Lego Trucks Part 2

in LEGO4 years ago

A few days ago I told you about how a simple build of a truck cab became three different trucks - full story here Now in part to we complete the convoy with another 4, yes count them - four vehicles

trucks part 2.jpg

First up is the red truck - I'll admit at this point I had pretty much nailed down the basic design and was just thinking of which colours I could make and I had a lot of red mudguards so that was good enough for me - it makes for a very clean trailer, Again we have a different exhaust treatment, this time I found some technic bars which are just clicked into so hooks - my partner tells me the certain placement makes it look a little like a Transformer.

Red Front.jpg

Then it was time for another blue nosed cab - I figure in real life these types of trucks have a bit of 'owner driver' artist flair in the colouring of them so I've gone with a three tone blue design which I think works.

Blue Flatbed close.jpg

And then this got me thinking - My Uncle was a long-haul truck driver, and he had a cab a little bit like this and I remember when I was a kid how exciting it was when he visited, I distinctly remember riding in the sleeper part of the cab as we drove to visit some other relatives which were on the way out of town - I was very cool. And what type of trailer did he have? A really simple open wooden deck that all sorts of things could go on - so I had to build one of those.

The details aren't quite right in this scale (the metal rails a bit too big and it doesn't seem flat enough, but you get the idea.

Blue Flatbed.jpg

Nice up I decided to do a modern cab look in light grey - I think this actually feels the most realistic of all the cabs that I built - I like the it is really paired back - the streamlined roof works I think

Blue Modern 1.jpg

Taking inspiration from walking onto our balcony and seeing what drives past I realised that most of the trucks I see are B doubles hauling dirt around (I live near the new metro tunnel in Melbourne, so there are more trucks than I would like. So I was going to need some open topped dirt trucks - against the scale doesn't really work - when your truck is only 4 studs wide and the walls are going to be two of those then there isn't much room for dirt.

Blue Modern trailers.jpg

I then fancied it up with so very old school special pieces. The 'Legoland' signage is from a construction vehicle set from 1972 (before I was born) so it most have been second hand when i got it as a kid, I think added some classic space (early 80's) arrows and vents and you had a pretty cool trailer.

Blue Modern leaving.jpg

We end similar to where we begin, and black and yellow trucks with a modern cab design. In fact this is exactly the same design as the first one. I wanted to see wheather I could work out how to do a straight swap of colours - what I realised was I was running out of clear blocks for the windows and black plates so this would have to be the end - the zenith of the fleet.

Black yellow Modern.jpg

I threw a lot of things at this final design - The trailer has a fancy paint job of single lines. In has a company logo - a Cat (yes inspired by great Japanese transport company Yamato - or big cat/baby cat as it's known in our house)

Black yellow Cat.jpg

It also has the best resolved rear - a number plate and what is meant to be a grey/metal loading door (and no it doesn't move)

Black Yellow Modern Back.jpg

This whole truck thing came as a surprise to me, I really didn't set out to become a truck building machine - it just came organically. But now I have a convoy of seven trucks and I'm already thinking about how I can modify them - I'm thinking of keeping the cabs but making things like a gargabe truck, or a tow truck, or a concrete truck - so many choices.

all the trucks.jpg

Sort:  

That's a nice looking fleet of trucks you have there. Nice work. I like the yellow and black on the best. I also love the use of the old-school Lego wheels. So retro.

All in classic LEGO style, nicely done!! I need to get my boy dialed in with the LEGO community.

Get it done.

!ENGAGE 25

I’m such a slacker... 😜😜

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for using Ecency!
Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear readers, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency