You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Brick wars

in LEGO4 years ago

I have fond memories of Lego as a kid. My parents didn't have a lot left to go around after bills were paid so my older brother and I would scour the news paper (yep, newspaper - It was the 70's) and buy up what we could find with pocket money and some help from our parents. I used to go to the local toy shop, look at the boxes of Lego and then go home to try and recreate what I saw...Buying sets wasn't in the budget. It worked, and I enjoyed it as much, probably more, than those buying sets. We did the same with Matchbox cars and we built up a decent Scalextric set doing that too.

These days...Well, money isn't really an issue however I still count to ten before I buy an expensive Lego set...Hmm, ok, maybe only to seven...Erm, would you believe five? OK, let's call it a hard two and leave it at that!

!ENGAGE 25

Sort:  

That was a great response Galen, brought me back to childhood. Thanks for sparking memories. Good times!

Now I'm gonna run the shit outta these thumbs like type type type type type type type type type type.

I especially appreciate the newspaper shopping part. 👍🏿 I totally remember that!! That's the stuff that makes everything special in my opinion. Love it. Finding the sales, cutting the coupon, and then bug the hell of out of my mother until she'd take me to the store just to shut me up. I miss her all the time my brother. Yesterday would've been her 65th birthday actually. See what you did man?! Sparking all the good stuff.

Eh, I used to make little cities in the dirt for my matchbox cars and build garages/jumps etc out of popsicle sticks and playing cards. I even had some that I melted the plastic tires on, those cars had 'flats' and were stationary. I would also use the same crashed ones over and over--I called them crashed cars cuz I burned them. I would burn'em by stuffing tissue paper in the windows that I busted out with rocks or whatever and then lighting the paper on fire. It would give the whole melted/burnt paint look.

Lego. I still buy my friends' kid's Lego from time to time for a birthday or something and each time I do, I envy the little bastages! They didn't make Lego near as cool back when I was playing with them. They went from tiny little boxes with like 15 pieces max to boxes that won't even fit in a shopping cart! Even your design here doesn't have a little yellow Lego figure. They were yellow and yellow only back in the day.

Excellent content you got goin here @galenkp. Have a great week! If I remember correctly, this weekend was date night for you two, correct? Funny... I just said 'remember' as though it's something I do regularly. 🤔

It seems we did much of the same things as kids. We played outside a lot and made fun up on the fly. I think it helped us develop good imaginations and the ability to think out side the square. One of the best things I had was my bike, which was one of the very few new things I had when I was a kid. That bike and me went a lot of places. Good times.

Thanks for this great reply and I'm glad to have sparked some memories. :)