Head For The Hills

It's just about getting to be a holiday weekend hereabouts and that seems as good a reason as any to head for the hills. We're actually going to be getting on down Between the Country or at least the county I grew up in.

Realized a while back that although there's hundreds of thousands of photos lurking on my hard drives, not nary a one is of my hometown. Still weird calling it my hometown, grew up thirteen miles outside town, a good twenty minute drive, we always just told folks the county we were from. Hell, we weren't city slickers. Inshallah and the river don't rise, should remedy that in a day or two.

Haven't been back to visit since the Before Times, should be interesting to see how the place has changed. Or hasn't. Going back is always bittersweet for me, my house burned down three days before I graduated high school and most of my family there has either died or moved away. You can go back but you can't go home.

Can't drive all that way down there and not pay a visit to Red River Gorge, which is where all these photos are from. Not staying in the Gorge this time though, got us a tiny house to post up in. Hoping we get lucky and there's another geomagnetic storm, a lot less light pollution to breathe in.

Supposed to have wifi, may try and give y'all a Holler from the Holler while I'm down there but I ain't making any promises. Going to give my drone its first proper workout while we're down there, will let you know how badly that goes.

Until I get back, y'all don't do anything I wouldn't do.

Sort:  

I'm heading for the hills this weekend, too, but I can't decide which ones. Wish this gorge of yours was a bit closer to me. I'd head there for sure.

Nice, which ones did you end up going to? Isn't there some sort of gorge out in eastern WA? It'd definitely be worth the visit, how bout I trade you the gorge for the 101 for a month or two?

I went up the 101, actually, into the Olympic Peninsula. Broke my quads on another mountain by hiking back down it after going up. I need to learn to not do that anymore. Just tuck and roll back down from now on.

We do have a gorge! It's gorgeous. I've been to it many times. It's also pretty close to the city and gets packed on the weekends.

It's very beautiful and natural nature there my friend 👍👍👍

Going to the hills is usually interesting because the view makes it fun
Love the pictures!

It usually does, unless the trees get in the way.
Yay!

Woot, thank you!

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @jasonmunapasee suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Congratulations @coloneljethro! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 96000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 97000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

 23 days ago  Reveal Comment