Arches In B&W

Everything is not enough
And nothin' is too much to bear
Where you been is good and gone
All you keep's the getting there -- Townes Van Zandt

It's late and I've been drinking coffee and listening to Townes again. Always a good combination for getting the itch to go wandering again. Just got back from Red River Gorge on Friday but I'm already getting a hankering for heading back.

Already posted some color shots from down there but I had to do at least a few monochrome shots too. These first few are from Sky Bridge, a large stone arch that you can actually walk across.

There's no arch in this one but it was taken from atop Sky Bridge so I'm going to count it. The dead trees in the foreground look to be casualties of the pine beetles that wreaked havoc here a while back.

There's over a hundred arches in Red River Gorge but I've yet to find a map with more than a small fraction of that marked. Been needing an excuse to go bushwhacking... This is Whistling Arch, from both sides (doggo is just bonus).

Townes is good for making me want to go wandering but he isn't exactly what I'd call hiking music. Anyone got any suggestions? Can't say that I'd actually listen to music while hiking, headphones and bear country just seem like a bad combination.

Sometimes it's easy to tell how an arch got its name, others just leave you scratching your head. This one is called Angel Windows and I haven't the slightest clue why. Maybe it's like the windows all those Russians keep falling out of.

Red River Gorge reminds me a lot of Arches National Park out in Utah, except with trees and water. The water is nice but the trees can be a bit of a problem, they're fond of getting in the way. Had to shoot all these with a wide angle, there was no way to get back far enough to use anything else.

This last photo is of Hidden Arch. Not sure how it earned that moniker, most of these arches were equally well concealed. Since I'm fresh out of arches and I started this of with a bit of To Live Is To Fly I might as well end with it too.

Well, to live's to fly
All low and high
So shake the dust off of your wings
And the sleep out of your eyes

Sort:  

Such a lovely place! 😀

It truly is. They're wanting to build a fancy resort down there and overrun it with tourists, which would be a shame.

Such a pity. We have the same problem here in France with a lot of great locations, but we fight against capitalism 💪

We're fighting the same fight here, albeit with longer odds I'm afraid. These were taken in no small part to help with that, there's a local group organizing against it, so I guess we'll see what happens.

Wow
Nice pictures keep up the good work 👍👍

Thank you!

Welcome 🤗

It reminds me of LOTR where they fought the Orcs. Beautifully shot @coloneljethro .

Ha, I can see that now that you mention it. Thank you!

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @coloneljethro! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badge

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal