Honey, I'm Home!

The internet is our real home!
The electronic æther, where all the cool kids hang out
Digital existence for them with the bandwidth

chairlife_riders_1.jpg

Online but disconnected
Flickering screens haunt our dreams
'Smart' appliances spy on us

hide_and_seek_heavy_equipment.jpg

Zoom is the new living room
Where you're never alone
'cause Alexa is always listening

under_the_trees_1.jpg

Don't believe what you read
Because it must be true
Facebook and Google got their eye on you

mountain_laurel_blooms_2.1_bw.jpg

Digital life or data commodity?
Remember when this was all a novelty?

Life: A Surveillance Comedy

Sort:  

Nice poem, and good photo choices. I still have not figured out why I need a computer to talk back to me.

Thanks! Me either! I've never understood the appeal of Alexa/Google Home, why would you pay money for a corporate listening device? I was reading this article last week about Amazon's Ring and I just don't see how this ends well. it's also slightly terrifying how much stuff like that goes on and we never even realize it.

No where to run and no where to hide. Add in a little bit of that video facial replacement technology and you can have Bill Gates and Barack Obama and Donald Trump all having a conversation in your front yard, and you get to put the words you want in their mouth.

Technology and software video manipulation has come a very long way, no longer is a film studio needed to make live people or dead people talk or to overwrite the live guy with a dead guy, just some guy in a basement with a computer.

With AI coming along it's only going to get worse I'm afraid.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Good stuff, your photos are awesome but the poetry was outstanding.

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks! I should probably re-read that myself. I used to be quite fond of it and Huxley's Brave New World but nowadays they hit a little close to home...

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

I can't imagine what the CCCP had to be like. I've read about it quite a bit but I seriously doubt that does it justice. Were you still there for glasnost and perestroika?

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

idea of the 1917 revolution and was a pride of a few generations

I've read some stuff by Red Army veterans of the Great Patriotic War expressing similar sentiments, along with their displeasure with the new regime. One of my Russian professors at the university was a translator in Moscow during that time period, he had plenty of stories (and photos of himself with Gorbachev) but his perspective was quite a bit different from the one you had I imagine.

It seems the chekists are still running things in Russia, some things don't appear to change much...

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment