Hoodoo Voodoo In Nulu

in Black And White3 months ago (edited)

It was that most holy of days for venereal disease yesterday, so I decided to do a little metaphorical stoning of birds and head down to Nulu. Just east of downtown, it's at that late stage of gentrification where the corporate chains and out of state luxury developers are starting to squeeze out the local outfits.

My first bird was some tasty confections from a place that's been here far longer than gentrification. Muth's Candies is one of Louisville's hidden gems, it opened in 1921 a block closer to downtown but was forced to move to its current location by the coming of I-65 in the early 60s. It's one of those word of mouth places, once you've tried their sweets you lose all interest in the stuff they sell in the supermarket.

Second bird I had to stone was doing a little street photography. Told y'all churches could be dangerous, when in doubt, keep out. Don't worry though, before you know it, it'll be a boutique hotel. Speaking of boutique, is that how the kids are spelling bourgeois these days?

Did you know Louisville used to have a normal school? You know, where they sent the normal kids so they wouldn't bother the rest of us. Maybe not exactly, it was where the norms were taught, a curious turn of phrase from the 1800s for a place where people are taught to be teachers. I'd come across mention of it in older texts but had no clue what it was or that the building still existed. Not too long ago a developer out of Chicago bought it and is going to turn it into a boutique hotel...

Rich(?) Hippy Trash. Good to see the neighborhood seal of approval.

Anyone want to buy some protection? Good work if you can get it, every time I try that racketeering word gets thrown around the courtroom.

No cars were harmed in the making of this photo. Can't speak for the making of the decor at Garage Bar. I assume it is decoration, it may just be parking for the regulars.

Speaking of cars, he must have a hell of a commute when that thing is in the shop. I wonder if they used Clydesdales to deliver in Amish areas?

This has started to get out of hand, kind of like the scooter situation here. Anymore you can't drive on the sidewalk for more than a few feet without hitting a dozen of the damn things. Should probably start finding creative places to hide them...

Sort:  

I wonder if they used Clydesdales to deliver in Amish areas?

Weeeeeeeeee!!!😂

Had to take another look at Amish Paradise but I'm still not sure.

I really can't picture them drinking corporate beer...

Do you know that we can kind of relate the last picture with planes on the sky?
Did you see any resemblance or I’m the only one seeing it

Now that you mention it I can kind of see that. Almost ended the post with a question asking what people saw in that photo, it reminded me and my partner of swords or crosses.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I keep saying this title in my head, it rolls off the tongue so nicely. (Ok, maybe I've said it out loud a few fucken times too.) Lol.

Have a good weekend brah.

Lol. Didn't know what to title this when I started writing but when I put some music on Woody Guthrie kind of wrote the title for me. Hoodoo Voodoo is off the Mermaid Ave album, which is previously unheard Woody Guthrie lyrics set to music written and performed by Wilco and Billy Bragg. If you liked the way the title rolls off the tongue you'll enjoy the song I think. Just don't ask me what it means.

Thanks, you do the same my friend.

Haha, well it works nicely.

There's a band here that's been kicking around for ages called Hoodoo Gurus...reminded me of them. They're not my style but someone must like them, been around for a million years.

I think birds also want to participate in photography

It is not easy to take pictures of birds, they fly away before taking pictures, how many hours wait to make such beautiful pictures.

Yep, you either need a really long lens or really good camouflage.