few times of increasing the strength of the chemo.
Now I was prescribed pain & anti-nausea meds along with stool softeners. Well, the anti-nausea medicine did absolutely nothing to help ease any of the nausea, and the stool softeners, same story. I had asked my doctor if he knew of any vitamins or natural remedies that would help me and the answer was no so I took control of my own healing.
I came across a tea made my Traditional Medicinals called Smooth Move. One cup of this at night before bed and I was able to clear any constipation I had. Along with this I started to drink prune juice throughout the days which also helped ease any discomfort I had.
As for the nausea, inability to sleep and eat, and other discomforts while undergoing chemotherapy I had turned to good ol' marijuana and let me tell you it helped me more then any pill I could have ever been prescribed.
When I told my doctor that I had found these treatments he told me that I should do whatever works for me which with that answer I was happy with.

A few years later I received "The Lost Book of Herbal Remedies: The Healing Power of Plant Medicine" by Nicole Apelian, Ph.D & Claude Davis. With this book I am becoming so interested in all things plant healing. My husband had a kidney issue and I had made him some Goldenrod Tea (which I read about in the book and Goldenrod grows everywhere up here) and within a few days he was feeling much better! I find enjoyment in growing an herb garden, cooking with them, and learning how to make tinctures for myself and my family.

Lost Book of Herbal Remedies.jpg

I am so grateful I found this community on here and cannot wait to continue on my healing journey with you all! :)
Thank you for this post, the power of plants are just incredible and as long as we keep practicing this practice of medicine will never be lost in the wind.

Sort:  

I can't describe how much honored I feel that you shared your story here.

so I took control of my own healing.

What a brave desicion! It needs a lot of strength and you obviously have more than enough :) I loved reading your powerful story and the calm way with which you describe an unbelievable adventure. I am so happy you found the herbal remedies that work for you (and your husband), I believe it was your intuition and your open heart that led you to this path and it is always so exciting to listen to inspirational stories like yours!
I wish doctors were more aware of alternatives other than prescripted drugs, luckily your doctor was supportive.

This is a beautiful community, a cosy corner with people that love sharing their wisdom. It is amazing what we can learn from each other.

@theherbalhive aka @riverflows is an excellent host :)

I would also like to share some posts I found very useful here when I first started a few months ago and hopefully can be helpful to you as well.
First of all, this post by wonderful @sjarvie5, as well as this one.

I read your posts and they are so interesting, deep and heartfelt. As far as I know, accompanying your posts with nice photos is a great plus. If you don't have photos, maybe using an image bank, but always refer to the source. Communities are also great. Apart from The HerbalHive, you can check on HiveGarden, Abundance Tribe, ecoTrain or the relaxing Wednesday Walk, maybe Ladies of Hive and I guess there are more that I haven't discovered yet. It is a great way to connect easier with people with common interests.

I will be really glad to help with any questions!
Truly happy to meet you here!