Getting in the Spirit

in LEGO4 years ago

My daughter's birthday is September 13. She was, in fact, born on a Friday the 13th as well. I like to use that as an excuse to use her birthday as the demarcation between Summer and Halloween though, in reality, Halloween for me starts on September 1; yes, even before Labour Day. It's my favourite time of the year.

This weekend I spent some time dragging the Halloween decorations out of their annual slumber: skeletons, bones, cauldrons, and all sorts of doodads. My children are no longer toddlers and in wide-eyed fascination of everything anymore which means that, to some extent, I can begin to have 'grown up' things in the house. Maybe even nice things. Only the cats will purposefully break things now.

So, gone are the paper decorations of old, and in with... legos. Yes. I am using my lego's to decorate for Halloween. Atop the entertainment centre in the front room, placed against the corner, is my Halloween set full of ghosts and goblins and things that go Boo in the night.

20200919_124512.jpg

What sort of haunted Halloween mansion would be complete without a zombie horde coming to get you? Now, granted, these chaps aren't Lego, they're a generic brand from Dollar Tree, but they're compatible and... well... they're generically mindless. It seems to work. You will, however, see right at the front the official Lego Minifig Zombie Seargent-at-still-has-two-arms commanding them.

20200919_124521.jpg

This poor little dude, though, doesn't know what to think. He must be concerned that he's being replaced by generics. Don't worry, buddy, there will always be a place for you.

20200919_124716.jpg

And we do have ghosts! Very definitely ghosts involved in this haunting.

20200919_124702.jpg

The ghosts and zombies on their own are having an effect on the Scooby Gang. Lookit them run! They look like they're missing someone thought.

20200919_124742.jpg

Oh, right. Daphne. Where's Daphne? Captured, of course, by The Count (insert dramatic music here). I wonder if that really is a vampire, or if there's someone under that makeup?

20200919_124534.jpg

It's a sure bet that this chick isn't telling. I think she's having too much fun watching the zombies scare the bejeezus out of the kids.

20200919_124559.jpg

And there you have it. Grown up Halloween decorations. There's actually more, too, from some Hidden Side sets I have, which are designed just to be haunting. Muaahahahahahaha!

Sort:  

This set is pretty cool - I love the zombies

Thank you! I love those zombies. I have about a dozen more of them that I didn't have room for. I even have brains for them!

Congratulations @wwwiebe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6500 replies. Your next target is to reach 6750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors

Cool set @wwwiebe

It remembered me the times when i was building this set along with my children ... cool lego set, the haunted castle from Scooby Doo edition ... but ... the more important thing is to wish your daughter and to your entire family a Happy Birthday!

Here's a composition of mine, entitled, "Ayocunle" which means "Joy in the House"

Regards

Hi @luciannagy, thanks for stopping by! It was a good day; we played games and had a lot of fun. More importantly, we're now decorated for Halloween. 🤣

Thank you for the song! I've actually put the album on in the background right now to start the day!