You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Brick wars

in LEGO4 years ago (edited)

That's what I've heard. My guy spent quite a lot of time in Korea just after the war so got a LOT of rounds to play with.

The Abrams can get accurate fire downrange at 40 miles per hour. That must be just crazy.

Submariners will argue that there's nothing like touching off a missile from underwater...

I have a really close friend that was the COB on a boomer at the end of his career. That started in pig boats (diesel) not long after WWII.

Sort:  

I went to the Tank Museum at Bovington UK a little while ago. Was fucking mental man! It was right before Tankfest, the week before and they were moving tanks around and stuff...So cool! Bovington is where the armoured units get trained and is a firing range too...Sweet! I loved it. We spent over four hours there and ran into an old guy with his grandson who was a tanker in nthe British Crusader - We talked for 30 mins, war, tanks and shit. Was cool.

A few snaps.

P1070921.jpg

P1070925.jpg

P1070971.jpg

P1080005.jpg

P1080015.jpg

German Tiger I above, and they had a Tiger II there also. Insane tanks. So big and heavily armoured.

I've been in a sub...Was cool, but I didn't like the experience and couldn't have served in one. Respect for those who can, especially in the old days.

You'd like the Proving Ground. The Army's test bed for Artillery, Vehicles and Air. There is an example of most everything they have tested parked somewhere near the two main roads. Tanks start with the WWII Sherman and go to the M1. Everybody in Yuma knows what you mean when you say "Meet you at the Guns" a display of 4 large artillery pieces that mark the turn off to the main base. I need to go take some fresh pictures, I'm thinking :) I heard the base commander announce on the radio (a monthly update) that they had now hit a car with a single artillery shell at 60 miles. 100km.

Fresh pictures and a post buddy...Get on it! Lol.

Yep. I agree. Sam and I will attend to that detail in the next couple of days. Before the big crowds show up.

'Atta boy Tom! :)