Brick wars

in LEGO4 years ago

I'm a Lego guy and always have been. For as long as I can remember I've been building Lego and my earliest recollection of it is at about the age of four to five years old. Forty five years later at the age of fifty I still build Lego; The sets are far more complicated and technical, but the enjoyment is the same.

I started this Lego community as a place for me to drop Lego posts so I'd be able to find them easily later and a few others have started posting here also...Not many, just a handful. That's ok though, not everyone likes Lego.

So...A community about Lego...Why then have I just posted about not Lego?!

That's right folks, this post doesn't depict some cool looking Lego build I've just done...Sure, it's cool and I built it, but it's not Lego at all.

Not lego? What crazy-talk is this?

I came across this other brand a couple weeks ago and the military nature of it captured my eye. You see, Lego don't make military sets; It seems they shy away from that sort of thing which has always annoyed me as they seem quite comfortable with making Star Wars and other sets that are basically military sets. Anyway, I saw this stuff and I got interested pretty quickly.

Whilst there are other brands that do military sets I've never found them affordable but this one is. It's called SLUBAN. They don't just do military stuff but that's what captured my interested through the inability to get it elsewhere, for a reasonable price.

If you follow the Sluban hyperlink back there you'll see the sets they do and may even notice that they support Kids with Cancer and also Legacy which is an organisation that supports military veterans and their families. I think that's pretty cool indeed.

Sluban isn't the same quality as Lego, I'll admit that; It's compatible though and I've tested it to make sure. I won't be mixing it in with my Lego blocks though preferring to keep my Lego pure and unadulterated. However After building two of these Sluban sets I can see myself buying more.

The instructions are not as good, the packaging is not as polished or as flashy and the fit, whilst good, is not as precise as Lego. It's a cheaper version of Lego though, so I don't expect it to be as good. However, having said that, the sets they have available are very interesting and vastly different to what Lego have on offer now or will probably offer in the future.

Sluban have aircraft carriers, submarines, battleships, destroyers, Fighter jets, F-117 stealth bomber, army tanks, UH-60L Blackhawk helicopter, transport helicopters, Apache gunship helicopter, F-35 fighter jet, artillery guns, mine sweepers, military hovercraft and loads more.

They have plenty of little mini-figures also, and they come with cool accessories, a few of which you can see below.

From the top there's a radio, hand grenade, smoke grenade, AR-15-style rifle, machete, AK47-style rifle, semi-auto hand gun, knife and revolver. There's others too. The little figures have tactical vests, helmets and other accessories also, all in keeping with the period of their origin.

If you want to check out their range take a look at the SLUBAN website as they are all listed there by category. There's girls, fire, police and rescue, aviation, cars and of course the military section. Also, check out the coming soon tab...There's some really cool stuff on the way this month.

I'll be honest, I can't see myself switching from Lego to Sluban completely, but due to the sets they have available that Lego refuse to create I can see myself getting some more. The sets I got were the smaller ones, just to try it out. In fact, I got eight sets which, when combined into one set, can make a big APC (armoured personnel carrier) or tank...So, it's pretty flexible and can offer quite good value.

The price is better than Lego too. The sets were eight Australian dollars each so I'd say about 35-40% cheaper than what an equivalent-sized Lego set would be which I thought was pretty good considering the fact they're sets Lego won't design and make.

I don't think Sluban are ever going to rival Lego for market dominance although I'd say they will pick up a niche market, people like me who like military builds, and also those who don't want to pay the exorbitant prices Lego charge for their products.

Just before I leave, I mentioned another company doing military sets above. It's called Brick mania and their sets are pretty amazing...They are really expensive though, so well out of my ability to buy. Check them out though, it's pretty neat and very realistic-looking stuff! The exchange rate between America and Australia make it far too costly for an average bloke like me though.

Thanks for looking at my post.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well
Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Legos have never made military sets, and I remembered back in my childhood just jerry-rigging different bits of Legos to make a heli or fort. I'll occupy them using little toy soldiers. That said, there's certainly no shortage of Lego 'knock-offs' that do make sets like these, and they're relatively cheap-ish here.

Not sure if I'll ever buy them instead of Legos, but it's nice to know that they support charities like. Also, just look at the quality and detail of those weapons! Not sure if you're going to want to let Grouchy get his hands on them. I'd reckon he can cause quite a bit of chaos with them, or just start stabbing you with that wee combat knife.

For me, a Lego guy, to buy them they need to be reasonable and I feel they are. Like I said, I'd not completely replace Lego with them but would be happy to get some if a particular set caught my eye.

I can concur. I think they key is the quality and feel of the bricks. Fake Legos don't have that same refined feel to them generally, but sometimes you find really good ones.

I was really into legos, too, @galenkp. Back when I was building them they were childs play for lack of a better term in comparison to the parts and pieces nowadays.

In LA where I grew up, there's a Lego Store in downtown Disney. Each time we'd go to House Of Blues for a show there, I'd always make sure to scope out the Lego store to see their latest genius build.

Legos, matchbox cars, and Muscle Men were my favorites. Each time my mother would take me to k-Mart or wherever I'd get a new matchbox car, I had hundreds of those things and never got a duplicate toy.

PS--To those who may be tuned in to this comment: I linked that Muscle Men image because you'd likely be as alarmed as I was by the Muscle Men search results available on the internet.

I have fond memories of Lego as a kid. My parents didn't have a lot left to go around after bills were paid so my older brother and I would scour the news paper (yep, newspaper - It was the 70's) and buy up what we could find with pocket money and some help from our parents. I used to go to the local toy shop, look at the boxes of Lego and then go home to try and recreate what I saw...Buying sets wasn't in the budget. It worked, and I enjoyed it as much, probably more, than those buying sets. We did the same with Matchbox cars and we built up a decent Scalextric set doing that too.

These days...Well, money isn't really an issue however I still count to ten before I buy an expensive Lego set...Hmm, ok, maybe only to seven...Erm, would you believe five? OK, let's call it a hard two and leave it at that!

!ENGAGE 25

That was a great response Galen, brought me back to childhood. Thanks for sparking memories. Good times!

Now I'm gonna run the shit outta these thumbs like type type type type type type type type type type.

I especially appreciate the newspaper shopping part. 👍🏿 I totally remember that!! That's the stuff that makes everything special in my opinion. Love it. Finding the sales, cutting the coupon, and then bug the hell of out of my mother until she'd take me to the store just to shut me up. I miss her all the time my brother. Yesterday would've been her 65th birthday actually. See what you did man?! Sparking all the good stuff.

Eh, I used to make little cities in the dirt for my matchbox cars and build garages/jumps etc out of popsicle sticks and playing cards. I even had some that I melted the plastic tires on, those cars had 'flats' and were stationary. I would also use the same crashed ones over and over--I called them crashed cars cuz I burned them. I would burn'em by stuffing tissue paper in the windows that I busted out with rocks or whatever and then lighting the paper on fire. It would give the whole melted/burnt paint look.

Lego. I still buy my friends' kid's Lego from time to time for a birthday or something and each time I do, I envy the little bastages! They didn't make Lego near as cool back when I was playing with them. They went from tiny little boxes with like 15 pieces max to boxes that won't even fit in a shopping cart! Even your design here doesn't have a little yellow Lego figure. They were yellow and yellow only back in the day.

Excellent content you got goin here @galenkp. Have a great week! If I remember correctly, this weekend was date night for you two, correct? Funny... I just said 'remember' as though it's something I do regularly. 🤔

It seems we did much of the same things as kids. We played outside a lot and made fun up on the fly. I think it helped us develop good imaginations and the ability to think out side the square. One of the best things I had was my bike, which was one of the very few new things I had when I was a kid. That bike and me went a lot of places. Good times.

Thanks for this great reply and I'm glad to have sparked some memories. :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Well look at that, you found yourself a new batch of toys to work on. Nice that they have sets that lego wont make and a bit cheaper. I bet you could build yourself a whole mini army and make up a fistful of stories for them! Have fun!

Mini army sounds good...World domination on the horizon!

The 5 year old in me want to buy some now! Love all the arsenal the dude has. pretty cool

Yep, that's what got me too...The weapons. I think they'll end up in the hands of Lego men over time and as I get more sets there'll be more and more...These sets are pretty cool though, and a decent option for those who don't want to pay for Lego. It's bloody expensive for what it is.

That tank is pretty cool - I find the people a like clunky and maybe a bit large though. I'm pretty sure Brickmania are actually using Lego bricks in their sets, which is what would make the cost so high.

Lego man on right, Sluban man on left.

20200927_160145.jpg

Also I found a pretty good Tank on rebrickable that can be made from one of the Star Wars sets I own - I'll write a post about that tomorrow maybe.

I'd be interested in seeing that post.

I know that many of the Lego sets can be adapted, and my brother is designing his own sets using Lego blocks and software that I can't recall the name of. I think this Sluban stuff is a good option for those who don't have the money for Lego, or the ability to by loads of sets. It's all a personal choice though I guess.

you never got any Bionicles? they were awesome I used to love making those with my lad

I never got any of them, no. I've seen them though and they look pretty cool. When I was a kid my parents couldn't afford sets so we'd go around buying up Lego in bulk, second hand, when we could so most of my Lego building back then was freestyle. These days, with a little bit more money to go around, I buy the Technic sets mainly.

I'm pretty keen to get this one when I can afford it. ($750 AUD)

same here, we used to go to car boot sales and rummage sales and get loads of cheap lego that was basically just a mish mash of sets in a cardboard box

Yes exactly. That's how I got my Scalextric set too. Most of my stuff actually back then. It taught me to respect what I had as it was unlikely I'd get another replacement. #characterbuilding

i had to go to friends houses for scalextric. That one eluded me. I could never get into mechano though. never really floated my boat

I had a bit of Mechano; It came as part of a box of toys my mum and dad had given to them by some friends whose kids had grown out of them. I'm with you though, I never got into it. Lego and Scalextric was my thing and everything was outdoors stuff, bike riding, making our own fun.

Interesting that the soldier comes with a kukri. What country is the manufacturer from?

It's made in China like most everything else Dave. I'm not sure if it's a Chinese company or just manufactured there though.

I generally prefer not to buy
Chinese products, especially if there's an Australian alternative, but I wanted to check this stuff out. $72 later and I think it's a reasonable product based on a cost and range basis.

I'd love some of that Brick Mania stuff though...Check it out, link above in the post. Pretty cool. I heard about it from a gunbunny called LeaSpeed6...She has built a bit and reviewed some...Seems to be pretty good gear. They have great sets too.

They look really cool though! That one above, for some reason it reminds me of you in one of your shots with the big jeep!

Haha, yeah you mean that one with the .30 cal machine gun mounted on the top I think. Well, it's not the first time I've been mistaken for a Lego man. 🤣

That's cool. I mean really, really cool.

My entire experience with Lego consists of a rectangular building with a flat roof (but 2 windows and a door) that I built with my kid brother one time when we were staying with him and the folks were gone. Call it 1975. Would have made him 9 years old.

Looks good. We have lots of troops and aircraft and vehicles in the neighborhood right now. A multi service gathering here every year for weapons and tactics games. It's also smaller this year like everything else.

The Army's primary proving ground is here too. Does your main highway have concrete pads every couple of miles so the tracked vehicles can safely cross the road? Think M1 Abrams on down :) Also their Halo school is here...

The Marines are really active right now, a full Osprey wing is here. They are way noisier than the Sea Kings. Actually will rattle the dishes in the cupboard when they fly directly over.

Anyway, cool not lego. Good on you.

We don't have those concrete pads...I think they fit rubber tracks when moving about, or cart them on trucks. My mate is a Captain, a tanker, and commands three of them from his own tank. He is sationed in Darwin, one of the biggest concentration of military forces we have. Around 45,000 all up and a constant US Marine presence of about 2,000. Air base Tyndall is there too. Of course we have other locations too, but nothing like you guys.

Edinburgh air force base is about 15km from my house. They run border patrols from there, and other operations. They have fighters too, but mostly transport and surveillance operations happen from there.

Anyway, this not Lego is pretty cool.

So far as I know all the tracked vehicles made now a days have rubber tracks but they will still tear the shit out of 40C asphalt. So the Army and the state made road crossings. I've waited on the road for several, it's really pretty cool.

My buddy the wildfirefighter did 25 in the Army as a tanker. He got out just at the start of the Abrams era but still has lots of contacts in the business and stays pretty darn current.

My mate says the only problem with being a tanker is that they don't let them fire them enough. He reckons there's nothing quite like being in a tank when it fires its main gun.

That's what I've heard. My guy spent quite a lot of time in Korea just after the war so got a LOT of rounds to play with.

The Abrams can get accurate fire downrange at 40 miles per hour. That must be just crazy.

Submariners will argue that there's nothing like touching off a missile from underwater...

I have a really close friend that was the COB on a boomer at the end of his career. That started in pig boats (diesel) not long after WWII.

I went to the Tank Museum at Bovington UK a little while ago. Was fucking mental man! It was right before Tankfest, the week before and they were moving tanks around and stuff...So cool! Bovington is where the armoured units get trained and is a firing range too...Sweet! I loved it. We spent over four hours there and ran into an old guy with his grandson who was a tanker in nthe British Crusader - We talked for 30 mins, war, tanks and shit. Was cool.

A few snaps.

P1070921.jpg

P1070925.jpg

P1070971.jpg

P1080005.jpg

P1080015.jpg

German Tiger I above, and they had a Tiger II there also. Insane tanks. So big and heavily armoured.

I've been in a sub...Was cool, but I didn't like the experience and couldn't have served in one. Respect for those who can, especially in the old days.

You'd like the Proving Ground. The Army's test bed for Artillery, Vehicles and Air. There is an example of most everything they have tested parked somewhere near the two main roads. Tanks start with the WWII Sherman and go to the M1. Everybody in Yuma knows what you mean when you say "Meet you at the Guns" a display of 4 large artillery pieces that mark the turn off to the main base. I need to go take some fresh pictures, I'm thinking :) I heard the base commander announce on the radio (a monthly update) that they had now hit a car with a single artillery shell at 60 miles. 100km.

The Brickmania store in the Mall of America near me is a really cool place to pop into and check out what they've managed to build with Lego (or Lego-like?) bricks. The prices always seem insane though. Hundreds of dollars for a Lego tank... I'll just stick to looking at them through the window (when/if I ever get back there).

Their builds look so awesome, realistic and well designed but...Bloody expensive! I'd love to see them in real life, but from Australia the only way to do that is to buy one. I need hive to do a bit better before that happens. 😁

I have never gotten too much into Legos. I can appreciate it and the awesome ability to create. Great pictures too.

Hey there...Lego was something I did a lot as a little kid then I discovered girls, well one girl in particular, (my wife) and I didn't play Lego's anymore...Then I reached my second childhood at the age of 49 and...Lego again. I've still got the girl though. #bestofbothworlds :)

Ha ha nice!

Lol...I don't know why she keeps me around but it's been 33 years now so...Maybe she's just very tolerant! :)

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post generated a lot of interactions and was the most commented of the week
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Jeeeeez you were pretty game putting them on that surface to photograph, but I guess you're not as clumsy as me, I would have lost some accessories down the cracks if I tried that XD

You're right, I was pretty careful though. It was the easiest place I could find without shadow on the little weapons. I didn't lose any down the cracks fortunately.

I just checked out the Sluban site. I like the look of their World War 2 sets.

Yeah, they look pretty good. The quality of Lego isn't there, but they work ok.

This Lego looks so cute! Look at those mini mini versions of guns hihi

My zombie horde that I have are not Lego brand, either, and I've got a couple of space sets that are "Brick Master" or something like that. In both cases, as you've indicated, they're not as good quality, but they're fun. The zombie horde is fun, but cheap. Kinda fitting.

That's the thing, if Lego aren't going to produce the sets people want they'll go elsewhere. I'll certainly by more Sluban for sure, but will keep it separate from the Lego stuff.